We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kirby House

2 Washington Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1353
+1 616-846-3299
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good35%
  • Average21%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (24 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Washington Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1353
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

After sampling the Grill Room the previous night which was good enough to bring us back to the Kirby, we were not disappointed. A more casual place oriented around the bar but with equally good food, beers and staff!

Thank 927paulsimpson
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great! Great! The Atmosphere was more than I Expected We were Greeted And they had are Table all set With ( pre_scheduling or taking our Reservation ) that I did a couple days before. Was the Key. A little crowded by our window seat But...More

Thank Vincent R
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Vincent, Thank you for joining us and happy anniversary. We're glad that we could be a part of your memorable experience!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family is in town on vacation and chose this place for late lunch/early dinner. The restaurant was still using the lunch menu. The restaurant was clean and we were seated promptly. Our waiter was nice. However we will not return. The amount of food...More

Thank shugarshar
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank for sharing your experience. We're sorry to hear the Parmesean Chicken wasn't what you expected. It should have been served with a white wine butter sauce, artichoke hearts, cherry tomato and asparagus as sides. You are correct, our dinner salads are extra and range...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017

We lived in the area for 25 years and this was our favorite restaurant (any of the three at this location were great). We now spend summers in the area and were excited to be able to enjoy this spot again but after three different...More

Thank ventigirl
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to see you haven't enjoyed the food during your visits. If there are any other specifics you'd like to share with our GM, Tim please email him at triley@gilmorec.com

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We just visited my just-out-of college daughter who recently moved to Spring Lake so she knows very little about the restaurants. The menu was limited and terrible. My husband ordered chicken Parmesan - no bread, no salad, no potato... Small piece of chicken with a...More

Thank Lisa B
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lisa, We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the food during your visit. The chicken should have also come with artichoke and tomato in the white wine butter sauce. The drunken noodles ($14) and chicken breast ($4) is a new addition and has been a...More

Reviewed 31 July 2017

It was very busy but was able to accommodate my party of 9 in a reasonable time. We luckily were sat outside on the patio as there was a band inside and was very loud. Our waitress Nicole was super fun and handled our large...More

1  Thank katieo152017
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Katie, Thanks for the review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! The weather and scenery must have been quite nice with all the activity going on downtown this week! Cheers!

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

All things considered, the food had good flavor, but... the cost is way too high for family dining. The cost reflect white table cloth, but not there. Staff seemed ok. Was glad to get out of there. I was still not happy enough to go...More

Thank waztherereally
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for trying out the restaurant, we're sorry we didn't meet your expectations. If there is anything else you would like to share please contact Tim our GM at triley@gilmorec.com

Reviewed 20 July 2017

We went to the Kirby Grill in July of 2017 and were surprised at the lack of courtesy at the greeting station. They seemed irritated that we arrived and the initial person that we talked to passed us on before we could even describe which...More

Thank Masharona
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for the review and sharing your experience with us. We would love to hear more about the person who greeted you so this can be used as a learning experience. Could you share a description with our GM, Tim at triley@gilmorec.com?

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Went recently with husband. He had steak, I had fish tacos. The steak was served with mashed potatoes. It was very thin and tough. He said it reminded him of a Ponderosa steak, if anyone remembers those! The fish tacos were ok, nothing special, but...More

Thank pamelasK1759RD
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Pamela, We're sorry to hear your steak wasn't great. Was your server able to correct this for you or offer you something else? If not please email triley@gilmorec.com to share more about your opinion.

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

You will feel like a prized Pekinese after a scrumptious dinner here. Ben provided excellent service and was most accommodating. Upscale menu and atmosphere. Mostly beef and fish dishes. Sides are extra. We had a light chicken parmesan dish that was delightful! The garlic broccoli...More

Thank TrophyWives
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

We love the title! Too funny. Thanks for enjoying the restaurant and we're glad to hear Ben treated you so well. We love having kids in so feel free to bring yours in the future!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Toasted Pickle
126 reviews
.17 km away
Odd Side Ales
150 reviews
.11 km away
The Baker's Wife
67 reviews
.16 km away
Elegance of the Seasons
40 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grand Haven Lighthouse and Pier
481 reviews
1.41 km away
Grand Haven State Park
408 reviews
1.33 km away
The Musical Fountain
365 reviews
.11 km away
Tri-Cities Historical Museum
70 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
VMcKelvey
12 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SHARON C | Reviewed this property |
Casual attire is okay, just not bathing suits. :). What you would wear to a sports bar would be acceptable.
1
Vote
Erin B
29 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from RoxyRedwing | Reviewed this property |
I think it's first come first serve, but it's worth a phone call to double check.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 30
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Washington Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1353
  • Location: United States  >  Michigan (MI)  >  Ottawa County  >  Grand Haven
  • Phone Number: +1 616-846-3299
Description
The Kirby House is the place to meet and eat in Grand Haven. A community favorite for excellent food, live entertainment, and simple relaxation with friends and family. Formerly a historic hotel of note, The Kirby House retains its old world charm, while providing all the pleasantries of new world fare and hospitality. Within walking distance of the shores of Lake Michigan, The Kirby House transcends the level of simple restaurant, and is the destination in Grand Haven for all things fun. The primarily American influenced menu is incredibly diverse and is exemplary in its attention to culinary detail and passion. Good times and laughter are located within.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing