We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Banningham Crown

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Banningham $$ - $$$ , British,
Church Road Banningham | Norwich, Banningham NR11 7DY, England
+44 1263 733534
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good17%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pavlova” (7 reviews)
“potatoes” (26 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 21:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Road Banningham | Norwich, Banningham NR11 7DY, England
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Popped in for early supper on 17th June 17 although we live in Taverham near Norwich have never been before ..superb food an service will be definitely be coming again best lamb in years from a very happy foodie Sue Harris

Thank Susan H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We always have a good meal here, as vegetarians the choice is a little limited but they are happy to alter dishes for us, for example: carbonara with no bacon. We were even given a pot of veggie gravy granules to take home as we...More

Thank Paula L
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a Sunday lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary, service was good, choice was good. Sunday lunch 2 courses for £11.95 per head with £2 surcharge for beef. Huge portions and gluten free options. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal which we both felt was excellent...More

Thank RJJ1970
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No one could complain about the volume of food- the portions are generous and nicely presented. The food is good pub standard and good value for money. The staff are friendly and service is leisurely but attentive. The lack of gravy was my only disappointment-...More

Thank Tanya S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a party of 8 visiting to celebrate my birthday. Food was OK but so many menu items were unavailable, so we came away feeling rather let down even though the pub reduced the drinks charge on our bill. Moral, it seems, is not...More

1  Thank 123rdh
BanninghamCrown, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Having spoken to you directly we thank you for your feed back regarding running out of the Crème brûlée and you understanding that we do cook all our food freshly so unfortunately after a very...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1st time we have visited the pub, as soon as we walked into the bar area we were greeted with friendly smile & hello from the young lady behind the bar, After getting a drink we were taken 2 our table by another friendly male...More

Thank Trevor B
BanninghamCrown, Manager at The Banningham Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Trevor, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we hope to see you again soon Regards Jason Brown

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well... The pub was easy to find and had a spacious car park. My sister, nan and me went for an evening meal out. As we don't get together often. We wanted somewhere nice but not too posh, but not cheap an cheerful. I think...More

3  Thank _littlebethw
BanninghamCrown, Manager at The Banningham Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, I have tried to contact you directly but unfortunately have had no response. I'm sorry you found your mashed potato to be dry and lumpy but we are glad you found the rest of the meal to be beautifully cooked and the taste amazing....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying in a cottage rental in Corpusty and had arranged to meet up with a friend for lunch, Very friendly helpful staff. We ate in the conservatory as we had the dog with us. We chose Sunday Roast which was good with plenty...More

Thank Margaret R
BanninghamCrown, Manager at The Banningham Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Magaret, We are glad you and your friends enjoyed your Sunday Roasts with us and that you found it good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards Jason

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having dined at the Crown several times in the past,we had no hesitation in calling in for lunch after a good walk in Sheringham Park.After a warm welcome,we ordered from a vast and varied menu and enjoyed a truly delicious meal.Will be back for sure......

1  Thank Cliveovergirling
BanninghamCrown, Manager at The Banningham Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Clive, Thank you for revisiting and leaving such a lovely review. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future Many Thanks Jason

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Absolutely Brilliant and taste bud tantalising food, ample portion size and attentive staff. Thank you for a lovely meal.

Thank Jackie C
BanninghamCrown, Manager at The Banningham Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hello Jackie, Thank you for such a great review, we are so glad you enjoyed everything and we tantalized your taste buds! See you again soon Jason Brown

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jules Country Kitchen
23 reviews
2.94 km away
The Black Boys Hotel & Restaurant
420 reviews
3.47 km away
The Bucks Arms
351 reviews
4.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alby Crafts and Gardens
75 reviews
3.10 km away
Bure Valley Railway
399 reviews
3.59 km away
Blickling Estate
983 reviews
3.78 km away
Groveland Farm shop
11 reviews
7.44 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Amanda B
Hello, After reading great reviews on the food I just wondered if It is also child friendly? Many thanks 😊
25 August 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from AngieClaxton | Reviewed this property |
Hi I did see families with children there , but as it was evening it was mainly adults. Sorry I didn't look for child menu or high chairs. However staff were so helpful I'm sure you'd be made welcome
1
Vote
Ann_at_braydeston
how far are you from Felbrigg and are you open on Monday
11 August 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Cherry B | Reviewed this property |
Not far from Felbrigg and yes open on Mondays. Definitely both worth a visit. Blickling not far either and also somewhere you should consider visiting.
0
Votes
Liz R
Do you allow children and have you a playground?
3 August 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Happytripper14 | Reviewed this property |
There is a play area
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 24
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Road Banningham | Norwich, Banningham NR11 7DY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Banningham
  • Phone Number: +44 1263 733534
  • E-mail
Description
A 17th Century timbered inn in the rural village of Banningham.Log fires in Winter and sheltered patio and gardens in Summer.Located opposite historic church and village green.Run by the same family since 1991.5 ***** Food safety rating. Camra Good Beer Guide Listed. Cask Marque accredited.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing