We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carlyle Hotel Bistro

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
232 Main Rd, Derwent Park, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7009, Australia
+61 3 6274 4400
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The Tassie scallops are among the best in Hobart, huge and plentyful and the chips are very nice. Awesome value for money. The crispy port belly was OMG to die for and huge, never had such a beautiful perfect big piece of crackling ever and the pork melted in the mouth a top potatoe mash. A good range of food,... More 

Helpful?
Thank TnIReport
Carlyle H, Manager at Carlyle Hotel Bistro, responded to this review

Dear TnIReport, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our bistro. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our food. Our scallops and our pork belly are a few of our most popular meals. We have recently released a new menu as well as a daily special board so hopefully we will see you... More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Visited mid-week. Surprised how many people were there. Orders taken at bar not table. Food came quickly and looked OK but wasn't that great. Salmon fish cakes were grey in colour and lacked fishy content. Onion rings were very oily. Steak was over cooked. Couldn't recommend to others based on my experience.

Helpful?
Thank DawnHendrick
Carlyle H, Manager at Carlyle Hotel Bistro, responded to this review

Dear DawnHendrick, Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Carlyle Hotel. It is upsetting to hear you were not happy with the quality of your food, if we are made aware of the situation on the night we try to rectify any problems as fast as we can. We do get busy on weekdays as... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The meals at the Carlyle Hotel Bistro are huge with a great selection of popular meals. I tried the risotto the first night and enjoyed it so much that ordered the same again on my second visit. On the third night the grilled pork chops on the specials board looked interesting but I wasn't prepared for the huge meal that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank missmuffettwo
Carlyle H, Manager at Carlyle Hotel Bistro, responded to this review

Dear MissMuffettwo, Its pleasing to hear you loved our meals here. We can get quite heavily booked on the weekends with a high satisfaction rate. We are starting a new menu shortly that hopefully on your next visit you will be able to sample. Regards Courtney Manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff and patrons to visitors. We didn't feel like intruders and felt welcomed. Nice cold beer cheap bar meals

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Carlyle H, Manager at Carlyle Hotel Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear you were happy with your visit here. We like to think all our customers go away as satisfied as you were with our customer service and meals. I do hope to see you again at the Carlyle Hotel. Regards Courtney Manager More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2016

The chips and salad were fine, but the parmigiana couldn't be eaten. It smelled and tasted like the chicken was off. Seriously, you know the smell of raw chicken that has been left in the sun for several days? That's what it was, only they'd baked it with cheese and sauce on top. I would've loved to have let the... More 

Helpful?
Thank TasDev90
Carlyle H, Manager at Carlyle Hotel Bistro, responded to this review

Dear TasDev90, I am unhappy to hear that your visit with us was not a pleasant one but thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were hesitant in approaching us, no matter how busy we would of replaced your meal for you if you were not satisfied. I will pass... More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Friendly and efficient staff at this 'pub grub' establishment. A group of colleagues went there for lunch after a hard morning's work and we could not eat all of the large meals. Smaller serves at a bit lower price would be our vote. The food was as we would expect from a large hotel dining room - adequate and well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pdunchob
Carlyle H, Manager at Carlyle Hotel Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Pdunchob, Thank you for your review about the Carlyle Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed your meals and our customer service. I will take your feedback and present it to our Chef and Management Team. Regards Courtney Manager More 

Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Had some low expectations due to recent bad reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Firstly by the service which was friendly, patient, welcoming and helpful. The playground facility was fantastic and well suited to our 3yo who loved it. Garlic loaf- I could have had eight to myself. Simple but perfect, which is what you hope for in a garlic bread.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jody834
Carlyle H, Manager at Carlyle Hotel Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Jody834, Firstly thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear that your visit to the Carlyle Hotel was a positive one. We are a family friendly restaurant and our playground and various kids promotions are always a hit with the children and families! I will pass on your positive comments to our... More 

macksvillle
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2016

I ordered the salmon - which was over cooked and served with woody asparagus andl umpy undercooked sweet potato mash. As Elvis impersonator only added to the misery : (

Helpful?
Thank Anne N
Carlyle H, Manager at Carlyle Hotel Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Anne N, I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your visit to the Carlyle. I will pass your feedback onto our Chef who can rectify this problem in the future. I do hope we see you back again in the future. Regards Courtney Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Really good atmosphere and great food and nice offer on Thursdays where you can buy one meal and get another one free. Overall too good experience

Helpful?
Thank Niraj K
Carlyle H, Manager at Carlyle Hotel Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Niraj K, Thank you for posting a review for the Carlyle Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience here and that everything lived up to your expectations. 2 for 1 Thursdays is one of our more recent promotions which coincides with our trivia nights perfectly. Hope to see you back again soon. Regards, Courtney Manager More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2016

No longer the buzzing place. Unwelcoming, tired and very average. Steak just ok. The Roast went down well. Perhaps ok for families with little ones???

Helpful?
Thank Susan0438
Carlyle H, Manager at Carlyle Hotel Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Susan0438, Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Carlyle Hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your experience here with us. I will pass your comments on and see what we can do to rectify these issues. We are a family friendly restaurant especially with our indoor playground and various... More 

Travellers who viewed Carlyle Hotel Bistro also viewed

Moonah, Glenorchy
Moonah, Glenorchy
 
Glenorchy, Greater Hobart
 
Derwent Park, Glenorchy
 

Been to Carlyle Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 30
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 232 Main Rd, Derwent Park, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7009, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Tasmania  >  Greater Hobart  >  Glenorchy  >  Derwent Park
  • Phone Number: +61 3 6274 4400

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carlyle Hotel Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?