We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Smugglers Rest

South Coast Road | Peacehaven, Peacehaven BN10 7BE, England
+44 1273 586593
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good18%
  • Average14%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible36%
Travellers talk about
“mash” (5 reviews)
“lovely pub” (10 reviews)
“pub food” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
South Coast Road | Peacehaven, Peacehaven BN10 7BE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 495 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A nice location, but otherwise needs significant improvement in all areas. The food was ok, although a number of the dishes were unavailable. Limited range of beers on tap (just the two on), and whilst the bottled hiver beer is very good, it’s not worth...More

Thank Ian J
Reviewed 6 days ago

Having just moved to the area we took the Grandchildren for dinner on a Monday at lunchtime. The food was ok'ish, the child's menus of chicken was too tough for her to eat, I suspect it had been cooked in advance and reheated. The meal...More

Thank 115WendyB123
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Veg cold on the roast. It was a real search through the limp lettuce for any lobster in the prawn and lobster starter. Steak tough as. Worst of all, the staff need their uniforms washed. A complete lack of care from a group of staff...More

Thank wullid
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Wullid, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 01273 586593 to speak to our manager directly.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been here many times before and food was lovely . However today I was shocked by the quality of Sunday roast which was awful . Yorkshire pudding was soggy and small . Veggies were awful and tasteless:2 potatoes must be defrosted as it...More

Thank nicole013
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Nicole013, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in the future. If you are willing, please contact us 01273 586593.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having lived in Peacehaven over 25 years I have watched this pub change, it used to be a good but over the past years has dropped in quality, a crying shame given the actual building and its history, and the prime location, none the less...More

1  Thank Graham C
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Graham C, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to get more details about this; please reach out to us at your earliest convenience at 01273...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Currently sat in this restaurant surrounded by dirty starter plates that 3 of us finished 20 minutes ago. Although there are 4 of us......the 4th starter arrived after everyone else had finished and was stone cold (BAKED mushrooms? I beg to differ) and was sent...More

Thank Nikkinoo29
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Nikkinoo29, we are disappointed to see your low star rating. If you could provide more information to us, we would be more than happy to try and make this situation better. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner went for a valentines dinner, no romantic atmosphere at all. Then after ordering our food we waited for 30 minutes and still nothing, then we complained and our starters came out 10 minutes later. The restaurant wasn’t busy at all. When...More

Thank Dinocoe
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dinocoe, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. We would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact our manager at 01273 586593...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

DO NOT waste your money! I have never ever had such a bad roast dinner! We popped in the pub for a drink after a Sunday afternoon walk and watched the waitress bring out roasts to another table, we were really hungry so we looked...More

Thank 66sjc
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi 66sjc, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and myself visited The Smugglers Rest recently and having eaten in Vintage Inns before thought we were in for a decent meal, how wrong was we !!! Our starters was meant to be Salt and Pepper Calamari which when it was served was...More

1  Thank lynt19
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Please reach out to us at 01273 586593 so we may assist you in moving forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

lovely old pub food very good. service friendly,or no service which is situated in a differnt part,you go to the bar to order,we have tried both which is similar to each other whatever preference you want.

Thank williaminkpin
General Manager A, Manager at The Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Smuggler's Rest. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day!

PreviousNext
12345650
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Peacehaven Hotels
White Horse Hotel
573 reviews
2.60 km away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
914 reviews
5.91 km away
Malmaison Brighton
1,597 reviews
5.92 km away
Newmarket Inn
261 reviews
7.84 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Telscombe Tavern
223 reviews
.18 km away
Baan Sai Thai Restaurant
28 reviews
.47 km away
Maloncho Indian Takeaway
172 reviews
.62 km away
Big Mouths Burger Bar
56 reviews
1.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sky High Trampoline Park
52 reviews
1.83 km away
Kipling Gardens
61 reviews
2.85 km away
Newhaven Fort
252 reviews
5.33 km away
Grange Museum & Art Gallery
30 reviews
2.65 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Smugglers Rest staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 33
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: South Coast Road | Peacehaven, Peacehaven BN10 7BE, England (Formerly The Badgers Watch)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Peacehaven
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 586593
Description
The Smuggler's Rest in Peacehaven is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing