We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$14 - AU$44
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (141)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
53
46
15
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
53
46
15
18
9
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 May 2023 via mobile

Once one of the best restaurants in Lexington. Now it has been reduced to flash fried frozen garbage. So sad.... My group had the wood grilled oysters, coconut shrimp, corn pudding, cole slaw, flounder imperial. The shrimp was obviously a pre-pkged frozen entree. Even then...it was overcooked. The flounder was a pre-pkged mess. The corn "pudding" could be cut with a knife. One of us ordered a Bloody Mary. It was tomato juice and Vodka.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2022 via mobile

Everything was good except the cole slaw. Sliced cabbage (not shredded) with essentially no dressing was the worst slaw ever! Fried oysters and baked potato very good.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2022 via mobile

Nice local place. Nothing fancy but food and service were good. I had Catfish and my husband had fried oysters. Both good. Especially good were the hushpuppies with the special sweet butter.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2022 via mobile

We heard a lot about this place. The wings were not worth getting. We requested extra crispy and they were still gooey. Hush puppies were above average. The fish was just average. Overall- not bad but needs some upgrading and the inside needs updated.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

We had Ketch delivered last night and it was absolutely amazing. Part of our dinner was the catfish family meal. The fish, fries, hushpuppies and coleslaw were perfect. I could not have had a better meal!

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2020 via mobile

We new to Lexington and needed a place with a local touch. This place tends to favor seafood, but also has steak, ribs, etc. It’s not fancy, but fun. Good beer selections, and everyone enjoyed their meals. I would return.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Wife and I had lunch on Sunday. I had the fried shrimp (12 for $19.00). Either the shrimp were old or improperly prepared. They were tough and chewy. Terrible actually. Wife ordered a side broccoli with her entre but received fries instead. We ordered basket...of hushpuppies but never arrived until we asked again. Not impressed with the food, the service or the $50 for lunch. This used to be a good little seafood place. Not sure what has happened.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2020

This restaurant used to be a gem in Lexington, but it too has gone downhill over the past few years. Some favorite items have been removed from the menu such as the seafood pizza, but the prices keep going up making it not the reasonable...place it once was. Too bad.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
772arth, Owner at The Ketch Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2020

Thank you for visiting our restaurant and taking the time to review your experience. Like most restaurants, the Covid pandemic is the main reason we have limited our menu partly because they have to be discarded after each use. The rising costs of our food,...More

Reviewed 15 March 2020

I was there to try their fried oysters and they were ok. They were not as good as a restaurant within 1 mile. The price for the food is marked up for the quality.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

One of my daughters and I love crab legs while my husband and oldest daughter don't like anything seafood. The Ketch is a great spot for all four of us, and the crab legs are delicious! It's much better than a chain restaurant in town!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
772arth, Owner at The Ketch Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on The Ketch. Going on or 25th year, we appreciate you nice comments. We always want potential guests that even though we feature seafood, there is something for everyone on our menu. Thank you for supporting your...More

Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

We visited here while I town for a track meet. While we new this was a local hangout I was a little disappointed in the cleanliness and decor. We had ripped carpets and really dim lighting. Bathrooms were weird with a curtain between the women’s...stalls. Our server was great. Food was average at best. I think this would be a much more lively place in the summer vs. a rainy Jan. Weekend.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
772arth, Owner at The Ketch Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you for posting your thought about your recent visit. We are planning on remodeling, first on the list is the carpeting and rest rooms (the curtain divider in the women’s restroom was suggested by the Health inspector and we do not say no to...More

Reviewed 13 December 2019 via mobile

I submitted a review last summer where I said I was disappointed with several food items and the service. I dismissed it as an "off-night" because I used to love this restaurant. Tonight three of us went and all the entrees were mediocre at best....Since it's Xmas I thought I would treat myself to surf and turf. This is how the conversation went. Me: I'd like surf 'n turf please. Server: we don't serve that. Me: You serve steak right? Server: yes Me: You serve lobster right? Server: yes Me: then why can't you serve it together? Server: I'll have to ask the Manager. The good news - they managed to put a steak and lobster tail on the same plate. The bad news - neither one was edible. A piece of meat less than 1/4" thick cannot be called a steak. It was tasteless and full of gristle. The lobster tail was overcooked and tasted like rubber bands. WTF?! has happened to this restaurant?!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
772arth, Owner at The Ketch Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit. We will be revising our menu soon and will take your suggestions under consideration. As we approach our 25th anniversary we are always looking for ways to improve our operation.

Reviewed 5 December 2019 via mobile

I've been disappointed plenty of times with over priced crab cakes. The crab cake at Ketch are a delicious surprise, full of crab and the fresh crunch of celery. We loved it. We also had the calamari which was crisp and not overly breaded. The...fish and clam strips were also delicious.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
772arth, Owner at The Ketch Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you for visiting The Ketch. We consider our Crab Cakes a signature item so we are pleased to know you enjoyed them as well as the Calamari, Fish and Clam Strips. Come again soon.

Reviewed 2 November 2019

The service and waitress was great, but thats it....the food was overpriced, and at best, AVERAGE. The margaritas were terrible, and all the food was bland

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
772arth, Owner at The Ketch Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to The Ketch. I will share your thoughts with our staff.

Reviewed 1 November 2019 via mobile

Great fresh seafood at a reasonable price. Huge portions and a large menu to choose from. It’s not fancy which is great. This will become one of our regular spots.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
772arth, Owner at The Ketch Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Thank you for visiting our restaurant and for taking the time to write the review. We have always tried to be be creative and respond to the changing expectations of the dining public while sticking with familiar favorites that our guests have enjoyed for the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
534 reviews
.39 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
878 reviews
1.09 km away
Red Roof Inn Lexington South
306 reviews
1.81 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lexington Fayette Mall
312 reviews
1.90 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ramsey's Diner Zandale
1,077 reviews
.54 km away
Winchell's Restaurant & Sports
296 reviews
.53 km away
El Rancho Tapatio
118 reviews
.68 km away
Taziki's Mediterranean Cafe
54 reviews
.36 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Arboretum
420 reviews
1.58 km away
Marikka's Restaurant & Bier Stube
14 reviews
.79 km away
Old Kentucky Chocolates
116 reviews
.88 km away
Willcutt Guitar Shoppe
5 reviews
1.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kaygarner44
8 September 2015|
Answer
Response from DeedotLexington_KY | Property representative |
Sorry we are closed
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE KETCH SEAFOOD GRILL, Lexington - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ketch Seafood Grill

Yes, The Ketch Seafood Grill offers takeaway services.

The Ketch Seafood Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5