We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (156)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
80
59
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
80
59
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch scones eggs benedict old railway steam train cafe fare drove down railway cafe excellent coffee platform qld
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 June 2023

I have to give a 10/10 for the food and the service. However the coffees I give a 3/10. A flat white should be "Flat". After taking off the foam/froth I had half a cup of coffee, at a cost of $6.50. To the owners,..."Please teach your staff how to make coffee". I am a regular and next time I might just have to specifically ask for "Flat". :)More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2022 via mobile

Interesting experience- arrived at 9am for breakfast- not enthusiastically received for breakfast- vacuuming was more important- very ordinary breakfast - Turkish bread couldn’t have been thinner and soft eggs for eggs Benedict turned out to be fried eggs. Cold outside no hearing inside and doors...wide open - unfortunately the owner was not interested in her clients but her carpetMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wallangarra c, Owner at Wallangarra Railway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

I am so sorry that you had a bad experience, the day was not a cold one so therefore that is why the doors were open. I was not vacuuming but a junior staff member was and I did tell her to move away from...More

Reviewed 28 April 2022 via mobile

After hiking in Girraween National Park in the morning we drove down to Wallangarra for some lunch. The cafe is in the old railway station and has loads of character. The food is great cafe fare. They are licensed so a beer or wine is...available if you like. The staff are pleasant and the food came within a reasonable time. A great finish to our morning exercise.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2022

After spending around 45 mins being mesmerised by the wonderful historical display in the Railway Museum, I wandered next door to check out the old dining room which has been converted into a modern cafe/restaurant. As I headed for the merchandise display, a large group...of people piled in and sat at a long table, thus preventing me from browsing. So I went back out onto the platform where I noticed a window with a sign that clearly stated 'Take Away Orders Here'. I went over and was promptly served by a polite young woman. I asked if I could possibly get a cup of tea to take away? She said yes. I paid her, then a man came striding past and angrily called out to me: 'You'll just have to wait - we're busy!' I was horrified at his attitude, which was anything but hospitable and welcoming. Stunned, I replied 'I realise you are busy. I only wanted a cup of tea'. Then foolishly trying to highlight the simplicity of my request, I said 'I could make it myself.' He replied: 'You're going to have to - we're too busy! 30 people just walked in!' He then stormed off. Did I hear him correctly? Was he saying I had to get my own cup of tea? Both the polite young woman and the man had disappeared, leaving me bewildered. At no stage did either follow the usual practice adopted by cafes/restaurants/pubs Australia-wide of saying: 'There's a wait of xx mins for drink orders at present, are you happy to wait?' Had I been afforded that courtesy, I would have gladly said 'yes'. Unsure of whether I was to wait or make my own cup of tea, I went inside and found the polite young woman who had served me. She said she was about to do my order next. I thanked her and went back outside to wait. The man then came up to the take away window and started closing it up and taking the sign inside. He said 'You can go somewhere else.' Puzzled, I responded 'Excuse me?' 'You can go somewhere else if you are so impatient!' Within seconds, the polite young woman handed me my cup of tea. The man's attitude was disgraceful and only served as an example of bad customer service to the young woman, who remained calm, courteous and efficient. Her customer service skills were far superior to his! Rest assured, I won't be back!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2022 via mobile

Excellent coffee (flat white with an extra shot) and scone in a tranquil spacious setting. What a great location. I’ll have to schedule my next visit for the steam train arrival

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2022

Attended the railway Cafe with family that travelled from Victoria to visit. As we are Queenslanders, we are very well aware of the requirement of using the Check In QLD app, wearing masks and the 'green tick' to be able to enter the establishment to...eat. We stood at the doorway, prior to entering to do the necessary check ins. We were treated VERY rudely, initially by the waitress. She, in turn, got the old lady who is the owner. Such a bitter old woman who demanded to see that we had checked in. Not a please, thank you or even a smile in sight. Customer service and hospitality is lost on this woman. We understand there are regulations but if this woman treats everyone like this, no wonder the tables were all empty. Needless to say, we left this establishment and won't be returning. A waste of time!! Such a shame for a beautiful old railway station with a unique history.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim H, Owner at Wallangarra Railway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2022

You did not check in at the door the four of you walked straight in without checking in or wearing masks. When you approached the counter you were asked for your check in and to please put your mask on after you dithered around for...More

Reviewed 3 January 2022

Food was terrible, felt like frozen food that was deep fried with the oil dripping from the nuggets, Very unhealthy! Service was bad, very slow and the old lady serving was very rude and grumpy! Tables and chairs were full with cobwebs. NEVER going to...this place again!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim H, Owner at Wallangarra Railway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2022

So sorry for the bad experience that you had.I dont want to be the bearer of bad news to you but chicken nuggets are frozen deep fried and unhealthy why did you order them if you are so concerned about your health. You came on...More

Reviewed 29 December 2021

Charming cafe in a old railway refreshment room on the Qld-NSW Border. Lots of charm and a good menu with nice cafe food. You can sit inside the old refreshment room or outside in comfy chairs on the platform. The border line runs across the...platform and is marked. We like how it's open seven days a week. Check out the NSW style awning on one side of the station and the Qld style awning on the other. The signs at each end of the platform are also NSW style signage on the south and Qld style signage at the North. A charming place for a cuppa or bite to eat.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2021

In September 2021 my wife and I enjoyed a week’s holiday at Queensland’s Granite Belt, famous for its wineries and some great tourist attractions. We stayed at Fergies Hill Spa Cottage in the Granite Ridge Winery at Ballandean on the Queensland side of the Queensland/New...South Wales border. A highlight on one of our days was to take a drive to the border town of Wallangarra to visit the historic Railway Station (an extensive review has been written separately). Here we visited the excellent Railway Museum (also reviewed separately) in the original Station master’s office with free admission. There are some wonderful exhibits and railway memorabilia in this well thought out Museum. Even if you decide not to visit the museum, a visit to the platforms of the Railway Station is worthwhile, just to be fascinated by the different awnings on the two platforms of this border railway station shared by two towns –Wallangarra in Queensland on one platform and Jennings in New South Wales on the other. The awning design on the Queensland half of the platform is consistent with the other railway stations in Queensland (bull nose roof), whereas the New South Wales architecture resembles railway design in the rest of that State (flat skillion roof). A visit to the Railway Station, however is not complete without calling in to the large Railway Refreshment Room to have either a morning or afternoon tea or lunch or breakfast, depending on when you arrive at the Station. My wife and I had a very nice morning tea here and I will now describe our experience. The Railway Refreshment Room where we enjoyed a lovely morning tea is a very ornate room with lots of souvenirs and gifts on display for sale. The room is adorned with vintage style décor evoking a feeling of dining in a past era. It is open from breakfast through to afternoon tea. There are plentiful tables and chairs inside as well as a scattering of tables and chairs on the two platforms as well. It is a very large room – a reflection of the many passengers needing to be accommodated for refreshments during their long waits transferring between trains, due to the different rail gauges for New South Wales and Queensland at the time. The staff at the Refreshment Rooms are efficient and friendly and we ordered tea and cake. My wife had a peppermint tea and a vanilla slice and I chose an Earl Grey tea and a very yummy raspberry slice. The tea arrived in a tea pot and we drank out of a china cup – in both cases it was one of those china tea pot and cup combinations with inbuilt filter in the teapot. The real surprise was that it was the real deal – not teabags but real loose leaf tea. We ordered at a novel counter with a Bar sign above and we paid for our morning tea at time of ordering. The Refreshment Room at Wallangarra was one of several railway refreshment rooms in vogue on the Queensland railway network. Refreshment Rooms reached the height of their popularity in the years between the Wars, with almost 100 rooms operating across the Queensland railway network including the one at Wallangarra. During World War II. Refreshment Rooms supplied troops on the move. However, by the 1950s Refreshment Rooms were in decline. The advent of air conditioned carriages meant that passengers were less inclined to disembark at stations when they could use the Buffet Car on the train. The Refreshment Room at Wallangarra was like most others across Queensland in its heyday offering a high standard of food and meals using fine crockery and silverware, as evidenced by one of the displays that can be viewed in the Station’s Railway Museum. There would have been a touch of ambience and elegance attached to dining in this Wallangarra Refreshment Room in its heyday and having a meal in a Refreshment Room would have been a highlight of past long distance rail travel. From our experience during our visit in September 2021 , we felt a degree of ambience and elegance is still there in the Railway Café today, albeit minus the fine crockery and silverware. The lovely vintage décor enhances the overall atmosphere of the place. Also, to still be able to get a cup of real loose tea in a fine china cup from a fine china teapot is a rare treat indeed to be savoured.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2021

We were staying at Ballandean and drove down to the border for breakfast at the Railway Station. What a great, quirky setting. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very accommodating. A must do if you are in the Granite Belt.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2021 via mobile

Wallangara station has the NSW-Queensland state border running across the platform and has a fascinating history as a border crossing an break of gauge location. Plenty of info and memorabilia about. It is now run as a cafe which provides an interesting spot for morning...coffee. The coffee is good, gluten cake options exist although prices are a touch high. All in a good cause.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2021

This was a recommended place to come and visit and eat as well. The old railway station is a great place to walk around. The food was great and the staff were lovely

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2021

We had a very enjoyable lunch here with a great selection of hot foods, all made fresh by a very friendly Staff. It is a must to visit the Railway Station and enjoy the architecture of the period and how well it has been restored....Our visit was enhanced for us by the arrival of the Steam Train, bringing back memories for us all. Well done, well timed.....More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast after leaving Stanthorpe and initially had trouble finding our way onto the platform - it is from the end nearest the road. There was plenty of seating to choose from as the station is geared to catering for the occasional...packed tourist steam train arrivals from Warwick. We ate inside in the old dining room. This was cluttered in quite a charming manner. Our breakfast of omelets was very satisfying. The main attraction here is the station itself, with the differing awnings on each platform (as the two states could not agree on style!). The museum is small but fascinating. The video gives the history of the station and is very informative. At the northern end of the station you can view the old basement. On the southern end a maroon and white stripe across the platform mark's the NSW-QLD border. Further south are the remains of the freight terminal that was the responsibility of NSW. All in all, this is a great place to visit. It reminds us of the heyday of the railways.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

This was a welcome stop on a cold wet day on our trip from Brisbane to Armidale. The cafe is at the old railway station. We only had coffee & caramel slice which were good. It's a quirky place full of old wares that are...for sale as well as locally made gifts. Staff were friendly. Worth a visit. Note the QLD/NSW border line on the platformMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Golfers Inn
160 reviews
15.31 km away
Tally Ho Motor Inn
88 reviews
15.82 km away
Tenterfield Tavern
95 reviews
16.49 km away
The Commercial Boutique Hotel
249 reviews
16.79 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Stanthorpe's Heavenly Chocolate at Wisteria Cottage
159 reviews
8.84 km away
The Barrelroom Wine Lounge
438 reviews
16.70 km away
Vintage By Jo
6 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wallangarra Railway Station
35 reviews
.06 km away
Balancing Heart Vineyard (formerly Balancing Rock)
89 reviews
7.18 km away
Wallangarra Railway Museum
28 reviews
.47 km away
Jennings Hotel
12 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Wallangarra Railway Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WALLANGARRA RAILWAY CAFE - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Wallangarra Railway Cafe

Yes, Wallangarra Railway Cafe offers takeaway services.

Wallangarra Railway Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 5