We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,188)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
622
207
113
57
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
622
207
113
57
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad bread charcuterie chicken smoked trout potatoes filet farm to table fresh produce cape town wine tasting entrance fee beautiful setting greenhouse babylonstoren jonathan bone
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

Booked at Babel for my mother’s 80th birthday. Mentioned the type of celebration a number of times when asked and also a few times unprompted. I even dropped off sparklers for the meal before arrival, hoping that she’d be made a fuss of and be...made to feel special. Sadly, despite excellent food and despite 2 other tables receiving beautiful bunches of flowers for their celebrations while we were sitting there, no one even bothered to wish my mother Happy Birthday. This could have been any other meal, as far as the staff were concerned. When I enquired afterwards, the staff checked their notes and acknowledged they had made a note of the celebration, but clearly forgot to follow through.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Babylonstoren F, Guest Relations Manager at Babel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good day We appreciate you taking the time to review our restaurant. We are so sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience regarding your mother's birthday, this is usually not the service our staff is known for. We will make sure this message gets...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

I love the fact that everything you eat at Babel comes from their Babylonstoren farm. Their beautiful gardens are teeming with delicious fruits, vegetables, herbs and meats. It's a real treat to eat such fresh food, prepared so well. Take your time to enjoy the...Babel experience. Highly recommend the yellow starter, pumpkin main and the chocolate dessert. And of course, don't forget the wine :-)More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Babylonstoren F, Guest Relations Manager at Babel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Best Nicci We were delighted to read your positive review of our farm! We are truly happy that you got to experience our farm-to-fork dining and can't wait to welcome you back for some more delicious meals. Warm Farm Greetings Babylonstoren

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well done to all. Started at the entrance with friendly staff, loved the food and service. Thank you for my birthday flowers and making our celebration so special. We will see you soon. Keep up the good work

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Babylonstoren F, Guest Relations Manager at Babel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It was our pleasure to have you on our farm. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the farm very soon! Farm greetings The Babylonstoren Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful Restaurant - Minimalistic Gardens and Farm - A have to visit! Great Front of House team - Friendly, Professional, Informative C19 - Felt comfortable and at ease which allowed me to fully enjoy my experience in the environment as regulations are adhered to by...the establishment Food - Outstanding! Creative and well thought out - you can see the thought gone into each plate through the balance of flavour, texture, colour etc. Simply Delicious, Seasonal and a must try.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Babylonstoren F, Guest Relations Manager at Babel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful time at Babel, and on our farm! Thank you for your positive review. Can't wait to welcome you back one day soon. Warm greetings, The Babylonstoren Team

Reviewed 23 March 2021

We visit babylonstoren often and always eat at the greenhouse whilst there. Each time we come, we say we are going to try Babel. So we finally booked with a couple of friends and came through last weekend. Perhaps I was wrong to simply presume...the food would be of a higher standard than the greenhouse as we have always enjoyed our food there. The fresh produce lends itself to having amazing potential. Both my husband and I are vegetarian and thought that if there was one place in Cape Town where one could expect fresh, vibrant, amazing vegetable dishes (considering the garden) it would be here. Unfortunately both our meals were simply ok. Definitely not anything to write home about I’m afraid. I had the pumpkin (as it currently in season) and it could have done with some much needed caramelization and it definitely needed some kind of sauce to help with the lentils. It was edible but I’ve made far better at home. The risotto was also quite bland. I’m not sure how else to describe it. We enjoyed the sweet potato side and the potato wedges were nice but just potato wedges. Our friends had the fish and beef and they also remarked that it was fine. But definitely not anything worth returning for.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Babylonstoren F, General Manager at Babel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your time at Babel restaurant. We are sorry to hear your expectations were not met, as we are known for good quality products and wonderful meals. We will make sure this...More

Reviewed 4 March 2021

I wanted to give some feedback on the experience for our returning VIP clients today. My staff was told that our client's personal steward was not allowed to help serve the elderly couple and friends. The VIP clients on a previous occasion which was in...November enjoyed their time there and was permitted to have their personal steward serve them. I would like to clarify the reason for personal steward. is that the couple is elderly and is maintaining a bubble environment when they go to public eating places hence the staff help. The staff is tested weekly and is in the bubble as well. The point I am making is flexibility of a 5 star restaurant to being attentive to the client's need on this visit was kind of disregarded . A precedence had been set. Unfortunately today the restaurant manager, Adele told my staff this was not possible and had aroused questions from patrons from the last visit which is not of our concern. Anyway, the clients still decided to come but one of their directors who was a guest at their table had to help with the service to keep the integrity of the bubble. I hope this feedback can help your management be more flexible or use some discretion and not be affected by other patrons questions and views.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Babylonstoren F, Guest Relations Manager at Babel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Good day Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that our service did not meet your expectations as we are known for excellence. We always strive to put our clients first and give them a wonderful...More

Reviewed 5 February 2021

We had a splendid time for my birthday at Babel. The service was excellent and the starters and mains was excellent. When we got to the dessert we were a bit disappointed. Seeing that the dessert we got (panacotta) was more focused on aroma and...not the actual flavour itself. My friend describes it as eating a lush body buttercream. It was very dense and heavy and not as light as a panacotta should be. After a heavy meal a light dessert is expected. I have eaten at Babel in the past and was therefor looking forward to eat their famous chocolate fondant dessert, which they took off the menu. Seeing that I’m also I chef, i felt like this was worth sharing. Kind regards.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Babylonstoren F, Other at Babel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

Good day Karla Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy to hear you had a great time for your birthday at Babylonstoren! We're sorry that the panacotta was did not meet your expectations, we will keep this...More

Reviewed 31 January 2021 via mobile

We arrived to Babel restaurant for breakfast as a couple. They were very quick to turn us away as they had no space available inside - there was a drizzle this morning and the precaution was to not seat anyone outside... this was mentioned to...us in a haste by the manager as she quickly turned on her heels and walked awayMore

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Babylonstoren F, Guest Relations Manager at Babel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2021

Dear Jessica Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that our service was not what you expected. Due to current Covid policies, we are only allowed to seat a certain number of guests inside. We hope with your next visit you...More

Reviewed 18 January 2021 via mobile

We went through the reviews before we booked and we were so happy we confirmed our booking anyway! We had dinner at 5pm. Our waiter was Johnathan. He gave us 5 star service and we were totally swept off our feet! We had mains (fish...of the day and beef of the day) with 2 sides: potato’s and salad. Everything we had was delicious. The food also came quickly. We also appreciated the complementary starters of ciabatta and fruit while waiting for our mains. We cannot believe the bad reviews we read. We are definitely going back with our friends! They also gave me a bunch of flowers (proteas) when I left! I felt like it was my birthday!More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Babylonstoren F, Guest Relations Manager at Babel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2021

Good day Razana Thank you so much for taking time to review us. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience. We hope to see you and your friends soon again! Enjoy the proteas. Farm greetings Babylonstoren

Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

This was to have been our anniversary lunch back in May 2020 but with COVID lockdown. It was postponed to my husband’s birthday today. 1) this reservation was actually made in November 2019 and deposit was paid for the meal pairing set menu. 2)when lockdown...happened in May last year, we attempted to contact anybody to find out the situation but there was never any answer to the phone lines - bad communication. 3) because we had paid a deposit in Nov 2019, we decided to shift to next big occasion, my husband’s birthday 03.01. We ended up just changing the booking on line. Still no sms confirmation of change - still no communication until my husband called on 28.12 to check the reservation. 4) no mention was made during this confirmation that lunch needed to be concluded by 2.30 as we needed to be done by 3 as dinner was starting at 5pm. We would have arrived earlier to avoid rushing if we had been informed. 5) at the entrance gate, we were charged an additional R20 per person entrance fee - also not mentioned during our confirmation call - surely if you have a reservation for the restaurant the entrance fee should be wavered? 6)we arrived at the restaurant at 12:50, we were served starters at 13:45 and we finally received our mains at 2:30 and just managed to order coffee before things finished. 7) the food was delicious, our waitron was friendly and polite and as efficient as she was allowed to be but clearly there were delays elsewhere. 8) Communication for such a renown establishment was appalling and the overall experience was disappointing. 9) Gardens were lovely though. Next time will pay R20/p.p to enjoy gardens and not bother with the restaurant.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Babylonstoren F, Guest Relations Manager at Babel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

Good day Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we appreciate it. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations as this is not the standard that Babylonstoren are known for. We will make sure to give...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Sante Wellness Retreat and Spa
27 reviews
2.26 km away
Angala Boutique Hotel
476 reviews
3.07 km away
Simondium's Country Lodge
19 reviews
4.67 km away
Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
55 reviews
5.67 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Potbelly Coffee Shop & Bakery
84 reviews
5.41 km away
Rupert & Rothschild Vignerons Restaurant
35 reviews
2.62 km away
Lust Bistro & Bakery
498 reviews
2.87 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Vrede en Lust Winery
442 reviews
2.92 km away
Anura Vineyards
232 reviews
3.77 km away
Fairview Wine and Cheese
1,080 reviews
5.74 km away
Rupert & Rothschild Vignerons Tasting Centre
114 reviews
2.48 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lorraine A
19 January 2021|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Babylonstoren F | Property representative |
Our farm is a wonderful playground for kids! There's lots to explore and they can help feed our donkeys, collect eggs from our hens and lots more. Hope to see you soon.
0
Votes
Kayla093
9 February 2020|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from David K | Reviewed this property |
Casual but sporty. Nice shirt and pants for men and the equivalent for women.
0
Votes
shirlpearl
31 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Janfourie | Reviewed this property |
Just make a reservation asap
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Babel Restaurant

Babel Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5