We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Library Restaurant and Pub

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2610 S Lynhurst Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46241-8629
+1 317-243-0299
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Sat 16:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 388: English reviews
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is tucked away in an office/warehouse area close to the airport. Lots of hotels around but this was one of the few places to have dinner. I loved the decor, but there needs to be more of it. It felt like they just moved in and opened before they were done with the place. Food was alright, nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank bushes5
Ajna M, General Manager at The Library Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I'm very sorry to hear that you were not wowed by us. For just a bit of history on our location, it used to originally be the Mon Rêve, an exclusive French restaurant built by the late Lou Jenn over three decades ago. Much of the building's grandeur, art,... More 

Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Library looks quite nice on the outside, so I went in to have dinner. I went to the bar and waited for quite some time to acknowledged by the bartender. She was a disorganized mess. There was one of the servers who could see the bartender spinning around adn accomplishing little. The server tried to clean glasses which were... More 

Helpful?
Thank dcurran52203
Ajna M, General Manager at The Library Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I apologize for the level of service you received, I can assure that it is not our standard to have poor service. We would appreciate any additional information you could share about your experience so we can improve. Please contact me at ajna@thelibrary-indy.com, I would love to try and... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went to the Library and Pub with low expectations. It was late afternoon on a weekday in a neighborhood that seems primarily occupied by commercial business, light industry and hotels. Here's the review. My beer was served in a filthy glass. This despite the fact that the bartender was on duty and had no other customers. The pasta was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill P
Ajna M, General Manager at The Library Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Bill--Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback. I can assure you that serving drinks in a dirty glass is definitely not something that should ever happen in our restaurant. I'm not sure how that happened, but it will be addressed with our staff. We strive to serve our customers with "Quality Food"... More 

Middletown, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whenever I have a layover in Indianapolis, I try to eat at this restaurant. Love the food and the service has always been great.

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank shermand95
Ajna M, General Manager at The Library Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm happy to hear that we are a stop for you while you are in Indianapolis! We truly appreciate your loyalty. Just out of curiosity, what could we do to earn that 5th star? We hope you had safe travels and that we get to see you again very... More 

Whiteland, IN
Level Contributor
202 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place has a great menu. The food is exceptional and the service is fantastic. The prices are a little high but food is worth it.

Helpful?
Thank missqueenie
Ajna M, General Manager at The Library Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm pleased to hear that your experience with us was amazing! We would love to have you back in very soon! Take care, Ajna Morrow General Manager More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Apparently do not like race weekend out of towners. No service, so we left. A nearby steakhouse was happy to serve us and enjoyed a ticket of almost $500.00.

Helpful?
Thank HawkRyans
Ajna M, General Manager at The Library Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. First, I would like to apologize, I'm not sure exactly what happened, but we love race fans! It's definitely not our standard to have poor service and we would appreciate any information you can share to help understand where we dropped the ball so we can keep this from... More 

Martinsville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Prompt and attentive service. Prime Rib is delicious and a remembrance of delicious prime rib dinners from the '60 - '80's. Seems so many restaurants have turned away from this entree as an option, or, if it is served, it is not of the same quality as from years ago. Thickness, tenderness, juiciness, sides of Au Jus Sauce and creamy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredandSenior
Ajna M, General Manager at The Library Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm so pleased to hear that your Prime Rib was exactly what you were hoping it would be. We pride ourselves on making sure it is amazing! I'm glad we didn't disappoint! We hope to have you back again very soon! Take care, Ajna Morrow General Manager More 

Danville, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love the ribeye steak. My husband loves the prime rib; be warned-they run out of prime rib some time on Friday nights. My kids love the warm bread.

Helpful?
Thank Terry6967
Ajna M, General Manager at The Library Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Terry--Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm pleased to hear that the whole family was happy with their dinner. Please come back and see us again soon! We would love it! Take care, Ajna Morrow General Manager More 

Advance, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us guys decided to try the Library this evening. We were not disappointed. Service was great, prices were reasonable and food was good. Our only complaint was the order of a "full rack" of ribs came with 8 bones. We asked if it was just a half slab and were assured it wasn't. Most full racks come with... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoesueFree
Ajna M, General Manager at The Library Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is extremely important to us! I want to apologize for the mix up on the menu, due to a number of reasons we had recently switched from a full rack of ribs to a half rack and thought we had changed it on all the... More 

New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Got recommendations from front desk of hotel. Went online to check out reviews with info on what is good. Chose portobello mushroom steak and salmon. Both were delicious cooked as ordered. Got with asparagus and garlic mashed potatoes. Delivery hot with in 30 minutes as promised when ordered.

Helpful?
Thank Steve K
Ajna M, General Manager at The Library Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Steve--Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm pleased to hear that your dinner was not only prompt but delicious! We would love to have you come into the restaurant if you are still in town, if not please come by and visit us the next time you are in town! Take care, Ajna... More 

Travellers who viewed The Library Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to The Library Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 10 - USD 35
Cuisine
American, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Saturday
16:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2610 S Lynhurst Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46241-8629
  • Location: United States  >  Indiana (IN)  >  Indianapolis
  • Phone Number: +1 317-243-0299
Description
When you come dine with us, this is what you'll experience...

A little history, a lot of art, and above all incredible food!

Our goal at The Library is to delight you with the very best foods and the
very best service we can provide. Our specialty is fine steaks and
exceptional food that is freshly prepared by our very talented kitchen team.
We offer an extensive dinner menu including steaks, seafood, chicken,
pasta, salads, and vegetarian dishes. At lunch, a bountiful, freshly-prepared
salad, soup and pasta bar is offered along with a wide variety of sandwiches
and daily specials. All our cuisine is only complimented with our extensive wine selection.

We are located in a beautiful building, which once was the Mon Reve, an
exclusive French restaurant built by the late Lou Jenn (founder of Jenn-Air)
almost three decades ago. Fortunately, much of the building's grandeur has
been retained for us to enjoy, from Venus' Fountain and rose garden, restored
vintage crystal chandeliers, beautiful woodwork, and classical oil paintings.
Recently, we have added a large patio for our guests to enjoy the outdoors,
we have opened our beautiful "Upstairs at The Library" for banquets, private
dining, and business meetings, and we have recently opened our beautiful
new bar, complete with large screen TV's and original oil paintings of Indy's
favorites - the Colts, Indy 500, Brickyard 400, and Moto GP.

We look forward to serving you.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Library Restaurant and Pub and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Cuba City, Wi
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Library Restaurant and Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?