We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
USD 7 - USD 36
CUISINES
Bar, Pizza, Grill, Australian
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
29
36
22
10
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
29
36
22
10
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not only does this restaurant have an outstanding view over Dee Why beach...even better is the delicious Japanese cuisine on offer. We have been to many Japanese restaurants and this is right up there! Apparently there is a new owner--drinks downstairs, dining upstairs with an...open air balcony. Seriously great night out in Dee Why.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 December 2020

It’s so sad that this shop can’t even cook rice properly. Sushi rice was half cooked, and it wasn’t even sticky enough to make a proper sushi.. the rice literally fell out of the sushi seaweed paper as I tried to eat it. Seriously overpriced...for what is such a premature unprofessional work. Got to hire a better sushi chef who knows what they are doing. I can do better than this!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 16 December 2020

The revamped Deck Bar opened December 2020 with a Japanese cuisine and the food is divine - dinner menu upstairs and downstairs has a bar food menu with a great variety of beers and wines. A must to visit and a view worthy of a...great lazy lunchMore

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 February 2020

Great location and the outside seating upstairs provides a terrifc view of the ocean. Average fare for above average prices though. And the coffee machine was out of order. Waitress not familiar with the menu and not an establishment to go to if on limited...time - slow!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 April 2019

Five of us popped down for dinner, we were able to sit by the road upstairs which had a great view to the beach. The waitress was pretty good, although not too flash on English which was a slight challenge. No drinks menu so had...to ask and when did, it didn't contain a beer list, so I went to the bar to find one, which did not seem to exist. The bar lady wasn't too sure about what was available, but I did find one which was was nice. Food order was taken quickly and one of our party asked for some slight changes to his burger order, just not to have onions and gherkin. This was to fall on deaf ears as it arrived just as per the menu... Not too good I ordered a burger and fries with blue cheese dressing. When the fries arrived they were not super hot but still nice. The burger was superb. As the food arrived, the waitress took away the salt which was very odd... I did get it back after asking... but she seemed very keen to have the salt sitting in another table with no people at it... It became a bit of a joke at the table... Just odd. All on all, the food was very very nice, a tad cold, but better to say, just not hot. Would I return. Yes So Service: 5:10 just the odd salt behaviour and not listening to the order which she did write down Quality of food 8-9:10 Total 7:10, but 8:10 if order was right. The salt shaker must be very rare thing to not want us to have it...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

Friends and I went to dinner last night and have been going there for one of my friends birthdays for the past few years, We never had an issue until now. The service is a joke, as is the food, you have to order your...food and drinks at the bar and it all comes out at different times so we don’t get a chance to eat together. One of my friends who ordered at the same time as me was still waiting after we had all finished. When I questioned the waitress who was walking around with my friends nachos she said it belonged to someone else! Then she came back with it and it was cold. They ran out of calamari so another friend then ordered a different salad with haloumi but was told they had run out of the cheese so she had it anyway and it was awful, cauliflower stank and she said it was the worst salad she had eaten lettuce was clearly on its last days. I gave her half of my undercooked sloppy pizza which was a mess, and a frozen pizza would have been better and cheaper. Cocktails are overpriced, again they had ran out of tequila so the girls couldn’t have margaritas. What kind is establishment runs out of these ingredients on a Saturday!!! Oh one that is closing apparently and clearly trying to get rid of what’s left until the new owner comes in. I am so disappointed, I asked to speak to the manager several times the waitresses barely speak English and I never got a chance to talk to him. I figure either he was embarrassed or not told to come and see me. Instead we received a bottle of cheap bubbles! Having had dinner and drinks for 12 people you would think given the circumstances of the evening and how much was spent, the manager could have made more of an effort. Won’t be going back, regardless of if they change management.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
BenM5298, Manager at Deck, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Hi Michelle, Thanks for your feedback! This is clearly not what we generally produce, evidenced by your comment of prior experiences and trust that you offered the same extensive review when they were positive in the past. We do offer our sincerest apologies, as this...More

Reviewed 10 January 2019

Hard to believe a restaurant like this does not have table service. One of the worst burgers I've ever had with a cold, wet bun and little taste other than vinegar. The salmon tasted as if it had been cooked in the beef patty juices....The bar tender repeatedly couldn't pour an appropriate beer and seemed embarrassed about it. The music was randomly heavy rock between the casual music on a weekday early evening. Overall extremely disappointing and needs a drastic change considering the potential of its setting.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

Went there with my partner, whose a chef, and had a terrible experience. We ordered the wings, 2 burgers, alcohol and dessert. The wings were ok but needed more sauce. Both the burgers were falling apart in our hands and one was cooked wrong. The...dessert we got was the deconstructed apple crumble and poorly done too! (It was that tinned apple poorly strained) With the dessert there was supposed to be a berry compote instead we received a few blue berries, strawberries and a couple orange slices; one orange slice had broccoli bits on it!! The staff isn’t trained properly at all and I still don’t know what the fish of the day is after leaving. The previous place had at least a little more flavour. All in all don’t waste your money, go any where better!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 December 2018

My wife and I booked for lunch last week. We were seated and placed food orders before a table of 10 arrived. Guess what, the large table got their food. When I inquired about our order I was informed there had been a mess up...in the kitched. 90 minutes before food arrived!! Don't try phoning, they don't answer nor do they reply to emails.There are pleanty of better places in Dee Why. GIVE IT A MISS.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
BenM5298, Manager at Deck, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2018

Hi Peter, Thanks so much for your feedback. We have had this feedback for the same day you visited as well and can pass on our sincere apologies. I know it is to late to change the experience you had on that particular day now,...More

Reviewed 12 December 2018

Great views upstairs but the food was disappointing. We had the barramundi which was tiny, the seafood pasta which was overcooked. so basically overpriced for what it was. IF they can get the food right, then it would be a great restaurant upstairs. Downstairs is...good, chicken wings are great.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Time And Tide Hotel Motel
18 reviews
1.53 km away
Travelodge Hotel Manly Warringah Sydney
1,595 reviews
1.99 km away
Narrabeen Sands Hotel by Nightcap Plus
1,158 reviews
3.89 km away
Manly Oceanside Accommodation
101 reviews
3.98 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
SeaChange Cafe
216 reviews
.02 km away
Corretto Dee Why
113 reviews
.03 km away
Wildwater Grill
266 reviews
.17 km away
Stella Blu
309 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Stony Range Regional Botanic Garden
26 reviews
1.50 km away
Dee Why Headland walk
10 reviews
.21 km away
Line Up Surf School and Coaching
7 reviews
.04 km away
Collaroy Beach Playground
11 reviews
1.58 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Deck staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing