We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackwater Grill

260 Redfern Vlg, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2501
+1 912-634-6333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“jambalaya” (32 reviews)
“boudin fritters” (27 reviews)
“brunswick stew” (45 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, American, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
260 Redfern Vlg, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2501
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I paid $34 for a piece of overcooked fish, wilted salad and greasy brussel sprouts. When I told the waitress that the salad tasted bitter and witty, she argued with me. I was floored when I received the bill. I travel to SSI frequently for...More

Thank elizabethw648
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love Cajun food and this is the place to enjoy it. The setting is off beat and has a lot of charm with it’s eclectic decor. The staff members are wonderful! The prices are right considering what they offer. We definitely have this place...More

Thank michelewave04
JONIKA B, Manager at Blackwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much. We really appreciate you coming out please come back and visit us soon!!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We sat at the bar and bartender disappeared for a while. He finally came back, was not very friendly. We were going to eat dinner there, but decided to get an appetizer instead. Got the gumbo and stew and it was not good. Glad we...More

Thank seasidegirl603
JONIKA B, Manager at Blackwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I do apologize for this inconvenience. Our bartender is usually very friendly, but i will have a staff meeting regarding this incident. I hope that you do come back and try our dishes because they are really delicious and fresh.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ordered the shrimp and grits appetizer which was very delicious and the boudin fritters which were also good. The service was awful. Apparently our waiter was new and didn’t know much or anything at all for that matter about the menu. We ordered bottle...More

Thank PeaceLoveReef
JONIKA B, Manager at Blackwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I apologize about the waiter been a little slow. He was new and was very nervous, but after your comment his became more aware of his presence at the tables and is very confident and knowledgeable now. So with that being said Thank you for...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Can’t complain one bit about the appetizer portion of shrimp & grits or the boudin fritters. Both were great! The service however, was seriously lacking. Waiter was completely lacking knowledge on any menu item we asked him about & was the slowest & most inattentive...More

Thank Anna K
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Ordered the shrimp and grits to be delivered from island time delivery. $34.00 and 45 minutes later the nice woman showed up and handed me my bag. It felt really light so when I got inside I opened it and it was a cup of...More

Thank usemocorp
JONIKA B, General Manager at Blackwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

We do appreciate your business, and thank you for order from us. When you order through a delivery service they do charge a delivery fee and we do not have any parts in that fee. We only charge 20.00 for our shrimp and grits dinner...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Nice Cajun themed restaurant in the Redfern Village. The back deck overlooks the Marsh and is a great way to spend the evening with great food and friends.

Thank mark c
Management response:Responded 17 September 2017

Thank you for coming out and enjoying the deck.. Please come back and dine with us!!

Reviewed 14 September 2017

In town for a conference and wanted good seafood. This was the least busiest place which usually is an ill omen but what the heck. Very few customers but what a dish!! Grouper steak was huge and fantastic. Great choice. Will definitely go back.

Thank Billy M
Management response:Responded 17 September 2017

You must have came at a good time bc we can get very busy.. Thank you for coming out and dining with us!! We will be looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Really looked forward to visiting Blackwater but left disappointed. First, the absolute WORST chairs to sit on. Very uncomfortable. Second, I have NO idea who thought that the blue cheese salad dressing was good but it was just plain terrible. Cannot even begin to describe...More

Thank dougkinney
Management response:Responded 17 September 2017

Thank you for coming out to dine with us! I do apologize about the chairs. The blue cheese is made with whole butter milk so it does give it a different taste than average blue cheese. I hope you can come back and visit us...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Not same owners since show Diners, Drive Ins & Dives was here. Weeknight empty except at the bar and a few tables, service was untrained and sloppy.The cornbread was excellent, so was Jambalaya and fish was fresh. Half of the food slopped off the plate...More

Thank Susan S
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017

I apologize about your experience at our restaurant. I will personally make sure all of my servers know table etiquette. The restaurant look is considered antique like and rustic. Mostly all of the items that we have for decoration has been handmade or passed down...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Southern Soul Barbeque
2,061 reviews
.37 km away
Tara Thai & Sushi
156 reviews
.20 km away
Gnats Landing
348 reviews
.06 km away
Fuse, Fresh Frozen Yogurt
120 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bloody Marsh
86 reviews
.56 km away
Weber's Growler Factory
12 reviews
.18 km away
Kids Fishing Billy Bee Charters
171 reviews
.54 km away
Coastal Biplane Tours
84 reviews
1.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Blackwater Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 260 Redfern Vlg, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2501
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Georgia Coast  >  Golden Isles of Georgia  >  Saint Simons Island
  • Phone Number: +1 912-634-6333
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing