We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bennie's Red Barn

5514 Frederica Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
+1 912-638-2844
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good23%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“fried chicken” (40 reviews)
“ribeye” (41 reviews)
“salad” (100 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Soups
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5514 Frederica Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

On our visit here we were greeted by Susan served by Debora and serenaded by Chris. It was wonderful and the food was awesome. We also enjoyed your DJ. We will return asap.More

Thank seaycock
Bennie G, Manager at Bennie's Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

It sounds like the entire team was able to make sure you had a fantastic visit while you were in town! We'll be sure to pass along the kind words to them, and we look forward to welcoming you back in soon. Thank you, The...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had a very nice dinner here. We came early, right at 5:30 opening time and on a Monday and even still they were pretty busy. We did not make a reservation so I think it was good we got there early. In the future...More

Thank ready_set_go6
Bennie G, Owner at Bennie's Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We can definitely get a little busy, so it's never a bad idea to give us a call ahead of time! Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words. It sounds like we were able to make sure you had a fantastic...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

the food was good and delivered promptly. The atmosphere is a little dark. Some of the staff were not very friendly but our waiter was excellent.!More

Thank georgiapeach08
Bennie G, Owner at Bennie's Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hey, Georgia! We're thrilled to know everything was delicious when you came out. We apologize for whoever treated you unkindly and appreciate this feedback. Thanks for taking a moment to leave these kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back in soon --...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

While vacationing in SSI, Bennie's Red Barn was a restaurant that was on Trip Advisor. It was such a special treat to hear my waitress read the entire menu to me without any hesitation. I had fresh shrimp accompanied by a salad and a house...More

Thank Brunbag
Bennie G, Manager at Bennie's Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks so much for stopping by while you were in the area -- we're so happy everything was fantastic. We can't wait to welcome you back by the next time you're in SSI! All the best, The Management Team at Bennie's

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the best steak ever. The cowboy bone in ribeye cooked rare over a real fire. With steak fries. It was tasty and tender. My waiter "Jimmy" was professional and knew the menu inside out. I had a glass of Cabernet and the peach...More

Thank joeventuro
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bennie's is a "throw back" from days gone by. The food is delicious. The service is fine. You might also be serenaded by their roaming singer with anything from southern Gospel to Frank Sinatra.

Thank shopper4jay
Bennie G, Manager at Bennie's Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're thrilled to know the food was delicious when you came out -- thanks for the compliments! We're already looking forward to welcoming you back in again soon. Until then, The Management Team at Bennie's

Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't underestimate this place. It may look like what your grandparents would want but the food and service is great. They don't use menus so be prepared to listen to your waiter. The steaks are tender and cooked properly. The seafood was fresh and the...More

Thank Eileen S
Bennie G, Manager at Bennie's Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Knowing you received the excellent food and service you deserve is wonderful, Eileen! Thanks for taking a quick moment to let us know you had a great experience, and we can't wait to welcome you back in soon! Until then, The Management Team at Bennie's

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, mother in law and I ate their tonight. We made early reservations and we were seated immediately upon arrival. Stephen/Steven was our waiter. He was awesome..very attentive checking on us every few minutes without hovering. We had two seafood platters which were very...More

Thank mbarl0w1
Bennie G, Owner at Bennie's Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're pleased that you and your family enjoyed your meal with us that night! It's great to hear that your server took good care of you, and we're happy everything from the scallops to the ribeye hit the spot. We'll be sure to let our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate at Bennie's Red Barn on 7/5. We were seated right away. The whole atmosphere is ridiculous. It's basically one giant room with too many tables. To get into my seat, the gentleman behind me had to scoot inward toward his table in a...More

Thank ArnsdorffPartyOf4
Bennie G, Owner at Bennie's Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It's disheartening to read about your disappointment. Rest assured, the customer experience is of the utmost importance to us, so we'd like to apologize if you didn't feel comfortable or accommodated. Additionally, we're proud of the fresh and flavorful food we traditionally serve, so we're...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very busy night. We were lucky to get a table for three. Our waiter was very nice but again it was very busy. Never came by to refill our water. We had the filet which was excellent and the fried chicken which was was good....More

Thank Jules2181
Bennie G, Manager at Bennie's Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for stopping by! It's wonderful you enjoyed the filet and the fried chicken, but it's a shame to read about your disappointment with the service. It sounds like it was busy when you came in, but we'd like to apologize if your waters were...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Georgian Room at the Cloister
52 reviews
3.78 km away
Sal's Neighborhood Pizzeria
751 reviews
2.29 km away
Tavola
127 reviews
3.88 km away
Tramici
649 reviews
2.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Christ Church
594 reviews
1.79 km away
Sea Island Spa
49 reviews
3.78 km away
Fort Frederica National Monument
797 reviews
2.24 km away
Wesley Memorial & Gardens
76 reviews
1.88 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bennie's Red Barn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 12 - USD 25
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:30
Monday
17:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
17:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5514 Frederica Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Georgia Coast  >  Golden Isles of Georgia  >  Saint Simons Island
  • Phone Number: +1 912-638-2844
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to Bennie's Red Barn, the oldest privately owned restaurant on Saint Simon's Island! Nestled between beautiful live oaks, Bennie's has been a favorite of locals and tourists since 1954. No visit to the Golden Isles is complete without a visit to Bennie's! At the Red Barn you can enjoy steaks grilled to perfection over an old-fashioned open oak flame, seafood, chicken, or spaghetti in a classic, family-friendly setting. If you had visited us back in 1954, you would have enjoyed the best steak and seafood served in the Golden Isles. Some things never change! Our steaks are still cut fresh and cooked over an old-fashioned wood fire and our fresh, local seafood is brought in daily. The Club at Bennie's is a rustic, indoor and outdoor venue located just next door to the Barn. Enjoy a cocktail at our famous TREEBAR or watch the game on either of the 2 big screens. Two outdoor fireplaces and multiple heaters will keep you warm in the winter while the ice cold beer, ceiling fans, and AC will cool you in the summer. The Club is southern casual and ready for your party, but we can help you gussie it up for a more formal event. Experience an Island tradition at Bennie's Red Barn! We look forward to serving you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing