We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Walter Arms

Bearwood Road, Sindlesham, Wokingham RG41 5BP, England
+44 118 977 4903
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good35%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (26 reviews)
“pork” (10 reviews)
“the barn” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Mediterranean, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bearwood Road, Sindlesham, Wokingham RG41 5BP, England
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 575 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We have been to this restaurant on many occasions but this was the first time under the new management. the menu provided a good variety of options. We both had Calamari which was excellent, followed by Pollo Picante for me, which again was excellent and...More

Thank Lesley D
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Poor customer service sat away!! They don't care about customers make sure you stay away from this place.. Rude and arrogant

Thank narkdavi100
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We heard that there were new owners and as our meal had been booked months in advance we were a little bit concerned. We didn't need to be ! Fantastic three course meal and brilliant service, they could not have done any more to make...More

Thank Debbie B
TheWalterArms, General Manager at The Walter Arms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you Debbie. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed you first visit under our management! We do hope you come and se us again. Best Regards, Malcolm and The Walter Arms team

Reviewed 1 week ago

I took my mum here for her birthday knowing that just a week earlier new owners had revamped the kitchen and menu. As far as I could tell, nothing had been done to the decor, it's simply a refresh on the drinks and food menu....More

Thank JadeyNunn
Reviewed 1 week ago

this place used to serve amazng food, but it's now under new management it's massively gone down hill. We used to love going here, not any more. very dissapointing menu and the food was quite poor, especially the pork bellly. And the prawn starter was...More

Thank StephenMcGill
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Looked forward to our visit but on arriving found new owners and new menu. I decided to have a starter and a light bite together as my main but the starter was delivered separately. I asked for the food together and we waited a further...More

Thank P D
TheWalterArms, General Manager at The Walter Arms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you P D, for leaving your review - I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't receive the service that you would expect of us. In mitigation, we are still ironing out a few creases having only just taken over here and it appears...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We decided to go to our local as we would normally do on an occasional Saturday to find out that it had changed ownership!!! We were devastated - no more lovely scallops, no lovely specials and no creamy mushrooms!!! But we decided to give it...More

Thank TheJacksons1
TheWalterArms, General Manager at The Walter Arms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to us. In mitigation, we are still ironing out a few issues having only just taken over, as you know. Although the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really flavoursome food and I've never been disappointed. They also have a barn conversion you may hire out.

Thank GoldenAdvise
TheWalterArms, General Manager at The Walter Arms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you GoldenAdvise We are delighted to know that you enjoyed you first visit under our management! We look forward to welcoming you back sometime real soon. Best Regards, Malcolm and The Walter Arms team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

stopped for dinner, asked table, response you one?)) yes... pause... response if you with friends we have table if not sorry)))) Good business gays! ))) good luck!

Thank Michaelsnoopi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have a table booked here for this coming Saturday for a birthday lunch but now the website says under new ownership and we have been ringing constantly this week to get in touch but the line is constantly engaged. Has anyone another number for...More

Thank sbovonso
Nathan P, Manager at The Walter Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Please go to https://www.thewalterarms.co.uk/ where you will find details of the new owners of The Walter Arms, Oakman Inns. I can assure you that they will be honouring all existing bookings. I know that there were some teething issues with the phone line, but...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rangamati
26 reviews
1.28 km away
The Pheasant Inn
94 reviews
1.15 km away
Dragon Inn
87 reviews
1.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nirvana Spa
793 reviews
.62 km away
Showcase Cinemas
259 reviews
2.42 km away
Dinton Pastures Country Park
469 reviews
2.51 km away
Fusion Beauty and Health
7 reviews
3.31 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
timhall321
Is it child friendly? (High chairs, changing facilities etc...)
11 November 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Nathan P | Property representative |
Yes. We do have a number of high chairs and also a changing table, which is in the annex not the main pub building. I hope this helps
1
Vote
JackieHenk
Are you open Xmas Day for lunch
2 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Nathan P | Property representative |
Hi Jackie Yes we are. Please call the pub on 01189 774903 to enquire about availability as I know it's filling up
0
Votes
JackieHenk
Are you open Xmas Day for lunch
2 October 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Nathan P | Property representative |
How do you fart
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bearwood Road, Sindlesham, Wokingham RG41 5BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Wokingham  >  Sindlesham
  • Phone Number: +44 118 977 4903
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing