We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fish Tales

3203 Fort McAllister Rd, Richmond Hill, GA 31324
+1 912-727-3473
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good35%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (37 reviews)
“fish fingers” (6 reviews)
“hush puppies” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3203 Fort McAllister Rd, Richmond Hill, GA 31324
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Such a great night! We ended up there on a night when there was live music. The food was great. Music fantastic. View unreal. Atmosphere amazing. Strong drinks. Place was full of gorgeous Georgia men, that didn't hurt. Get the wings!

Thank Kristen N
Butch B, Owner at Fish Tales, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks Kristen! Live music every Thursday night! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

On our way from Virginia Beach down to the Orlando area for a wedding, we stopped for the night in Richmond Hill. My husband was mad to drive so far out of the way for dinner, but we were both ready to move to GA...More

Thank Kelly B
Butch B, Owner at Fish Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks so much Kelly! great idea about the sausage! We'll consider that as a potential option. Please come by on your next trip through the area! Have a great week.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Restaurant is really cute; lots of nice changes with fresh paint. Beautiful location on the water. Food is quite poor, prices are not in line with quality or portions. Have a drink, eat elsewhere. Shrimp Alfredo had 6 shrimp. $14.00. Combo basket had three tiny...More

Thank Jody M
Butch B, Owner at Fish Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry for your bad experience. I'm a bit confused at your choice of a one star rating. You said, "quite poor", but also said, "tender and properly cooked". Each one of the flounder strips are hand cut and weight equaling one once each. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location...Excellent service, good selection of beverages BUT over priced for what you pay. We all ordered the seafood combinations at over $20. There were loads of fries, lots of cole slaw but very little seafood. We also ordered a Shrimp alfredo to go..It had...More

Thank Rex0903
Butch B, Owner at Fish Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey Rex, Could you please email us, fishtalesrh@comcast.net. I would to speak with you regarding your experience. Thank you

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here before and left a bad review. Management asked for us to come back and try again. We came back tonight and did not let anyone know we were trying it again. This time was much better. Service was very good. We had...More

Thank Vinny0014
Butch B, Owner at Fish Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for giving us another chance! Tati is one of our best! Glad y'all had a great time!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I LOVE shecrab soup and this place has some of the BEST I have eaten. The view is nice overlooking the river. A bit on the pricey side - a glass of wine is $8, and a bowl of soup is $8. The low country...More

Thank BubbleMarker
Butch B, Owner at Fish Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much!! We hate to have to pass along the price of groceries to our guest but crab prices are out of this world. Please come back and see us soon!

Reviewed 13 June 2017

We are new to this area and almost all of the other restaurants in the area are closed on Monday (I guess it is a Georgia thing). We stopped in for dinner and loved Fish Tales. The she-crab soup is outstanding and the Low Country...More

Thank Ocean-Traveler55
Butch B, Owner at Fish Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you so much for the kind review! Y'all come back and see us soon!

Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

What a great way to end the day....After a morning of fishing my friends and I caught a mess of trout. Being from out of town we had no way of cooking them ourselves, so our guide suggested Fish Tales, and said they would have...More

Thank Tom G
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

The food was not spectacular it was okay. The food was overpriced especially for the quantity given. This place is good for having appetizers, hangout and drinks but not really a spot to go eat and enjoy a meal.More

Thank Estrella S
Butch B, Owner at Fish Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

I'm sorry your experience was not to par. What did you order that was not to your expectations? Did you ask for a manager so that they could address the situation? If could give more details on what you did not like we can make...More

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

If you are on the marina for a day trip great. If you are there for the food keep moving. We wanted an hour to be seated. Food came out lukewarm; waiter explains that the kitchen was backed up. Drinks are average at best. Parking...More

1  Thank travelandfun09
Butch B, Owner at Fish Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Good morning, I deeply apologize for the poor experience. We had a multitude of failures that evening from staffing to lack of communication. We try our best to be the best we can be on all aspects of operating a business. On this day, we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ice Cream Stop
90 reviews
6.46 km away
Sunshine Breakfast Restaurant
11 reviews
6.86 km away
Asia Asian Cuisine
60 reviews
6.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fort McAllister State Park
238 reviews
1.62 km away
Richmond Hill Historical Society Museum
32 reviews
9.42 km away
Sea Dog Charters LLC.
5 reviews
.02 km away
Fia Rua Irish Pub
6 reviews
11.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lladwig
8 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Butch B | Property representative |
Maybe this fall and winter Crab prices are up. Opilio crab which is what most folks consider "snow crabs" quotas are down this year therefore prices are up. Bairdi crab should be plentiful by fall, so once we can get... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 10 - USD 25
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 20:00
Monday
16:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 21:00
Thursday
16:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3203 Fort McAllister Rd, Richmond Hill, GA 31324
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Georgia Coast  >  Richmond Hill
  • Phone Number: +1 912-727-3473
  • E-mail
Description
Local seafood eatery on the Great Ogeechee River south of Savannah. Very Family Friendly.Very popular with the fishermen and locals. Right next to a marina. Eating areas inside and out as well as a bar area inside.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing