We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
French, American, Steakhouse
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (4,614)
Filter reviews
4,534 results
Traveller rating
3,170
686
380
163
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
3,170
686
380
163
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak chateaubriand french onion soup salad bananas foster potatoes ice cream lobster bisque bread wine cellar dessert room kitchen tour wine tour our waiter dining experience dress code after dinner drinks
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This was our second time at Berns in the past month. We visited the dining room and dessert room in late September. We had such a great experience so we really wanted to go back and eat in the more casual lounge area. We had...heard about a steak sandwich and cheeseburger that were worth a try. When we first went to sit down at the bar we noticed about four open seats; we chose two. We were given attitude from the server almost immediately as if we did something incorrect. As it turns out, we apparently sat in one of the “regulars” seats. But how were we to know? There was no reserved sign and it was open seating. Many of the servers standing off to the side made comments when the “regulars” came in about how they had to find a new seat because their seat was taken. We were determined to have a good dinner but the bartender didn’t have a pleasant attitude. We asked about a steak sandwich (which isn’t on the menu but we had heard about it from the people behind us from a smaller menu). The bartender said “it’s never been written down” with a judging attitude. Ummm, ok? This is our second time here, how were we to know? So can we order it? We find out we can and place our dinner orders. The rest of the experience was jaded by the most early events of the evening. The server was somewhat nice off and on, but we were so turned off by the initial greeting and early comments about taking someone’s seat. This seemed to set the mood for the entire evening. We are just normal Tampa residents who have lived here for awhile and just wanted a fun dinner out. We are young professionals, we were dressed up, but treated like peasants from the Titanic. Berns, I am very disappointed in this lounge experience. I expected more. Our dinner experience a month ago was excellent, but your lounge experience fell short of your reputation.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Sarah PA, Online Review and Content Manager at Bern's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Azdmelissa, we are incredibly sorry to hear this. We take your feedback very seriously and this is not the experience we strive to provide for our guests. Your review will be shared with our management team. If you would like to speak further with one...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What an unpleasant experience! And all thanks to an ordinary employee who is not happy at her work, a restaurant must be very careful when choosing the face of its restaurant, the person who receives you must be friendly even when they don’t have the...answer the customer wants, COPY THAT Mrs LYNN because you were VERY RUDE WITH A PREGNANT WOMAN, we drove 4 hours to get there and our reservation was at 9, we arrived hours before because by phone they had told us that they could enter in us earlier, unfortunately they didn’t even let us in at 9 o’clock because even the customer who had reserved for 8.30 has not been attended, this restaurant so disorganized don’t care about customer service, the only nice thing was our waiter, the food nothing that surprised me, Very important check the cameras, when leaving the restaurant we did not receive a good night from your employee of the year LYNN we were ignoredMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Sarah PA, Online Review and Content Manager at Bern's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Midalys N, we are sorry to see this. We take your feedback very seriously and this is not the experience we strive to provide for our guests. Your review will be shared with our management team. If you would like to speak further with one...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to celebrate our anniversary at Bern's and it was a wonderful experience with deliciousness all the way around!!! Our server was good, definitely working on gaining his silver tie, he led us through the paces of what to expect and what recommendations he...had to offer. Our Delmonico was stellar and enough to feed us both with some to take home. Be very specific when you speak with your server on what you want to take home or you may not get everything in your to go box. The wine paring was a great choice and I can't wait to visit again soon.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Sarah PA, Online Review and Content Manager at Bern's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review and for celebrating with us! We are so glad that your first experience exceeded expectations and we look forward to the next. Cheers!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a must visit location. The food is spectacular, the service, the wine, etc all over the top fantastic. The best part, the desert room. DO NOT miss this treat! I would not call it the best part, but it was part of the...whole experience. You must book reservations 90 days out but I learned that you can eat at the bar at anytime and you do not need reservations for the desert room,More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Sarah PA, Online Review and Content Manager at Bern's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, Tim H! We are so glad we exceeded your expectations, especially in the dessert room. We also thank you for sharing information about our limited walk-in spaces. We always do our best to accommodate guests who make the trip to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Covid wrecked Berns. Above average steakhouses with great service are not unheard of…. What set you apart we’re the kitchen and wine cellar tours. I pray they return soon, that was the best thing about Berns!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Sarah PA, Online Review and Content Manager at Bern's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Nanci W, thank you for your review and for sharing your feedback. Recent times have been very difficult on our industry, presenting many challenges and forcing changes across the board. We look forward to resuming all of the things that make the Bern's experience so...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bern's is hard to review because your expectations are so very high. The food is always good but it is the service and experience that set it apart. Our server (James) was perfect, made you feel like an old family member. Sadly, probably because of..."covid"the tableside cesar salad is no longer available. Bern's please retain your old traditions and standards that set you apart from all others.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Sarah PA, Online Review and Content Manager at Bern's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, Gatorpapppy! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we will be sure to share your compliments with James. We know so much has changed due to current events, but we assure you that we will always...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our friends brought us especially to the restaurant, we came all the way from Orlando for dinner. They insisted that it is a must go restaurant, and well they were right! We had table for 4, we got superb service! TOP SERVICE! The food was...excellent, we had T-bone and unique tasting menu of 3oz a piece, the overall environment was unique. We had wonderful time.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Sarah PA, Online Review and Content Manager at Bern's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lior L, thank you for your review! We are so honored you and your friends made the trip and we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit so much. Cheers to your next visit!

Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

We were in Tampa for the Gator game and have always wanted to go to try it. Before the visit (and outside the venue), Bern’s is very clear on their dress code. I appreciated the idea of a dress code because it, in theory, maintains...a fancy feel for the evening. Unfortunately, Bern’s doesn’t enforce it at all. There were many people in athletic shoes, shoes, flip flops and sports attire. There were also many patrons that should have been cut off from alcohol about 5 drinks earlier. Other than that, the food and service were excellent and the dessert room capped off a special evening. The macadamia nut sundae was fantastic.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Sarah PA, Online Review and Content Manager at Bern's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Gator247, thank you for your review. We do our very best to be consistent with the dress code, however we do not enforce it for guests joining us in the bar, lounge or dessert room areas. We apologize for how this impacted your experience and...More

Reviewed 12 September 2021

Don't know where the bad reviews are coming from. Competitors? We had terrific service with Jack, a wonderful waiter who knew when to talk to us and when to give us time to talk ourselves. Food was wonderful and I found a new escargot recipe...to love. My hubby had the lobster appetizer and filet and I had the wonderful escargot and the plate with three kinds of steak (filet, delmonico and Japanese waygu) and we both enjoyed our meals immensely. The salads were fine and we had a choice of dressings as we could not make up our minds as to which we wanted (they all sounded so good). The soup was hot and just enough. Eating this much at a meal, who would want a bowlful - the steaming cup loaded with cheese was perfect! Potatoes were fine (I ordered my extras on the side so I could adjust what I put on it). We saved room for a visit to the dessert room upstairs and we probably should have passed. Not because the bread pudding which we shared was not excellent, but because we normally don't eat this much and we overdid with the dessert and coffee. Yes, the restaurant is expensive but this was our 61st wedding anniversary (missed celebrating our 60th because of Covid) and we felt we deserved this treat. We plan on coming back to celebrate birthdays and future anniversaries and experience the Bern's "treatment" again.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Sarah PA, Online Review and Content Manager at Bern's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

TravelLover2250, thank you for your wonderful review and for celebrating with us! Your support means so much to us, especially during such a trying time for our industry. We will share your compliments for Jack and our entire team. Cheers to many visits to come!

Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

It has taken me two months to decide whether to write this review or not. It actually pains me to pass along details of what was a very disappointing evening at Bern's on our anniversary, July 15th. Perhaps my review is partially a result of...the high bar that had been set regarding Bern's. .. "you have to go!" " it's a tampa tradition" " go for the experience and service!". Well friends, none of it lived up to expectations. Not the food, the ambience or the service. Not. One. Bit. Mediocre food (think iceberg lettuce salad and a tiny pre-made French onion soup in a metal bowl harkening a cafeteria counter, a big massive loaded baked potato circa 1970 with a $100 steak); service that was rushed and impersonal; a brightly lit room with no ambience; patrons wearing shorts and flip flops sitting next to us and to top it off, halfway through dinner our neighbors finished and they cleared the table and left it uncovered with no linen, leaving the white plastic table underneath which not only looked awful but made us feel like they were wanting us to leave (it was 10:15 and we were seated at 9:15). At the end, we didn't go to the "famous" dessert room because we were so completely done with the entire experience. To sum, they are cruising on their name and reputation. Go somewhere else. Tampa has so much to offer .... the day of Bern's has come and gone.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Sarah PA, Online Review and Content Manager at Bern's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2021

SarahpZ7175OZ, we are sorry to see that we did not exceed your expectations and that this has been sitting with you for some time. If you would like to speak with a member of our management team, please email us at bshcontact@bernssteakhouse.com with your full...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
957 reviews
.09 km away
Hyde Park Hotel
101 reviews
.46 km away
University Inn Downtown Tampa
24 reviews
2.03 km away
Harbor Lite Motel
6 reviews
2.09 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House
1,365 reviews
.03 km away
Fresh Kitchen
185 reviews
.25 km away
Green Lemon
405 reviews
.36 km away
Daily Eats
499 reviews
.39 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hyde Park Village
75 reviews
.90 km away
Dark Door Spirits
7 reviews
1.32 km away
SoHo
26 reviews
.46 km away
Spa Evangeline at the Epicurean Hotel
27 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JulieandDan
19 March 2021|
Answer
Response from ladenet | Reviewed this property |
Nope, but they have the tables really spaced out !
0
Votes
Nora G
5 March 2021|
Answer
Response from mspflys | Reviewed this property |
It was New Year’s Eve so we went without a reservation. After sitting on the lounge area for about an hour (having a great cocktail and sitting with another pole we just met) we got a seat at the bar. So I’m sure any other... More
0
Votes
laurahvoss
28 September 2020|
Answer
Response from Southernerbelle | Reviewed this property |
Berns has a Tampa icon for years. They have a pretty strict policy on dress code and they tell you when you make reservations. You’re lucky they put you at the bar with shorts. I remember when men had to have a jacket and my... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bern's Steak House

Bern's Steak House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5