We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portofino Italian Ristorante

5035 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4513
+1 727-864-2800
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“veal” (11 reviews)
“manicotti” (5 reviews)
“pizza” (15 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 9:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5035 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4513
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Revisited Portofino Italian Ristorante following ownership change and will now be regular vs. occasional diners there. Without exception, the service and cuisine were exemplary. Salads, though small, were terrific with fresh greens, marinated tomato and a great house vinaigrette, accompanied by fresh, warm Italian bread,...More

Thank 501rick501
Chris C, Owner at Portofino Italian Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for the kind words, we will be sure the staff hears about them! We look forward to seeing you more often!

Reviewed 17 March 2018

food fine but no mention made on menu of extra cost for sauce on pasta with entrees!with a big party really adds upMore

Thank Cheam16
Chris C, Owner at Portofino Italian Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

We apologize that you weren't notified of the up charges when you ordered, and I understand we backed out the charges for those that weren't spelled out. We have reinforced to the staff that anything that has an upcharge will be mentioned when taking the...More

Reviewed 14 March 2018

Hard to comprehend some of the negative reviews.We had a excellent meal pasta,veal,desert. All served with a attentive waiter, knowledgeable ,and well paced service. We have been here befor in other years and had the same experience, The place was packed on Tuesday night ,so...More

Thank travnjon
Chris C, Owner at Portofino Italian Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you very much for the kind review, we will make sure our staff hears this. We welcome all reviews though we cannot get better if we don't find out what is wrong, and we strive to be better every night!

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

I just paid 15 bucks for a warm draft and a soggy beef steak grinder. So bad I gave it back. And the worst part is the owner sat there and watched the entire is that ordered it for me and saw me give it...More

Thank Fattiregirl
Chris C, Owner at Portofino Italian Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

We are sorry that you didn't have a pleasant experience. Once we were made aware of this hopefully we were able to address your concerns to your liking and hope you will give us another try in the future.

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Went there with wife. Everything was going good, till I got my order of Veal piccatta. The veal was not that good, sauce was bad. When I complained, the management said they would adjust the bill. They took off $2 from a $40 bill. Not...More

Thank Ken K
Chris C, Owner at Portofino Italian Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for the review we always welcome the opportunity to improve, and once again I am sorry you were not happy with the veal. As to the discount since you ate the entire dish with out giving us the opportunity to correct it for...More

Reviewed 10 February 2018

Absolutely the finest pizza we've had since coming here from BUFFALO NY,,,,,We have tried almost every pizza joint within 5 miles of Waterside & this is hands down, the finest pizza we have had since leaving Buffalo, (where almost all the pizza is better than...More

Thank butchsikorski53
Chris C, Owner at Portofino Italian Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for the review, and don't worry we have no plans to go anywhere!

Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Topical European setting, large, mouthwatering menu. My wife had manicotti and I chose the house specialty, Italian fish soup. Good choices! The place was buzzing - on Monday evening. Service was attentive. Contrary to some reviews, they had highchairs stacked at the rear, so they...More

Thank Laszlo S
Chris C, Owner at Portofino Italian Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you, and yes we do welcome children, we our family owned and operated and we welcome all of your family to join us!

Reviewed 18 January 2018

We went on Friday night the place was busy but we got seated quickly. Once seated it took a long to time to get service. The server was nice enough but it was easy to see we were not one of his tables and the...More

Thank Jake D
Chris C, Owner at Portofino Italian Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Sorry to hear that your service was not up to yours or our expectations. If you are back in the area I hope that you might give us a chance .

Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Recently dined at Portofino with friends. I had heard a lot of positive comments about the restaurant, so i was excited to try it. Very little ambience, decorating needs to be updated. Very nice waitress, but she was very busy and hurried. House Cabernet was...More

Thank Judy G
Chris C, Owner at Portofino Italian Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback and yes we are new owners, and are working on improvements, we hope for you patience as we roll them out over the next few months, and give us the opportunity to earn your continued patronage!

Reviewed 8 November 2017

This was our first time and it is our last. The bill was $40 for 2 entrees and 1 soup. I ordered the Chicken Piccata it was $14.95. It had 3 pieces of plain white tough chicken breast slices (no sauteing -no flour). Picture 3...More

Thank Sandra P
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 43 hotels in St. Petersburg
Bayway Inn
16 reviews
.64 km away
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
648 reviews
1.70 km away
The Historic Peninsula Inn
318 reviews
3.49 km away
Driftwood Motel
6 reviews
3.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Skyway Diner & Family Restaurant
65 reviews
1.07 km away
Bob Evans
49 reviews
.29 km away
China Wok
14 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Skyway Fishing Pier State Park
142 reviews
.10 km away
Sunrise Fishing Adventures
62 reviews
1.47 km away
Elite Watersports
99 reviews
.97 km away
Spanish Sardine Fishing Charter
58 reviews
1.56 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Portofino Italian Ristorante staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5035 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4513
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  St. Petersburg
  • Phone Number: +1 727-864-2800
Description
Fine Italian dining in a family atmosphere! Under new management since December 2017, come spend some time with our family!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing