We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion

49 Sway Road, Morriston, Swansea, Wales
+44 1792 761870
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good35%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“piri piri” (3 reviews)
“curry” (17 reviews)
“poppadoms” (6 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
49 Sway Road, Morriston, Swansea, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 260 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

First visit to the Red Lion, thoroughly enjoyed. Staff friendly and helpful, food nice, and service very efficient. Thumbs up from me 👍

Thank Simon T
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

First visit to this 'Not A Typical' Wetherspoon pub on a Friday evening with friends. Obviously VERY popular with the locals but VERY noisy to boot...too noisy really. Downloaded the JDW App and ordered 2 meals and drinks...super fast service straight to table. (Though some...More

Thank lavabread
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've eaten at the red lion several times staff are always friendly Food is served promptly. Great selection of drinks The carpets do need attention lots of tape holding joins together , which you wouldn't expect . And some of the chairs could be replaced...More

Thank julcanWales
Nia C, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank You for your review i will report back to my line manager about your concerns and hopefully get this rectified asap many thanks Nia

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a quick all day breakfast here yesterday morning.. everything on the plate was tasty ... full English with black pudding (extra 75p) well worth trying. Visited at 10.45 not too busy .. as always clean and tidy ... no complaints !

Thank philberry636
Nia C, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for such a great review and hope to see you again sometime soon Kitchen manager Nia

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Just to be clear, being a typical Wetherspoons isn't a bad thing. You get a wide selection of good value and good quality food with reasonably priced drinks. A nice touch at this particular pub is that if you're less socially inclined (like me!) you...More

Thank Lucy B
Nia C, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review and hope to see you soon Nia Kitchen manager

Reviewed 14 July 2017

Been here a few times recently with my dad. The place is always packed, but everyone seems happy and the staff seem organised and able to deliver the food quickly and without any problems. The menu is decent, and the food from OK to good,...More

Thank GreyWelshWolf
Nia C, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

great review thank you very much and hope to see you soon Nia Kitchen manager

Reviewed 12 July 2017

A group of us visited on the 'curry' night. Tried the red hot fiery chicken curry. It was ok but I tasted mainly chillies. Not what I thought a 'hot' curry would taste like. We ordered via the app which worked really well, so we...More

Thank Sylvia O
Nia C, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank You for your review, we are having some technical glitches with the new app which we are hoping to be resolved very shortly sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you and hope this hasn't lost your faith in us Many Thanks Nia Kitchen...More

Reviewed 17 June 2017

Took my wife for the first time to this restaurant to try the Thursday Curry Club, bit of a wait at the bar to pay but both meals were served up quickly and were piping hot. both excellent quality and value for money, polite and...More

Thank david h
Nia C, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your great review and hope to see you soon Many thanks Nia Kitchen Manager

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

This place is pure awful, first of all 4/7 people were served their food, and the rest of the meals were then served 50 minutes later after reminding the staff 3 times, then when food did arrive the chicken tikka masala was cold and then...More

1  Thank catrin1998
Nia C, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

We apologise for your bad experience we always try to excel in our customer service but this day we did not ... If you could give me a call on 01792 761870 to discuss your experience Nia Kitchen Manager

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

I visited here last weekend we ordered our meals, and drinks from the new app service, easy to use and the deals came off at the end. No more waiting at the bar! Children's meals are good value and the burger meals here just cannot...More

Thank cady42
Nia C, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your great review and hope to see you again soon Kitchen manager Nia

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fat Yankee
29 reviews
.42 km away
Milano's Cafe
17 reviews
.59 km away
Roma Fish Bar
45 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sherwoods
7 reviews
.75 km away
RSPB Cwm Clydach Reserve
5 reviews
4.45 km away
Penllergare Valley Woods
293 reviews
4.83 km away
Swansea Community Farm
41 reviews
4.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nettyandco
6 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Nia C | Property representative |
Hello , the people in question have now been removed from our premises with a permanent ban We have been trying to deal with for a while and has now been resolved Many thanks red lion management
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 49 Sway Road, Morriston, Swansea, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Swansea County  >  Swansea  >  Morriston
  • Phone Number: +44 1792 761870
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing