El Patron Restaurante Mexicano

El Patron Restaurante Mexicano

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+1 407-238-5300+ Add website
Hours
Sun
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tue
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wed
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thu
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Improve this listing
Reserve a table
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$15.00 – $33.00
CUISINES
Mexican
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Is this location primarily known for Bars & Pubs?
About
We're a family-owned restaurant that provides a modern twist on traditional Mexican cuisine. We offer artisan tacos, a delicious lunch buffet, and a great selection of drinks. All handcrafted to your liking! Signature Lunch Buffet - Enjoy a variety of our dishes every day from 11:30-2:30pm. Happy Hour - 1$ off drafts, $4 Margaritas every day from 3-6pm and 9-Close.
PRICE RANGE
$15.00 – $33.00
CUISINES
Mexican
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles943 reviews
Excellent
505
Very good
240
Average
104
Poor
45
Terrible
49
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Kimberly S
15 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
Had dinner with family while staying in area. Our server was attentive and the food was very good. I really enjoyed the chips and salsa. Instead of serving traditional chips they give you tortillas. You break them. All of our dishes were plentiful and very good. The mole was a little too spicy for my mother but the shredded beef was delicious.
Written 11 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
margaritaslover
Had dinner with family while staying in area. Our server was attentive and the food was very good. I really enjoyed the chips and salsa. Instead of serving traditional chips they give you tortillas. You break them. All of our dishes were plentiful and very...More
Written 25 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kevin K
Ponte Vedra Beach668 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 couples
The food, service and value were all beyond excellent. Our server CAROLINA was super attentive and made great recommendations. My wife is not a big eater, so she just got one taco off the extensive list a la carte. I am, so I went for the Carne Asada. Both were superb. Everything is scratch made, in house and it shows. Even in the staples like tortillas and the salsas you can taste the love these people have for the food. If you like really hot sauce, they have one you can ask for (again, homemade) that is better by far than anything I have ever had. Just be cautious, it is extremely hot, but also full of flavor. They have a daily lunch buffet (M-F only $11) and weekend brunch that sounds delicious. Can’t wait to bring our family and friends to this newly discovered gem. Close to I-4 and Disney Springs to boot...
Written 30 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
Wow! Hello Kevin, our team can’t thank you enough for your generous 5-star rating and comment! We are glowing from reading your raving review and are beyond delighted to know Carolina and our team delivered an authentic experience for you and your wife. We truly appreciate your recommendation and business and can't wait to have you back with your family and friends!
Written 30 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

misha c
12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2020 family
I've been in Orlando for about a month and stumbled upon this great place. You must give this locally owned spot a try. They have great fajitas and the burrito Grande was fantastic. The quality of ingredients is superior to none and literally the best queso blanco I've ever tasted. Delish!!! We stopped for dinner and was served by Carolina who is a sweetheart. She told us about the lunch buffet for 10.99 so lol we went back the next day for that. It was THAT GOOD. The Buffet is served by the staff ( you go up and just point at what u would like; there are taco salads , fajitas, chimichangas, great black beans and rice, deserts, fresh fruit and a ton of other stuff) along in order to stay socially distant as are the seated tables. We had waitress Nicole that day and she is equally attentive, super nice and kind. Please support this local buiz during these challenging times. Best food I've found in Orlando. Also great margaritas.
Written 25 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Angie A
Apollo Beach18 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
We have been there several times ( December most recent). and loved this place but after how terrible it was last night, we will never go back. To start it was busy and it was like they didn’t know how to handle busy! I was told 35-40 minute wait. When it hit an hour I went in was told 5-10 minutes, 20 minutes later I go in again and was told we are looking for your table now. At this point we waited so long we were. We were not going to leave (should of just gone to Steak and Shake next door). 2 hostesses working booth, we look around and see 3 tables that could be cleaned by at least one of them. When a staffer did come to clean the tables there was no sense of urgency to clear but yet there were multiple families waiting to be seated. Finally 10-15 minutes later they finally found my table. Waiter finally comes after we saw him pass us 3 times. Never mentioned his name, how’s it going. We went ahead and just ordered everything appetizers and main meal because no telling when we would see him again. Get our appetizer he never comes back to check on us, how is the food, do we need anything. ran out of shells to eat finish our appetizer. Food comes out we have no silverware and no napkins daughters drink has been empty for about 10 minutes. Finally food comes out with the corn tortilla shells( I do not like corn tortillas I always get flour) I sucked it up and eat it because I didn’t want to wait any longer! Meat was so dry in both tacos ( chicken and steak) and the shells broke right away ( since normally at most Mexican places they use 2 shells when using corn tortillas so they don’t break) so I actually just picked the meat out to eat. After all this still no waiter to check on us until we were done and he handed us the check. I understand it busy and I would normally not do this but the way the staff handle the situation was just terrible. I think this was the worst experience I have ever had at a restaurant
Written 23 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
margaritaslover
Angie, we're so sorry to hear that your recent visit to your restaurant was disappointing. At El Patron, we greatly care about our customers' experience and read every review in order to learn how we can improve it. Firstly, we'd like to thank you for dining with us multiple times. We completely understand how frustrating it can be to head to a restaurant that you love and not receive the attention and service you expect. We always want you to enjoy your time with us, and never want you to feel unattended to. We're also saddened that you didn't get to enjoy your meal as you usually would. We're truly sorry for your wait, meal, and service experience. We've made sure to share your feedback with our management and head chef so that they are aware. We'll also make sure to address this with our staff so that we can continue to improve our customer's experience. As you know from your previous visits, this isn't a common occurrence. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to serve you again. If your experience is similar, please let a manager know so that we can make it right. Thank you for dining with us, as well as sharing this valuable feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Written 26 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brenda G
Kissimmee91 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
Visiting orlando with family and was really wanting Mexican....sadly, I had ordered the shredded chicken burrito grande and had to unfortunately send it back because it was big chunks of chicken not shredded ...however, when he brought another of the same order it was exactly the same! Very poor service....could not even get him to come over to check on our dinner and getting refills was impossible.
Written 29 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
margaritaslover
Breant777, thank you for letting us know about your experience, and we're sorry you were disappointed with your burrito. Our Burrito Grande comes with a choice of chicken, shredded beef, or vegetable, though the chicken is not shredded. We're sorry if you misunderstood our menu, and we apologize if your server did not communicate this better to you. We'll address this with our team, and we hope you'll give us another try the next time you're in the area!
Written 2 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cynthia C
Cocoa Beach4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
June 2021 none
When we arrived we were welcomed by several handmade signs explaining they are short staffed and to expect delays etc. When we went inside, the DJ music was SO loud we almost turned around and left but instead requested a table away from the music. We were seated in the back but the music was still loud and just a horrible atmosphere for a Mexican restaurant. Our waitress told us to use the webpage for the menu, but their WIFI doesn't work and the online menu is lacking anyways. My husband never could get the menu up on his phone so we asked for a paper menu. Our waitress said they only have 3 so we would have to wait. Then she brought the "chips" and salsa, which consisted of 3 large flat corn tostadas that were cold (right out of a box) and a small bowl of salsa that tasted like tomato paste. At this point, we figured we should cut our loses and left the restaurant so I cannot comment on their food.
Written 29 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
Thank you for taking the time to review our service, Cynthia. We are disappointed to hear about your dining experience and hope to leave you more satisfied next time. Please know, we are seeing higher traffic than usual and doing everything we can to address it to ensure you have a great experience. Thank you for your patience and business!
Written 1 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michael G
Bellaire233 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
We chose this place because of the high number of reviews - I came here on May 13, 2021 with my family and there was good and bad here – it didn’t start off great. We tried to make reservations online, but their website (after tapping the icon) said we needed to call instead. We called to make the reservation, but the person who answered said we had to wait until 10 minutes before we arrived to put our name on the list; calling 10 minutes before we arrived, the person answering the phone said they couldn’t take a reservation. Once we got there, it was a 20 minute wait and were told to wait outside. Asking for a Dos Equis lager from the menu, they didn’t have it. Asking for a Corona Light on the menu next, they didn’t have it, either. The food was fair – if you order the quesadillas or beef fajitas, they are huge portions and each entrée is enough for two normal people. All-in-all, it was just ok and nothing to say I’d have to eat here again on my next trip to Orlando.
Written 13 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
Hi Michael, we are disappointed that you are disappointed! We're seeing higher traffic than usual, and we're doing everything we can to address this soon to ensure you have a great experience. Thank you for your patience. We hope you will return to give us another chance. And please, don't hesitate to message us with any other feedback or information about your experience.
Written 15 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sand-devil
17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 family
As a family we are spending the Christmas holidays in Florida as 'rona refugees from the U.K. Beginning our break at one of the hotels near Disney Springs we endured awful food at Terralina (swerve the awful lasagne). Disappointed with the Disney food we fancied some authentic Mexican flavours and found this place was nearby on Open Table. Braving the reviews on here about slow service (indeed there is a board at the entrance warning service may be slow due to staff shortages) we Ubered up there to give it a go. The place was extremely busy but our experience was of fast, friendly, attentive but unobtrusive service. Our party had Tamales, Nachos, Quesadillas, Artisan Tacos and El Patron Fajitas washed down with some very nice tequila cocktails. Everything was beautifully cooked, extremely tasty and came as huge portions. I loved the Mexican rice and creamy black beans that came with the fajitas but had to leave quite a bit due to being extremely full. As a family we can thoroughly recommend this place and we'll definitely visit again.
Written 25 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
We can’t thank you enough for your generous comment and rating, Sand-devil. It’s feedback like yours that motivates our team to continue delivering stellar service and we are so happy you chose us while on your Christmas holidays. We appreciate your support for our business, and hope you have a great new year!
Written 26 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

palmharbormichelle
Palm Harbor104 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2021 none
Made reservations and were seated immediately. Nice decor, nice waiter. Chips and salsa were delicious, but after 30 minutes and everyone else being served, we finally inquired about our food and after a few minutes the waiter came back and asked what we had ordered. We paid for the chips and drinks and left. It stared off very promising but fell flat with no apologies from anyone there.
Written 28 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
Hi Michelle, we appreciate and understand your disappointment. We are disappointed in ourselves! Would you give us a chance to make it up to you? Please don't hesitate to message us with any other feedback or information about your experience. We would love the opportunity to deliver the five-star experience you deserve!
Written 30 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mrsrell2u
Newport News111 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 friends
We had a group of 18 and only one waiter. The manager and others were standing around and there only help he received was bringing the food to the table. I ordered the chicken pollo without the pickled onions but added grilled onions and it was delicious. 3 of us ordered it that way and they forgot the grilled onions and I had to ask for them from several waiters like 3 times!!! My son had carne asada with shrimp added on and that was the first time I’ve even seen just a huge piece of steak as the dish. He said it was great but they kept the tails on the shrimp in all their dishes. Also he didn’t get his corn tortillas. His teammate has like a burrito with shrimp with tails on and he didn’t want to go inside it to remove the tails because of all the melted cheese. We didn’t get salsa or chip refills or drink refills at all!! The waiter dropped all our drinks and a manager helped him clean but no one assisted him in bringing us more.
Written 27 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
Hello! We are deeply sorry that we were not able to give you a 5-star experience. If you're open to it, please give us a call so that we can learn more about where we went wrong. We'd love to learn additional feedback or information about your experience to clear up any misunderstandings. Thank you.
Written 28 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gilesmt
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021 none
I will start by saying this was excellent food, really enjoyed the buffet for lunch, loved the choices and the price for adults was fair. Our problem and what brought down the review was out child and the price they charged for a 2 year old. We went twice about 6 months apart and we enjoyed the food, but the first time when the bill came we could not figure out why it cost so much and assumed that we ordered drinks and that was the problem. Second time was yesterday and when the bill came again way higher than we thought. Then without them telling us or showing us a receipt, we realized we were charged $8 for a 2 year old to eat off the buffet. He ate 1 teaspoon of hamburger, rice and black beans and did not even finish it. He did not have a drink just water. They charged us $8. I have never been to any buffet that charges for children under 3 to eat, he is not even 2.5 yet. As much as we love the food, we will not be back.
Written 2 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
Hello Giles, thank you for taking the time to write us to let us know about your experience. We are disappointed you are disappointed and would love the opportunity to try and win your business back. Please don’t hesitate to message us directly with any other feedback or information about your experience so we can resolve it. Thank you!
Written 4 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gammish
Fort Lauderdale507 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 none
Restaurant visited two times and both had unfortunate experiences. The first time was a couple years ago for a group of 30. Only 1 server provided who had to work multiple tables besides ours. Took over 2 hours to get the entrees and drinks had to be purchased at the bar - yes, we had to get up and go to the bar to buy a drink because the server was not present. Mandatory 20% tip was unfortunate for such poor management (not the server's fault but manager). Returned a second time with a gift card courtesy of restaurant due to prior poor experience. We had followed up with the event organizer and she sent the gift card as an apology. When the bill came, they didn't accept the gift card! Said something about a new system change and the card was not recognized. Note that the card was from the restaurant and had its name on it. The manager offered to reduce our check by $20 even though the gift card was for $50. Seriously, can't make this up and our jaws dropped! Manager said he called the owner Carlos Calderon but Carlos didn't answer his call. We asked for the gift card to be returned (so I could use it to communicate with the owner) and the manager refused. We paid the check and walked out disappointed in management two times in a row and a useless gift card. Obviously, we don't recommend this restaurant because of its management. Never again!
Written 18 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
Hi Gammish, please accept our sincerest apologies that you had to deal with this issue. We’re deeply saddened that you did not receive exemplary service. We’re carefully reviewing your feedback and will make necessary changes. We strive to provide superior customer service and regret falling short of the mark on this occasion. We truly hope that you will visit us again.
Written 20 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gturay
Lady Lake447 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 couples
Went here for a meeting of friends (4 couples) for dinner. We made reservations but something went wrong and they did I dot have our reservation. Fortunately, it was not busy at six, so we were seated quickly. We were surprised to have to pay for chips and salsa. No complementary items. The happy hour saved $1.00 off of drinks. When reviewing the menus which were QR code or print, we found quite expensive items compared to most other Mexican restaurants. Souse and I ordered combo fajitas and had over cooked chicken and steak, with onions and peppers. Only three tortillas. Rice and black beans were good. Service was spotty, with waitress leaving us waiting to pay for over 10 minutes. Probably will not be going here again.
Written 1 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
We are sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t perfect Gturay. If you would like to discuss the details of your experience further, please don't hesitate to message us with any other feedback or information about your experience. We are always looking for ways to improve and continue to learn from all of our customers. We hope to deliver the five-star dining experience we are known for!
Written 3 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pete G
Detroit119 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 family
Came here on a recommendation, well it was OK. Made reservations which was confirmed and screenshoted. Get there we have no reservation under the confirmation number or by employee name…no biggie they fixed the issue once shown. Get seated and two servers argue as to who’s table it was. Finally get drinks and “Patty” serves the drinks and then spilt on on the table, gets another drink for her accident then proceeded to charge us for the drink on the bill. Ordered food it came and was good, not great. Kids asked for more rice instead of beans, never came as requested. In fact she never came back to the table to see if the food was good or we needed anything. Salsa was bland, lacked any flavor and tasted just like crushed tomato….I understand that we’re in a tourist area and most visitors will never come back, but you treat every guest the same. Wife ordered Steak Fajitas.. Came with 2 tortillas only and the cast iron plate wasnt even “sizzling” as the tables around us were, food was warm not hot. Chicken burrito was the only thing that wasn’t messed up. Ordered the Enmoladas.. It was ok, compared to L&J Cafe in El Paso TX which has the best I’ve ever tasted. This is by far not the best nor greatest Mexican food I’ve ate. Quite honestly the best Mexican food is L&J Cafe in El Paso, small quaint and awesome!!! Definitely not the best experience and had to have the bill several times corrected to make it accurate for their mistakes…..sorry won’t be back, nor recommending!!!
Written 12 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
Hi 870peteg, thank you for taking time out of your busy day to let us know how we’re doing. Comments like yours help us to improve so that we can deliver better service in the future. From all of us here at the El Patron Restaurante Mexicano family, it’s always our pleasure to serve you and we hope you will return so we can deliver the five-star meals we are known for serving!
Written 13 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Al I
18 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 couples
Worst ever Mexican I visited....just a name. Very slow. Bad food blamed on the chef....waitress blamed the chef for burnt stake, no quality control. Just manager came said sorry
Written 2 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria M
Hi ali849, we apologize for your experience. We never want our customers to feel this way and our team would love to make it up to you. We're seeing higher traffic than usual, and we're doing everything we can to address this soon to ensure you have a great experience. Thank you for your patience and we hope to see you again!
Written 4 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 876
All Orlando HotelsOrlando Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Orlando
Things to Do
All Orlando RestaurantsRestaurants near El Patron Restaurante Mexicano
FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars