We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Foundry Kitchen & Tavern

1 Glen Rd, Sandy Hook, CT 06482-1171
+1 203-491-2030
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (20 reviews)
“fish tacos” (25 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Glen Rd, Sandy Hook, CT 06482-1171
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went here for a friend’s birthday dinner and will probably never return. We had heard good things about the Foundry, but it did not live up to that hype. Firstly, we were a group of 30 and they not only refused to split the...More

2  Thank KikiLCT
KateN1504, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there. It is really unfortunate to read this review about our business and service from you. I apologize that you were not happy with your experience that evening. Originally when your party booked, it was for 20 people, but was changed at the last...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I work near this restaurant. I have only stayed in to eat here once. The décor and ambiance is awesome. It is an older brick building with industrial and hip décor. The food is always amazing. The service is always good. It does not matter...More

Thank Carissaferguson
KateN1504, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for this awesome review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had been meaning to stop at the Foundry because of the good reviews and the look of the place. We were NOT disappointed. The food was remarkable for a tavern. Shrimp and Grits were first rate. Good selection of draft beers and pleasant, quick...More

Thank Scots-not-Scotch
KateN1504, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It is an old building, which always needs so much work...but we love it, it is part of the unique charm! We hope to see you again!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always our go to for good flavorful food that's well prepared. With regular updates to the menu and intriguing specials we have always enjoyed eating here or just stopping by for a happy hour visit. It can get crowded and when it does it looses...More

Thank Bob J
KateN1504, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for this great review. Be sure to ask on the weekend if our upstairs loft is open, its a lot more spacious and quiet & when it gets crowded , it is a great option for people!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second trip to the Foundry, it's been a while but both times the food was excellent and the service great. The "tots" are a great appetizer to share or enjoy as a side with your meal. I had the steak frittes and...More

Thank Mark S
KateN1504, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the great review! The tots are a big hit here. We hope to see you again soon, next time try the tater tot poutine!

Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

We had a great night sitting on the deck above the river. The building is a old mill, very cool. Food was fantastic and very unique. The deserts were amazing and they have a moderate tap beer list along with a full bar. The price...More

Thank Vacation810059
KateN1504, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for writing us this review! We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Great food but a bit on the pricey side. Can't go wrong with anything off the menu...all suoerb choices. We went on a week noght and the only issue we had was finding parking becuase the Founry is so popular.

Thank Bradley A
KateN1504, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review! We do have a very large side lot and back lot, for next time if parking is an issue!

Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Small place I hear reservations are wise Tuesday night is 1/2 off bottles of wine 🍷, I hear ladies like this on the deck by the water , wed night is entertainment night , again another perfect spot out back ! New menu roll out...More

Thank josephmk2015
Kate N, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you so much Joseph for the wonderful review! We have released the new menu and it has been received so well! We hope you can join us again.

Reviewed 31 August 2018

The Foundry is in a lovely location, in a historic brick building with a patio over-looking a stream. There is a big busy bar, and great service. It would be great except that the food is not great. We live nearby, and keep trying to...More

Thank Renee R
Kate N, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Hi Renee, thank you for taking time to leave a review. We appreciate honest feedback. We hope you can come in again soon and try our new menu. We have updated a lot of dishes and added a lot more as well!! Thank you for...More

Reviewed 28 August 2018

The Tavern used to be our got to place for a meal. However a year ago it was taken over y new management and the food is not quite as good as it used to be. In my view the menu needs an update to...More

Thank Bygollyman
Kate N, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Hello, thank you for sharing your opinion with us. Its ironic you speak about the menu. Just 7 days ago we re did the whole menu! And we have been getting nothing but excellent feedback on our new dishes. We hope you can come in...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Heritage Hotel, Golf, Spa & Conference Center
533 reviews
9.24 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bethel/Danbury
157 reviews
9.44 km away
Days Inn by Wyndham Bethel - Danbury
298 reviews
9.49 km away
Howard Johnson by Wyndham Bethel
123 reviews
9.59 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Nouveau Monde Wine Bar & Bistro
63 reviews
.12 km away
The Villa
40 reviews
.12 km away
Figs Wood Fired Bistro
186 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edmond Town Hall Theater
47 reviews
2.51 km away
Riverview Cinemas
22 reviews
6.59 km away
My Place Tap Room
20 reviews
1.95 km away
Kettletown State Park
67 reviews
6.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Janet B
11 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Soaringeagledad | Reviewed this property |
I think the Foundry had reasonable prices for the quality of the food, and creativeness of the menu.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Glen Rd, Sandy Hook, CT 06482-1171
  • Location: United States  >  Connecticut (CT)  >  Sandy Hook
  • Phone Number: +1 203-491-2030
  • E-mail
Description
Pub & Tavern Serving Newtown area. Outdoor Dining overlooking Pootatuk River. Events Space, Warner Loft can accommodate up to 85 guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing