We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

USS Chowder Pot III

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
560 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405-2907
+1-203-481-2356
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 366: English reviews
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

New Haven and north begins the search for whole belly fried clams. Favorite food as native New Englander transplanted. Becoming a traditional stop for lunch and local IPA beers at the bar with Rob (bartender). Willing to endure country music while watching America's team " Red Sox. Local patron attraction without frills. Will stop again heading south bound shortly

Helpful?
Thank SoulSearcher2828
Preston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After the two of us tried 4 salads we decided not to eat it. You can tell it was from a bag and some pieces were old brown and slimy. The food was poor. The stuffed sole was far from good. Living near the ocean you would think the food would be great! There are so many nice seafood places... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

My kids and I each got a lobster roll here last week. The rolls were nicely toasted, and there was a generous amount of lobster in them. Unfortunately, there were so many pieces of shell in the lobster that made them pretty unappetizing. Also, the lobster was shredded, for some reason. The side salad and potato were good. I wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
East Lyme, CT
Level Contributor
189 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We met two other couple here to celebrate the 50th anniversary of meeting at the Army Induction Center in New Haven. We all went to Vietnam. We started off with drinks which were very good. Then shared three appetizers. The only one, and only thing during the entire evening, that wasn't above average were the fried squid. The other two... More 

Helpful?
Thank VinMar_10
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stopped on the way home from a day trip. It was a Sunday night and was hoping for good seafood dinner. As soon as we walked in front desk person stated there would be a 30 minute wait. We were hopefully it would be a little quicker. The front desk person was very condesending when we asked a few quesions.... More 

Helpful?
Thank aj F
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Always can expect a great lunch or dinner. Consistent. Seafood seafood seafood. Make sure you Go hungry!

Helpful?
Thank BG1212
West haven
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

They told us the wait was 15 to 20 min, but didn't happen there were a lot empty seats and that's something I would never understand. Why the long wait? Sundays can be really busy and the wait is forever. At least the food was delicious and fresh. I would go back weekdays never weekends.

Helpful?
Thank 144paolav
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

I've been here before and really enjoyed it but this time it was a huge disappointment! The service was horrible at first. My drink order was wrong and the server was just ready to go home... So we got a new server and the service was great. However the first server had already take our order and got it wrong!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
ChowderPotManagement, Manager at USS Chowder Pot III, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, We are sorry for your experience. Please give our Manager Angie a call today so we can try to make it right for you. Best, Chowder Pot Management More 

Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We went went there to celebrate Valentine's Day with the family. We had the Sea food Alfredo pasta and it was delicious. Prices are real good and they have a big variety of sea food and other plates in their menu. They also have a big bar. During the week they have offer different activities like karaoke, music bands and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ketana_01
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Picked up a takeout order midweek. Fried seafood combination was very good. Lobster bisque came in a quart and we ordered a loaf of their honey bread. So good. Quick order, no wait time, good food. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank PJA09

Travellers who viewed USS Chowder Pot III also viewed

 

Been to USS Chowder Pot III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 560 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405-2907
  • Location: United States  >  Connecticut (CT)  >  Branford
  • Phone Number: +1-203-481-2356
Description
For 36 years our customers have enjoyed award winning seafood, slow roasted prime rib and USDA Choice steak. Chowder Pot III has two large dining rooms and a very popular Captain's Lounge featuring a raw bar. Happy Hour Mon-Fri, 3:30p-6p Pick out your own live lobster from our tanks from 1-15 lbs.!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of USS Chowder Pot III and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Swedesboro, New Jersey
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from USS Chowder Pot III staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?