We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rose and Crown

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
London Road, Cuckfield RH17 5BS, England (Formerly The Rose and Crown Cuckfield)
+44 1444 414217
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 195: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited during April 2017, table for four people in the restaurant part not the pub area. We were disappointed with regards to the atmosphere or lack of it, however the pub area seemed to be much more lively. We ordered for the mains, cod, very good, Guinea fowl, very good, and the boys shared the Beef Wellington, not good,... More 

Thank Debbie001328
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the R&C for a family birthday celebration and were really impressed by the food, service and atmosphere. The food was absolutely delicious and our party of 12 enjoyed every course. The service was prompt and friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Thank T K
Simon D, General Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words. Being a family owned restaurant, We like to think of ourselves as very family orientated and get great satisfaction from knowing we have contributed to celebrating such an enjoyable occasion. As you know, we are always more than willing to work with larger tables no matter what time of the day or week.... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The welcome was bad, service shocking . We asked for leak & potato soup but appeared to be cabbage soup we complained but were told it was leak and potato.!!! There was no vegetable Choice only cabbage . The pie portion was small and tasted average. My husband had an omelette with goats cheese which was dreadful. Overall a bad... More 

Thank Rose J
Simon D, General Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience. However, I cannot help but feel your review is a little unfair on us. After arriving 30 minutes late on a busy Friday night, one of the party was very demanding and rude to our staff from start to finish. We worked hard to happily fit you around our other bookings who... More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went as a party of four and we all had a great meal. We opted for the lunch menu as the more formal menu looked a bit pricy and a bit much for a late lunch. Slightly odd setup with the lunch menu eating to the left and the dinner to the right but hay! The macaroni cheese went down... More 

Thank Pand55
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You can imagine how busy all the restaurants were on Mothering Sunday and can probably imagine the preparation time needed ahead of the big day. Well done to Alan and the team for the delicious lunch, we all really enjoyed it. The pub was busy and the team managed to serve the large groups turning up and all wanting drinnks... More 

Thank Penguin32
Simon D, General Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to post a review. As you have recognised the entire team worked extremely hard on Mothering Sunday and the whole week building up to it. As you can imagine there is quite a lot of pressure and high expectation on such days. After serving 140+ people on the day, we cannot... More 

Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were allocated a two hour slot between 2 PM and 4.00 pm. It's only after it's gone wrong that you replay the events earlier to analyse why ! We were offered to order drinks at the bar as our table was being prepared so we duly ordered drinks and chatted amongst ourselves Once seated just after 2.00 pm we... More 

1 Thank TonyMus
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

If prices are at this level you expect much better overall service. The food itself was good (although two mouthfuls of mashed potato for a £60 Beef Wellington was not good) We had to ask for several things from what I thought were poor waiting staff.....clearly not up to the aspirational prices of a limited menu. Price for the Steak... More 

Thank BobHoad
Simon D, General Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Dear Sir Firstly, I would like to apologise for your experience and for the lack of professionalism displayed on the evening. We are currently in a transition period where we have recently employed a new team of junior staff members. Although there is no excuse for the service provided. We obviously have a lot more training we need to do... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We visited the Rose and Crown for dinner on a Saturday evening and there was a real buzz about the place. Staff were attentive and quickly got us menus and wine list organised in a friendly and efficient manner. The menu is limited but covered meat, fish and vegetarian and meant that everything is cooked to order. I had guinea... More 

Thank readheadMonmouth
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017

I only had one of their lunchtime sandwiches, it was amply filled and well presented, will salad leafs and the side order of fries. the staff were very polite and attentive, with a pleasant good buy as I left

Thank yattonman
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017

What more could you want - oh yes friendly locals. This pub has it all and I strongly recommend you drop in.

Thank CAD666

Travellers who viewed The Rose and Crown also viewed

Cuckfield, West Sussex
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
Horsted Keynes, Haywards Heath

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 26 - USD 52
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road, Cuckfield RH17 5BS, England (Formerly The Rose and Crown Cuckfield)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Cuckfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 414217
The Rose and Crown is a family run village pub in the heart of Cuckfield.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rose and Crown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?