We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Schooner Hotel

$$ - $$$, British,
8 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RS, England
+44 1665 830216
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good18%
  • Average19%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible33%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Indian meal we had was actually very nice however.... the plates were cold, the beer was off (my husband had to send two different beers back), and then we had a compulsory 10% service charge put on our bill. We did think it odd...More

1  Thank tumblepig
Reviewed 1 week ago

Dreadful food. Salad still wet, plate running with water, cold steak, tasteless and tough. Interior of hotel leaves a lot to be desired. Eat elsewhere.

2  Thank Mikehammer2013
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Shown to a table quickly without booking. Great selection of food from pizza to Indian dishes. Pizza was good as were most Indian dishes. One of 3 naan breads weren't fully cooked but this was put right quickly. Pasta dish was not special with a...More

1  Thank Lorna F
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I hadn't seen these other reviews when we called in and if I had, I wouldn't have gone! But we did, and I have to say we had a lovely meal. Yes the building is very tired (the conservatory area and toilets leave a lot...More

1  Thank redhead49
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We have never had such an expensive , poorly served and below standard Indian meal. This restaurant was quite busy and the only restaurant in Alnmouth available - otherwise we would have gone elsewhere. My husband's beer had to be returned as it was end...More

3  Thank Grace H
Schooner H, Guest Relations Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Grace, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our business, your comments are valued. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We work on a complaints procedure if you are not happy whilst staying or dining with us...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017

We visited this place for a drink, Oh my.. we didn't stay long.. It was terrible. I don't like to be so negative but the place was dirty, mouldy, smelly & everywhere needed gutting & a re-furb.More

4  Thank Buddens
Schooner H, Guest Relations Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our business, your comments are valued. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We work on a complaints procedure if you are not happy whilst staying or dining with us...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We visited for a takeaway from the restaurant and we were not disappointed. The food here is simply stunning and well priced. We had a group of 8 that we were feeding and got a large mixture of dishes. The staff were very friendly and...More

Thank BPR84
Schooner H, Guest Relations Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our business, your comments are valued. I'm happy to hear you had a great experience and you were satisfied. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try,...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

We called in at the Schooner hotel to see if they did any thing GLUTEN FREE and they had a few items on the menu. My meal was simple but very tasty.More

Thank Joyce S
Schooner H, Guest Relations Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our business, your comments are valued. I'm happy to hear you had a great experience and you were satisfied. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try...More

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

I could write an essay but I'll keep it simple. Absolutely disgraceful. Please read the terrible reviews!More

3  Thank Alan L
Schooner H, Guest Relations Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our business, your comments are valued. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We work on a complaints procedure if you are not happy whilst staying or dining with us...More

Reviewed 30 July 2017

My wife and I visited with our dog a thursday eveining in late July. The hotel seemed very run down and in need of some care and attention. However, the welcome was very friendly and although the restaurant did not allow dogs inside we could...More

1  Thank alan0659
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Village Tearoom Alnmouth
288 reviews
.04 km away
The Red Lion Inn
785 reviews
.13 km away
Bistro 23
389 reviews
.13 km away
Hooked Restaurant
367 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alnmouth Beach
59 reviews
.36 km away
The Old School Gallery
65 reviews
.37 km away
Alnmouth Village Golf Links
31 reviews
.09 km away
The Ferryman's Hut Museum
10 reviews
.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pen123456
4 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Happygran7491 | Reviewed this property |
We don't know about this . Check before booking. We would not recommend this place to stay.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick  >  Alnmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 830216
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing