We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lobster Shack

) #14 of 32 Restaurants in North Berwick $$ - $$$ Seafood, British,
North Berwick Harbour | The Old Pier, North Berwick, Scotland
+44 7910 620480
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“half lobster” (41 reviews)
“mussels” (35 reviews)
“salad” (28 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Scottish
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
North Berwick Harbour | The Old Pier, North Berwick, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 308 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Well you can't really get much fresher than this place. Friends had recommended it and we weren't disappointed. We sat under the sheltered area and waited because the place does sometimes have to shut for a short time to change oil and then reheat the...More

1  Thank Luthilu
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Heard about this place for an age and was not disappointment great wee menu with some serious tasty dishes we went for the half lobster n chips and have to say really enjoyed it served with a bottle of local cider it went down a...More

1  Thank Bigbearblue
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We turned up on a sunny Saturday lunchtime about 1pm looking for a light snack from The Lobster Shack. Despite the number of people milling around the harbour , surprisingly , there was no queue. We approached the counter ready to give our order only...More

3  Thank gill2112
lobstershack2, Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to review the lobster shack, we appreciate all feedback - positive and negative. We would first like to offer our sincere apologies for the service you received on your visit, we aim to please all our customers and this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the seafood chowder which was delicious, there is a covered in area to shelter you from rain & wind but doesn't seat many

1  Thank curlyheaduk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were hoping for the lobster and chips lunch however they were so busy we were told it would be half an hour before they even took any further orders (this was 2pm) after going round the bird centre we went back to see what...More

1  Thank misspickle
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good food with good views. Lobster was very well cooked and the location somehow made it taste better.

1  Thank Michael L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely idea - perfect location and classy menu. Fast efficient service. Food is a little underwhelming - good lobster - squid a bit tough with thick breadcrumby crust . Recommend as part of your seaside day out!

1  Thank ob298
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fresh juicy lobster! Really crispy, tasty chips! Perfect location on the harbour. Quite expensive at £16, I'm sure it was only £12 for a half lobster when I visited a few years ago?

1  Thank marye66
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place. location is good. We had the half lobster, which was OK but I just felt very disappointed. Faaaar too much coleslaw and garlic sauce thing which really over powers the taste of the lobster. I feel a bit ripped off in all honesty.

Thank Rsudsedin
lobstershack2, Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lobster Shack. We constantly look to deliver a high standard of service which on this occasion we have not managed to provide. Please contact us to discuss this further, Yvonne

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My parents used to take us to North Berwick on our holidays when we were little so this place holds a special place in my heart, and now as adults we love going here for days out to blow away the cobwebs! What always makes...More

1  Thank SarahLEGauld
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Osteria
476 reviews
.36 km away
Cucina Amore
387 reviews
.31 km away
Signals Bistro
269 reviews
.31 km away
Zitto
723 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Scottish Seabird Centre
705 reviews
.06 km away
Coastal Communities Museum
21 reviews
.36 km away
The Lodge Gardens North Berwick
7 reviews
.59 km away
War Memorial Garden
7 reviews
.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KatyaGal
17 July 2017|
Answer
Response from lobstershack2 | Property representative |
Sorry. No bookings as we have limited tables
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Seafood, British, Scottish
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: North Berwick Harbour | The Old Pier, North Berwick, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  East Lothian  >  North Berwick
  • Phone Number: +44 7910 620480
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing