We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wells Crab House

About
We are closed for our Winter Break from January 2nd until February 1st at 6pm. A Seafood Restaurant open for lunch 12pm-2.30pm and evening meals 6-9pm with Sundays open 12-3pm. Seasonal dishes , Local Seafood and Platters to Share. I am afraid we are not dog friendly.
PRICE RANGE
USD 4 - USD 97
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
CUISINES
Seafood, British, International
FEATURES
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,297 results
Traveller rating
966
219
78
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
966
219
78
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster lollipops dressed crab crab cakes rib platter fresh seafood prawns cockles sea bass turbot potatoes lemon sole chowder sea food platter shellfish salad bread
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,297 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked well in advance and luckily got the last table for New Year's Eve. Welcomed with a glass of fizz and complimentary oysters at the table. We had all chosen in advance from the special menu and were not disappointed, all three courses were exquisite...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank L9287PTbobb
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This has been on my “to eat at” list for ages and finally got organised to book a table. Booking is a must as the restaurant was full and turning customers away. I love lobster and had planned to have this and was so disappointed...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Halfmoonanne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to treat ourselves to a New Year's Day lunch and I'm so glad we did! I have a serious gluten allergy but I felt safe and reassured throughout the meal. We had starters, and I had a crab, (which was unexpected as they...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank eaton92
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table & really looking forward to having lobster - only to discover no lobster available. Very disappointing. Starters ok, however, mains somewhat bland & lacking flavour. Can’t say I would bother returning.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank davecA1487MK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A (fairly) spontaneous drive to the coast with the mother and booked in advance for a seafood based lunch. Very glad we chose this venue. Lovely friendly service; pre-starters (£10 for 4 different nibbles) was substantial and tasty; then 4 sizeable juicy scallops for starters...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Esteban_Gonzalez70
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are very pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your entire experience.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a "twixmas" break based in Wells and only booked a few days before. Well presented (generous portions) plates of good food. Good service from friendly front of house staff. Good atmosphere in a bright room - I like to see my food! Would visit...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank winerunner52
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I am really pleased you had a great time with us and like our new lighting x

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided on a trip to Wells after Christmas and picked Crab House for our lunch without any online reference to where we should go. What a super choice this turned out to be, the restaurant was busy but the staff attentive from the minute...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank barrynuttall
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you and I am so pleased that you had a great experience with us and you enjoyed our service- we take staff training very seriously and look forward to welcoming you back

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every time we visit Wells next the Sea we always make a point of eating in this excellent restaurant. The food is always fresh and locally sourced, the staff are attentive and this makes for a great atmosphere. Heartily recommended

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Greatcoates
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear we are an important part of your Wells Visit and love what we do x

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When we visit Wells, especially on Christmas Eve, great food can be tricky to find. Not anymore. We'd driven from Dartmoor, our daughter from Paris and Mum from just over the road. Appetisers, starters, main courses and sweets were exceptional as was the front of...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Pierreaulit
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your incredible review. We are so pleased you loved the food and our service and hope to see you again when you visit x

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a great restaurant slways a favourite when we stay at wells for the weekend Families and couples welcome Kelly and her team Make you feel so welcome Food has never disappointed great fish massive portions lovely atmosphere good service highly recommend

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Sallprice
Kelly D, Owner at Wells Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoy your visits to us x

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lalamandi0308
6 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from L9287PTbobb | Reviewed this property |
Yes
1
Vote
FOGGYNotts
20 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Kelly D | Property representative |
Sorry we do not do a takeaway service I am afraid x
0
Votes
Helen T
10 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kelly D | Property representative |
Dear Helen We do not have a car park but opposite there is a very large car park but fills up by 11am at least. There is a holkham one just down the road also Kelly
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing