We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crown & Garter

Inkpen Common, Hungerford RG17 9QR, England
+44 1488 668325
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“sirloin steak” (4 reviews)
“parfait” (2 reviews)
“wine list” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Inkpen Common, Hungerford RG17 9QR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited for Sunday lunch, bit too hot for roast dinner (although they did look great). We had fish pie and homemade burger. Dessert was excellent, chocolate fondant and white chocolate and salted caramel tart. Highly recommend the homemade walnut ice cream. Lovely setting, really good...More

Thank Richard S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looked ok on arrival but very quiet for a Sunday evening, no roasts in the evening and a limited and fairly expensive menu. Do not have wine by the glass, it is very expensive, a mistake or a rip off?More

Thank david f
Honesty G, General Manager at Crown & Garter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review, and please accept our apologies, that we did not meet your expectations. I will discuss the menu with our head chef, and we do, have wine by the glass, and is in our wine list. Thank you again...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We had just completed a good 10 mile walk through the beautiful countryside and decided to have a meal at the Crown and Garter at the end. We arrived close to the end of food service but the fantastic team found a table for 7...More

Thank Stevejohnson1975
Reviewed 14 April 2018

A friend and I visited for lunch and opted for the smoked haddock fishcakes with chilli sauce with a side of chips. We were both very disappointed, the fishcakes were really tasteless, neither of us could taste smoked haddock at all in fact so bland...More

Thank Hazeltokki
Honesty G, Public Relations Manager at Crown & Garter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Hazel, Sorry for the delay in replying and I'm sorry to hear you have had bad experiences at the Crown & Garter. I can ensure you that all our food is cooked fresh to order and nothing is reheated. Did you mention the quality...More

Reviewed 15 March 2018

If you appreciate quality food, perfectly cooked, perfectly presented and served, then look no further! the venison was perfect with a dash of delicious sauce. It tasted as good as it looked. Attentive staff who clearly enjoy working here and love to serve you their...More

Thank sas369
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights during the recent cold snap. Couldn’t fault the room in the courtyard bedroom complex. All spotless, especially the en suite with walk in shower. Super king size bed, good quality linen and pillows, tea/coffee making facilities - the flask of...More

Thank Rwwminstrel
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Thank you for a wonderful lunch. We have had tried the pub a couple of times before and it was ok not bad but just ok. This time round they have certainly found themselves and we were hugely encourage. Wonderful menu choices and fantastic quality...More

Thank yandy2016
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Came for lunch over New Year. Sadly experience was ruined by a large table in the restaurant who were allowing their noisy, screaming children to run all around the restaurant. No attempt was made but either the parents or the management to get the to...More

Thank Hazeltokki
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We are seasoned C &G visitors. We absolutely love it. It is incredibly comfortable and beautiful. There are 2 things that held me back from giving it 5 stars. The music at breakfast, which was incredibly annoying (music in hotels/restaurants should be innocuous and barely...More

Thank Cynthia D
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Had lunch at our local. Great pub and staff but food poor. A handful of mixed salad leaves, a very small amount of chicken and three walnut pieces. No dressing, no bread (even though they have their own bakery) £14.50! Hopeless

1  Thank Charles I
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Hungerford
Three Swans Hotel
136 reviews
1.68 km away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
354 reviews
1.96 km away
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
1,412 reviews
5.17 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
899 reviews
5.74 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Downgate (Hungerford) ltd
88 reviews
1.35 km away
Moonlight Indian Restaurant
79 reviews
1.55 km away
Borough Arms
16 reviews
1.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hungerford Wharf
87 reviews
1.73 km away
Kennet Horse Boat Company
74 reviews
4.30 km away
Littlecote Roman Villa
15 reviews
4.59 km away
Combe Gibbet
33 reviews
5.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crown & Garter staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 33 - USD 47
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Inkpen Common, Hungerford RG17 9QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Hungerford
  • Phone Number: +44 1488 668325
  • E-mail
Description
The Crown & Garter's newly refurbished restaurant is the place to enjoy good British cooking. The largest part of the refurbishment costs was the amount spent on the kitchen, so we hope that the investment will be reflected in the food that comes to your table through it's doors. But of course, the kitchen isn't only about new equipment and having lots of space, primarily it is about people who work in the kitchen and we have spent a great deal of time and effort finding a superb staff to cook for you. The team is led by Matthew Ambrose our Executive Chef. A local man from Marlborough, who trained at Claridges, where he came third in the British Culinary Federation Young Chef of the Year in 2011. In 2013 he achieved the highest marks for kitchen and the title of Royal Academy of Culinary Arts Young Chef of the Year 2013. He is a very talented young chef whose meals will definitely excite your palate.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;