We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17 Main Street, Swords, Ireland
+353 1 890 3855
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 13:00 - 22:00
Mon - Wed 12:00 - 22:00
Thu - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 564: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016

Staff were friendly but having ate there before & really enjoyed the food I was disappointed this time round, goats cheese starter - way too much cheese - lamb main was very small! Burger & fries was expensive for what it was & they served rather large chunky chips, not what we would call fries

Helpful?
Thank Liz365
Robert M, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Liz365, Thank you for your review. We constantly strive to offer a great service and product. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Catalin More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016

Love this restarant. Was favourite for years for the whole family, but in recent months the prices have gone up considerable and served with no sides anymore which means you have the initial price increase and an extra one for the sides this can be up to €10 per person, plus they have got rid of the kids meal (main,drink... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dermot K
Robert M, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Dermot K, Thank you for your review. We constantly strive to offer a great service and product. Kids menu is 11.95 for 3 courses. the main courses are from 7 euros and you can ask for a jug of mi-wadi free off charge. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Catalin More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016

Food was very good , would definitely go back! we were served by a very helpful waiter and service was very quick. We all had steak which just melted in our mouth. Pure carnivore heaven. We will be back :)

Helpful?
Thank brianreede
Robert M, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Brianreede, Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again. Yours sincerely, Catalin Cojocaru More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We went here last night for our 36th wedding anniversary. We arrived at 7pm and were greeted by a nice chap who said that we could sit anywhere we liked. We both orderd the chicken wings to start which were amazing. I had the pan fried chicken and chirozo and nylon husband had the steak burger. Both were delightful. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolHanley
Robert M, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Carol Hanley, Thank you for an amazing review. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful experience. The team here strive to ensure our customer's experiences are memorable for all the right reasons. It would seem on this occasion we succeeded. We all look forward to hopefully being able to welcome you back soon. Yours Sincerely, Catalin Cojocaru More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2016

Had an 8 oz steak steak in this place, which by the way costed 18 euro! you can get an excellent steak in Swords for 12 euro- ordered medium was cooked well done,waitress just made a face when i said its well done. very average quality food, would not come back there

Helpful?
Thank peter b
Robert M, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Peter B, Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry we didn't Match your expectations on your recent visit. We are fully committed to offering a great service, we will take your comments on board and use them in a constructive way. Kind regards, Catalin More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2016

Myself and boyfriend recently has a meal here. We were served by a very helpful waiter and service was very quick. We both had steak which just melted in our mouth. Pure carnivore heaven. We will be back :)

Helpful?
Thank Donna S
Robert M, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Donna S, Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read. We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here. Your feedback is very encouraging and has given us... More 

union grove, wi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

The staff was super friendly and the food was wonderful. We were looking for somewhere quiet to eat and we found it. The staff was accommodating to all of our needs. Just what we expected from Irish hospitality.

Helpful?
Thank scottc06
Robert M, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear scott06 Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we are most grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Catalin Cojocaru More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I arrived after forgetting to make a reservation, it wasn't a problem as we were seated instantly, staff were very polite, interior is immaculate and very cosy, we felt very welcome, the drink we ordered was out of stock so the waiter recommended the Erdinger draught, which was very cold and refreshing and that added to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank faddzy66
Robert M, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Faddzy66, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we are most grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Catalin Cojocaru More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Mastersons is a great restaurant with fabulous food !! The staff are helpful and very friendly. I would recommend you bring the family and head over and try it out.

Helpful?
Thank Jacinta E
Robert M, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Jacinta E, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we are most grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Catalin Cojocaru More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

Great food on a consistent basis. Also great value and warm decor. The chef had time for a chat and every time we have visited we always had a chat with the owner who makes time to visit all guests, which makes such a difference to the overall dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank 928declan
Robert M, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear 928 Declan Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read. We really do appreciate you taking the time to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here. Your feedback is very encouraging and has given us all a... More 

Travellers who viewed Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Swords, County Dublin
 
Swords, County Dublin
Swords, County Dublin
 

Been to Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Steakhouse, European, Irish, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 Main Street, Swords, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Swords
  • Phone Number: +353 1 890 3855
Description
About Masterson's ... Masterson's Steakhouse opened its doors in May 2009. After training in hotel & Catering Management, which included a stint in the famous Ballymaloe house and three years learning the ways of some of Chicago's most famous eateries, we decided the time was right to open an American Style Steakhouse. Upon Arrival we took apart the interior of the original shop, an Italian Restaurant, for refurbishment. We closed for 4 weeks and reopened on the 5th of May. The intervening Seven Years have been a fantastic adventure, a lot of our original staff are still with us, supplemented by some fantastic people who have joined our project since. All of our Steaks our 100% Irish and fully traceable farm to fork. Our salads are all sourced fresh from the farms of Rush, our vegetables also when the weather is good enough ! We have a full breakdown of nut allergies, available from chef upon request, which is also on view outside the kitchen. All of our Sauces are Gluten free, we have gluten free bread, Pasta and Pizza. We are proud to be associated with The Nutrition & Health Foundation and the Restaurants association of Ireland. The initiative is designed to enhance the range and portion size of nutritious meals available to families in the Restaurant setting. We continue to strive to be the best, to put only the best produce on your plate & to offer an experience like no other !

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?