We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17 Main Street, Swords, Ireland
+353 1 890 3855
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 13:00 - 22:00
Mon - Wed 12:00 - 22:00
Thu - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 593: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Saw that they were advertising a set menu for date night every Friday in May. Selection looked decent and throw in a carafe of wine, I'm happy. Seated straight away but we were not given the date night menu so we requested and were given it within minutes, but menus looked like they were just printed off the computer and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
Barbara S, Front Office Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

I apologise wholeheartedly for your recent experience. Thank you for the feedback and comments. I will be discussing with the kitchen and front of house Regards Mastersons More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Haven't been to Mastersons in about 7 years, and decided to bring my parents and husband on Friday for lunch. I had a bad feeling when I had to wipe crumbs off my seat before I sat down, and the menu was grubby. I got Patê starter as my lunch - it was a thin slice of patê, accompanied by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amandabolton2010
Adam K, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi Amanda Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. It's invaluable in our efforts to improve and provide the best service for our customers. Firstly, I'm very sorry to hear you had such a poor lunch experience with us. I wish I had been there at the time to put the issues right. I'm sorry you both found your... More 

Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hi myself why my husband visited. His steak meal he loved. I had the vegetarian curry very bland. He loves food I was not impressed.

Helpful?
1 Thank orlaro1979
Adam K, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi orlaro1979 Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. Very sorry to hear you found our Vegetable Balti dish unsatisfactory. We'll work hard to improve this dish. Be sure to come in again, lots of new flavours and dishes will be added to our new menu beginning next month! More 

County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Celebrated my mothers 80th with family. The food was amazing and the staff were lovely and dealt with our large group very well. It was a fantastic night all round!

Helpful?
Thank joycemfleming2014
Adam K, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi Joyce Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. Delighted to hear your party had an enjoyable time with us. Hope to see you again soon. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been eating here for years it's my partner and I's favourite restaurant. Food is alway perfect staff are brilliant and Robbie runs a great ship. The guys are so accommodating and always make me feel like I am the star attraction. Can't fault this place at all.

Helpful?
Thank Brian C
Adam K, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi Brian C Thanks for your review, we really appreciate the feedback. we're delighted to hear you had such a great experience with us. We'll see you again soon! More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very unhappy with the overall experience I found the restaurant carpet worn upon entrance the seats were unstable and where our children were seated the seat had numerous tears .Our particular menu that was given to us was badly presented and the name of the reataurant was printed upside down.Seating was cramped and the staff who may I say worked... More 

Helpful?
Thank liam k
Adam K, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi Liam K I'm extremely disappointed to hear you had such a poor experience with us recently. I can assure you, we certainly do care about the experience our customers receive. Regrettably, we haven't met with your expectations on this occasion and we're sorry. I really appreciate all the feedback you have provided and we'll work hard to improve in... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently had a meal in Mastersons and can not fault the food at all, or the staff for that matter as we received excellent service. However, on the down side, I was dissapointed with the overall cleanliness of the toilets, think a lot more effort is required in this department. Doubt the loos have ever been bleached as toilets were... More 

Helpful?
Thank hamburgler1
Adam K, Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi Hamburgler1 Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. I'm disappointed to hear that our hygiene standards didn't meet with your expectations. I can assure you, we do consider hygiene & cleanliness to be a priority in our service industry and our toilet facilities are cleaned and checked regularly throughout each day. However, we're sorry for any uncleanliness... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Masterson's have outdone themselves yet again! We booked for a large group (14 adults and 4 children) Saturday evening a few weeks ago. The food, and the service were top notch as always. Three of our party had to leave early to catch a flight and the staff were so accommodating, making sure those three diners were served first. Everyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
Barbara S, Public Relations Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

That is so great to hear. We always try to accommodate any customer requests. We are thrilled to hear your party enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere. Kind regards Masterson's Steakhouse, Swords More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had late lunch yesterday and have to say will not be back. Choice of healthy eating dishes was not good so opted for veg soup which was tasteless and steak which they overcooked. To make up for the bad steak they offered a free dessert which I had Eton mess, the waitress told me that they had no berries so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ub43
Barbara S, Public Relations Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We will discuss your review. Kind regards Masterson's Steakhouse, Swords More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food is nice, bit on the pricey side for what you get. Waiting service is terrible. I was given a bad glass of wine and had to go up to the bar myself to change as I got fed up waiting for the waiter to come back over after multiple attempts to get his attention

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire E
Barbara S, Public Relations Manager at Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar, responded to this review

I'm sorry for the slow service you received. Kind regards Masterson's Steakhouse, Swords More 

Travellers who viewed Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Swords, County Dublin
Swords, County Dublin
 

Been to Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Irish, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 Main Street, Swords, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Swords
  • Phone Number: +353 1 890 3855
Description
About Masterson's ... Masterson's Steakhouse opened its doors in May 2009. After training in hotel & Catering Management, which included a stint in the famous Ballymaloe house and three years learning the ways of some of Chicago's most famous eateries, we decided the time was right to open an American Style Steakhouse. Upon Arrival we took apart the interior of the original shop, an Italian Restaurant, for refurbishment. We closed for 4 weeks and reopened on the 5th of May. The intervening Seven Years have been a fantastic adventure, a lot of our original staff are still with us, supplemented by some fantastic people who have joined our project since. All of our Steaks our 100% Irish and fully traceable farm to fork. Our salads are all sourced fresh from the farms of Rush, our vegetables also when the weather is good enough ! We have a full breakdown of nut allergies, available from chef upon request, which is also on view outside the kitchen. All of our Sauces are Gluten free, we have gluten free bread, Pasta and Pizza. We are proud to be associated with The Nutrition & Health Foundation and the Restaurants association of Ireland. The initiative is designed to enhance the range and portion size of nutritious meals available to families in the Restaurant setting. We continue to strive to be the best, to put only the best produce on your plate & to offer an experience like no other !

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?