We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sapporo

14344 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-4071
+1 480-607-1114
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good45%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (63 reviews)
“edamame” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
14344 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-4071
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We’ve been to this place before and the food has been much better. Our teppan chef with the nervous giggle scared me honestly. He burned the rice from the get go and I questioned his ability to cook the rest of the meal. I shouldn’t...More

Thank TheVegasTrippers
MaryAnna F, General Manager at Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for letting us know of you recent experience. We strive to provide you with the best possible service and excellent food and when it fails to meet your expectations, its important for us to know. We received and responded privately to your YELP...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We picked this place for a birthday celebration. It did not disappoint. There were many dishes to pick from, rice, noodles, seafood, veggie dishes steak and more. When reserving a table you must pick between Tempenaki and regular dining. We would have liked Tempenaki but...More

Thank Kjmillerolson
MaryAnna F, General Manager at Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the kind words despite the mistakes we made in getting the correct items to you. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to having you back with us again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We held my birthday dinner at this location. I have been coming here for close to 15 years and always liked the place. The manager has been keeping this place in business all this time, nothing wrong with her but when the place is busy...More

Thank yuerg
MaryAnna F, General Manager at Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I wish I had been aware before you left as I would have loved to make this right with you. I remember speaking with you earlier in the evening and unfortunately I had left that evening while...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bad service. Waited one hour for our reserved traditional low table. At last they offered a usual table. This, after four times asking us to confirm that we had reserved a traditional table. We left. Bad management. Bar service while we were waiting was bad...More

Thank Ali P
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Ali, we hated to see you leave. When we sat you at a Traditional table, your party said they wanted TeppanYaki, we moved you to a TeppanYaki table but unfortunately that also wasn't what you wanted. We apologize for the confusion. We would love to...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Typically Sapporo is top on our list tonight no bueno. Our server was new so it could have been that. We arrived during daylight and are finally leaving now at 846pm, two hours. The dragon martini, unless you like black licorice, it's terrible. It took...More

Thank Valerie Z
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

We deeply value our relationships with our guests and strive to provide you with the best possible service and excellent food. When it fails to meet your expectations its important to know so thank you for bringing it to our attention. We are happy that...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

I would recommend this restaurant for its great sushi but average service. The restaurant is easy to find and park right off scottsdale road. The live flames at you enter and inviting atmosphere make this a great place for a date or business meeting that...More

Thank chris92009
Management response:Responded 7 September 2017

Thank you for the review. Sorry to hear the service has not been great. We strive to give you not only great food but the best service. We do hope you will be back soon. Thank you again for the review.

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Funky place with a great vibe. Service was excellent, food was good but over priced. We went for a date but it was loud and not conducive for quiet conversation. Nice Japanese chefs with great talent.

Thank aztrimom
Management response:Responded 4 September 2017

Thank you for the review. We apologize if it was too loud. Join us for Happy Hour seven days a week from 3-7pm. We do hope to have you back soon.

Reviewed 13 August 2017

As others have noted, this place is slick looking and set up very nicely (great lighting and appointments). In addition, the food was good and plentiful. The highlight of the meal was the service, especially our college-educated chef who engaged us all appropriately (customer first,...More

Thank Robert B
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017

Thank you for the review. We are so happy your experience at Sapporo was a good one. We also hope to have you back soon. Thank you again

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Sapparo is a beautiful, trendy restaurant and the atmosphere is both energetic and fun. Unfortunately, we found the food to be very mediocre. Their lemon chicken dish had decent flavor but the chicken was a little dry. The teppanyaki dish and fried rice was not...More

Thank nancynancynancy89
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

Thank you for the review. Sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your meals. There is a different taste on the Teppanyaki meals when prepared on the Hibachi tables, -however it should still be great for you. We would love to have you back....More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Arrived exactly at opening time of 3:00 pm. We were the only guests in the restaurant and were treated like royalty. I noticed management was present and was carefully going around the room checking all the set-ups, working with the waiters, etc. I really don't...More

Thank kathyhouston
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

Kathy, thank you so much for the review. We work hard to make sure your experience at Sapporo is a great one and we are thrilled to hear that our team achieved that. We appreciate your business and hope to have you back again soon....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Arrivederci Restaurant
231 reviews
.62 km away
Fresh Mint
85 reviews
.40 km away
Shake Shack
44 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kierland Commons
179 reviews
.90 km away
Scottsdale Quarter
78 reviews
.90 km away
CrackerJax Family Fun & Sports Park
108 reviews
1.57 km away
Arizona Air Time Jump Center
31 reviews
.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
artique7
24 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Denita R | Reviewed this property |
Sorry cannot help you with that 🙁
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 30 - USD 30
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Groups, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14344 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-4071
    (Scottsdale & Acoma)
  • Location: United States  >  Arizona (AZ)  >  Central Arizona  >  Scottsdale>  > Paradise Valley
  • Neighbourhood: Paradise Valley
  • Phone Number: +1 480-607-1114
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing