We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula

Lagoonview Drive | Sparrebosch, Knysna 6571, South Africa
+27 44 302 3333
Website
Save
All photos (33)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good30%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“ribeye” (2 reviews)
“onion rings” (2 reviews)
“cake” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lagoonview Drive | Sparrebosch, Knysna 6571, South Africa
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula
1. Only the best service
" Delicious food, topped with the most amazingly friendly waitress!"
life-abundance
Read review
2. Delicious comfort food
" everything really was delicious! "
Elna P
Read review
3. Breathtaking Views
"A very good restaurant with amazing views."
Arvind_Meera
Read review
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Holiday memories are made of excellent accommodation, excellent service and mouthwatering meals. The waitress, Tsungai was pleasant and provided good service. When we saw the "old favourite" bread pudding on the dessert menu at Cafe Z we thought this would bring the sunshine into a...More

Thank Isiphiwo
Conrad P, General Manager at Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Isiphiwo, Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Café z. Firstly, aIlow me to apologise for your experience not meeting and exceeding your expectations. Please rest assured that we have noted your comments and will use your valuable feedback to...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Guys don't miss visit this place while u r in knysna. Honestly, they make a good steak I tried both Ribeye and fillet and they were really delicious. I am glad that am staying here for 2 more nights so I can come here again....More

Thank Ghormallah A
Conrad P, General Manager at Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Ghormallah A, Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Café Z. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent dining experience with us. Thank you for the recommendation and...More

Reviewed 30 August 2017

Hi. Truly an excellent restaurant. Better quality than kynsna town. Menu is full of beautiful dishes. Wine list is of the highest standard. The staff were very helpful but yet non intrusive. We had a table next to a roaring log fire which made for...More

Thank Ste T
Conrad P, General Manager at Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ste T, Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at with us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the menu and wine list and proud that you received knowledgeable and friendly service. We do hope...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

The service standards and the food make for an outstanding combination at Cafe Z. The must try is the Vege Burger for a meal. The breakfast has many healthy options including, chia seeds & flax seed toppings, Juices - with beetroot , ginger etc., and...More

Thank Frankview
Conrad P, General Manager at Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Frankview, Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Café Z. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent overall dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Compliments to all staff - the hotel and Cafe Z is truly outstanding. Well worth a visit - the new pool deck is tantalizing ... Derek & BernardMore

Thank MrBirman
Conrad P, General Manager at Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear MrBirman, Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Café Z. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent overall dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Food was alright but the service was very slow and it took 3.5hours to have dinner. Not what you'd expect in this beautiful place.More

Thank Jean S
Conrad P, General Manager at Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Jean S Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Café z. Please rest assured that we have noted your comments and will use your valuable feedback to make improvements. It is only through feedback that we can continuously improve. We...More

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Completely new staff since we were here last. Sharper quicker and more diligent. Quickly addressed us by name on entry. Food was good before but overall standards have risen. Maitre d works hard and is keen to impress. Staff is good throughout the day and...More

Thank Billy B
Conrad P, General Manager at Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear Billy B, Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Café Z. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent overall dining experience with us. Thank you for the recommendation...More

Reviewed 10 January 2017

The meals were nothing special, cold and it took ages to get the food, even there were nearly no guests. The buffet was very poor and the food which should be warm, was cold. The atmosphere in the retaurant was not very pleasant.More

Thank BEH63
Conrad P, General Manager at Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear BEH63, Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Cafe Z. It is disappointing for me to know that you left with a negative impression of us and as you have explained in your post, your overall dining experience was not...More

Reviewed 11 December 2016

We had just checked in and decided to have a little snack while we were waiting for our room. We ordered the club sandwich (delicious) and the cesar salad. Unfortunately, the lettuce from the salad was literally burnt and tasted horrible. We are not sure...More

Thank vvpprr
Conrad P, General Manager at Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear vvpprr, Thank you for you valuable feedback with the regards to your experience of the meals at Café Z. Please rest assured that we take every opportunity to learn from our mistakes and will use your feedback to make improvements. We do hope that...More

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic hour and a half at the spa at Pezula and was so relaxed that we decided to try Cafe Z for lunch. But a delightful surprise! Our waitress, Clarise, was very attentive and catered to our every need. We were spoiled...More

Thank annieplett
Conrad P, General Manager at Cafe Z at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear annieplett, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for choosing to dine at Café Z. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a lovely meal after your visit to our Spa. I thank you for your feedback and assure you that...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
East Head Cafe
1,804 reviews
2.75 km away
Ile de Pain
729 reviews
4.57 km away
Sirocco
1,088 reviews
4.45 km away
Tapas and Oysters
678 reviews
4.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fisherman's Path Sparrebosch Trail
5 reviews
1.18 km away
Pezula Championship Course
116 reviews
1.51 km away
Southern Cape Tours
22 reviews
1.37 km away
Le Spa Tranquille
16 reviews
1.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SammyKim
16 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Victor C | Property representative |
Good day. Thank you for your query. We offer Knysna locals a Loyalty Card for a discount of 30% at our restaurants, Café Z and Zacharys. Front Desk or the Restaurant Manager will assist with the application form for the... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lagoonview Drive | Sparrebosch, Knysna 6571, South Africa (Formerly Cafe Z at Pezula Hotel)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Knysna
  • Phone Number: +27 44 302 3333
  • E-mail
Description
Enjoy a casual dining option at Conrad Pezula in our relaxed and stylish bistro, Café Z. Located on the lower level of the hotel, this funky venue has been designed to reflect the natural, organic flavors of the menu; the eclectic décor is warm and inviting, with bright jewel-like colors, on-trend fabrics, comfortable seating and ambient lighting.Executive Chef Geoffrey Murray says Café Z is all about delicious, freshly prepared, beautifully presented food, served in a relaxed environment. The concept was inspired by the success of Geoffrey’s Farm to the Table menus which he launched at Zachary’s in 2010.At Café Z, our menus are constantly evolving to reflect seasonal quality and availability. The food is simple and wholesome - prepared from the fresh produce grown in the resort’s vegetable and herb garden, and sourced from local producers, ensuring a mouth watering array of dishes at consistently excellent value.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing