We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cruise Cafe

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Remembrance Avenue | The Featherbed Company, Knysna 6570, South Africa
+27 44 382 1693
Website
Today
08:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 17:00
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2016

The food is OK but the management is so terrible we will not go and eat there again. We are swallows and stay in Knysna every year for 5 to 6 month since early 2000. We always make a reservation in advance but most time it is not working. The manager knows only one word SORRY

Helpful?
1 Thank hrkuhn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2016

We had Cruise Cafe's food in our room at Elephant Hide as part of their honeymoon package, so I can't comment on the restaurant itself. But I must say that the food is amazing!! Will want to visit the place in future!

Helpful?
Thank Haiko N
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2016

The cruise café is good if you just want a coffee whilst waiting for your tour boat. It overlooks the jetty where the tour boats leave for featherbed etc. We haven't eaten here, so can't comment on the food.

Helpful?
Thank Oakesy_11
Addo, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2016

We were apparently very lucky to get a table as we did not make a reservation beforehand. Friendly and efficient service made us enjoy the fabulous tempura prawns even more. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank sparafucile
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, we glad you enjoyed our fabulous tempura prawns, see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2016

Best fish and chips ever very friendly staff a busy bistro styled restaurant overlooking the beautiful harbour

Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, glad you enjoyed the fish and chip. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2016

Sat outside due to large coach party filling restaurant up. Sat outside on a warm evening, had the cheese/bacon burger with cream brûlée to finish. Prompt service and food was lovely. Nice place to dine

Helpful?
Thank Martin5192
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, we glad you enjoyed it. More 

britain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2016

Can be quiet noisey due to the high ceilings and wooden floor but food is good well cooked and tasty. Not the cheapest but good value for the quality of the food.

Helpful?
Thank ellisdi
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. More 

Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2016

Tempura and grilled prawns, Cajun calamarie, fresh fish and roasted pork are gastronomical. An excellent wine selection - reasonably priced, good value. As owners of a Guest Lodge in Knysna, we have feed back from our guests as well as this being our favourite 5* restaurant. Waitrons are highly trained but exude natural friendly service - so relaxing with lagoon... More 

Helpful?
Thank WildoneKnysna
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, glad you enjoyed it. More 

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2016

Good selection of food served quickly. Tasty food with a large choice between meats and fish. Good wines along with pleasant efficient and friendly service. My only complaint is they seem to cater for large coach type parties so service can be erratic and the place overly noisey. Food good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank djbeecroft
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, glad you enjoyed the good food and service we have to offer. More 

New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2016

We had to book 3 days in advance because they we so busy. We were given a table with a partial view. The food was good, but the waitress "Flo" was miserable because someone had upset her. The manager was very cheerful.

Helpful?
Thank Jane I
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, we glad you enjoyed the food. More 

Travellers who viewed Cruise Cafe also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Cruise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 21
Cuisine
Seafood, Grill, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 17:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Remembrance Avenue | The Featherbed Company, Knysna 6570, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Knysna
  • Phone Number: +27 44 382 1693
Description
Cruise Cafe is known for its fresh seafood and modern styled cuisine, a relaxed atmosphere with exceptional views of the Knysna Lagoon. Cruise Cafe presents diners with a soothing yet sophisticated ambiance, graced by lots of blond wood, sepia coloured alcoves and enlarged nautical photographs. Enjoy specialty coffees and classy cocktails on the lagoon deck with superb views, or sample the delightful breakfasts, healthy lunches and mouth-watering dinners from our fine selection of menu items.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cruise Cafe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Knysna, South Africa
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cruise Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?