We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cruise Cafe

Remembrance Avenue | The Featherbed Company, Knysna 6570, South Africa
+27 44 382 1693
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good44%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“tempura prawns” (28 reviews)
“laksa” (3 reviews)
“pork belly” (12 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 am - 10:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Remembrance Avenue | The Featherbed Company, Knysna 6570, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We thought we'd give Cruise Cafe another chance after all the venue is appealing. We were given a warm welcome by the maitre d . The service was good but the food disappointing . My wife was considering tempura prawns but felt they were overpriced...More

Thank Francis B
Reviewed 5 days ago

Great meals, great choice of wine, service fantastic all on a lakeside location, recommend the ' Jamaica me crazy' cocktail, you must try this place.

Thank ray_harmer
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been coming for quite a few years. Admit the ONLY dish we have ever had are the tempura prawns, which are magnificent and have never disappointed. Our appetites are not enough to handle a portion each, sharing is advisable. Always had good service, and...More

Thank dinomasters
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review!!! We truly value your ongoing support and it is always a pleasure to welcome back our regular patrons!!!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

24 September 2017- My girlfriend and I both ordered cruise burgers which were absolutely terrible. Firstly the burgers arrived with the wrong toppings on and both burgers were sent back. By the time the burgers arrived the chips were cold and the bun was like...More

Thank liambotha
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Amazing breakfast. Fantastic service. Thanks Aphiwe , Julie-Ann With a stunning view. Cool morning breeze. Watching the boats go past

Thank Richard S
The Featherbed C, Guest Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you Richard for your review. We are very pleased you had a good time and will definitely thank Aphiwe and Julie-Ann.

Reviewed 12 August 2017

I have reviewed this restaurant a few times after eating there, always enjoying the visits. All that changed when I took my wife for lunch yesterday, as we did not want a large lunch I ordered fish and chips and my wife ordered a home...More

2  Thank Pete F
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Pete We read your review with much regret and we are sorry to hear that this one experience has made you so negative to a restaurant you mention you have always enjoyed. Our reports from our manager on the day of your lunch shows...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Was very impressed with the menu. The food was tasty. Unfortunately there was no wifi. The setting is also lovely with the restaurant being right on the lagoons edge.

Thank Tamarin E
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your review, hope to see you back soon!

Reviewed 4 July 2017

Easy parking, good views, attentive service and great food. Lunch was by a warm fire and overlooking the Knysna Lagoon. The meal was excellent and washed down with fine wine.

Thank John O
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review!

Reviewed 1 July 2017

There were four of us tonight having dinner at this restaurant and three of the meals were unbelievably poor. Cold plates, cold food - yuk. Congealed thick sauce lying across the tasty pork, with cold, cooked earlier in the day vegetables sitting next to a...More

1  Thank Gma14
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

We read your review with sincere regret as the experience you have described is definitely not what Cruise Cafe is known for. The restaurant manager has confirmed though that your unhappiness was mentioned to her however the plates were all empty so neither her nor...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

From the time of making the booking to the time we left ... what an upliftment for our traumatised spirits after the fires of Knysna ..... excellent hospitality, good tasty well presented meals, fish very fresh ... catch of the day .... good selection of...More

Thank Vallerie M
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you Vallerie for you review! It has certainly been a tough time for all of us in Knysna. We are just happy that you enjoyed your Father's Day with us! Hope to see you back soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Anchorage Restaurant
735 reviews
.48 km away
Le Maquis
364 reviews
.54 km away
Cafe Mario
994 reviews
.49 km away
Chatters Bistro
554 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Knysna Lagoon
519 reviews
.81 km away
Featherbed Nature Reserve
939 reviews
.04 km away
Shuttle Travel and Events
12 reviews
.39 km away
Jandreart Studio
44 reviews
1.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
naerts3
14 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from suyenneb | Reviewed this property |
it's a sit down restaurant with an amazing view
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Remembrance Avenue | The Featherbed Company, Knysna 6570, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Knysna
  • Phone Number: +27 44 382 1693
  • E-mail
Description
Cruise Cafe is known for its fresh seafood and modern styled cuisine, a relaxed atmosphere with exceptional views of the Knysna Lagoon. Cruise Cafe presents diners with a soothing yet sophisticated ambiance, graced by lots of blond wood, sepia coloured alcoves and enlarged nautical photographs. Enjoy specialty coffees and classy cocktails on the lagoon deck with superb views, or sample the delightful breakfasts, healthy lunches and mouth-watering dinners from our fine selection of menu items.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing