We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

La Pentola

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
87 Marine Drive | Shop no 4, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 313 1685
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

899 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 750: English reviews
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

I really do. But Trip Advisor is here for us to give honest accounts of our experiences. We stopped at La Pentola as it was peak holiday season and the other restaurants around were choc full, whilst La Pentola seemed to have space. Waiting a long time for service is a normal part of eating out in SA, so it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank flyingflame
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

My staff are not in the habit of ignoring guests.Just perhaps they did not see you.I am glad to hear you enjoyed your food.But I do take offence from your statement "Waiting a long time for service is a normal part of eating out in SA, Believe it or not we are South Africans not cavemen.Thank you for your "Honest... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

This December was our first time at La Pentola and we had a wonderful evening. Although there are two dinner service and one can feel a bit rushed, guests are forewarned. The service was excellent. We had a young man look after our table and he was very pleasant and courteous. The food was very good and the dessert was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Domi H
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your Awesome review! More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

A friend and I met here for lunch. The setting is great and the service friendly and the food was great!

Helpful?
Thank Elzette D
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ,come back with more friends..... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

The food was excellent and beautifully presented. The service was great and personal. Our wait person was Falcon who did a fantastic job. The chef/proprietor was very attentive and catered for my multiple food allergies needs without any trouble. Highly recommend La Pentola, it's the best place to eat in Hermanus.

Helpful?
Thank S3haron
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review .We would love to cook for you again! More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

Fusion sometimes means taking good ingredients and messing them about. Had grilled fish which had a thick seafood sauce which spoiled the fish.

Helpful?
2 Thank LambertCheshire
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

My advice to you is don't blame fusion for making the wrong choice of food.Imn other words if you personally don't like something don't order it! More 

Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

My first La Pentola experiences goes back 10+ years with La Pentola Pretoria. From back then I was stunned with whatever Chef Shane's plated, nowdays I visited the Hermanus sister restaurant more often I never does the team at La Pentola fail to impress! Our recent dining experienced again lived up (and over delivered) to what we came accustomed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 533johannf
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.I really love to hear that you appreciate what we do.You rock! More 

Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Went for a day visit to Hermanus, this restaurant is upstairs on top of a bakery. Lovely venue with nice views. The food was good, I had the chicken and mushroom pie, but preferred my husband's steak. My daughter lovely the kiddies spaghetti. Nice cocktails. All in all a nice lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Guy_100
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

I also love drinking cocktails & starring out at the sea.Come back soon! More 

George, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016

First time visit to La Pentola and not the last. We had dinner tappas style and the food was superb. We were 25 - everything was done to perfection. Thank you to chef Shane and staff - we had a fantastic evening and setting was awesome.

Helpful?
Thank rejeannes2016
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Thank you for celebrating with us! More 

clitheroe
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I visited yesterday. (Christmas Day). The food was ok. It wasn't the best I have had but neither was it the worst. I was expecting it to be superb so maybe I set my expectations a bit too high. The service however was pretty shocking! We were asked by 4 different people if we would like to... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnson9
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

You have unconsciously answered your own Question.YES!! other tables did receive more attention than you did because you brought your own wine & drank tap water.Hence you did require less service it is obvious .Whilst you were suffering in silence pouring your own wine( that you brought with you which meant you could literally walk into the venue and immediately... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

On our first night in Hermanus, my wife and I went to Pentola after having read various articles that designated it as a gastronomic destination in town Upon entering the restaurant, the decor certainly did not live up to that expectation. The menu was creative and looked promising. Our waitress was generally disinterested and needed a bit of prodding to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie R
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review

Quite frankly your review would have carried some weight if only you not decided to insult all the restaurants in Hermanus. We are a tight knit community of restaurateurs ,chefs ,waiters ,barman ect. who work extremely hard often under very difficult circumstances to please pom-pass patrons such as yourself.Speaking strictly for myself I would much rather cater to people who... More 

Travellers who viewed La Pentola also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to La Pentola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 2 - USD 16
Cuisine
International, Seafood, Mediterranean, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:30
Thursday
10:00 - 22:30
Friday
10:00 - 22:30
Saturday
10:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 87 Marine Drive | Shop no 4, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 313 1685
Description
La Pentola established in 1995 has a breath taking panoramic view of Walker Bay, the birthing ground of Southern Right Whales. The perfect venue for executive chef/owner Shane Sauvage's authentic fusion cuisine. All food is prepared to order, using only the very best quality ingredients, real butter, fresh cream and fresh herbs.Yes absolutely no MSG! The menu by internationally renowned executive Chef/ Patron & award winning author Shane Sauvage,comprises of a large variety of fresh seafood & Abalone, free range cuts of beef (KWV Fillet, Tender T-Bone, exotic game dishes, a great selection of vegetarian fare (Aztec Mushrooms) and a decadent selection of in-house deserts (Chocolate Terrine). La Pentola offers a Diamond award wine list with a large variety of local and international wines. We are an A la Carte restaurant that also caters for corporate functions, intimate weddings and special occasions. Open Monday to Sunday Lunch & Dinner.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Pentola and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Windhoek
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from La Pentola staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?