We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pigalle Restaurant

57A Somerset Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 421 4343
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good22%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (122 reviews)
“scallops” (38 reviews)
“sea food” (16 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
57A Somerset Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here on a Saturday evening. The food was brilliant. The restaurant specialises in shell fish. To get a flavour of the variety on offer we had the sharing platter which was fantastic! The wine also was completely delicious and it was great having...More

Thank Peter R
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Peter R What a great review! This is a true reflection of our Pigalle mission statement. Hope to be able to welcome you back to Pigalle in the near future. Kind regards Pigalle Management Team

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Well the evening started off with some drinks in their cozy cigar lounge. Very comfy after a hard day’s work and we were ready to celebrate my boyfriend’s birthday in style! When we were ready they escorted us to our table. Comfortable chairs and great...More

Thank Sally M
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sally M We are grateful to have been part of your important celebration party. You are correct in your statement that we are perfect for larger and smaller celebratory functions. We strive for perfection in order to ensure our guests only receives the best!...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Thanks for a great evening, everything vent on so perfeck. The food was fanatic, and the service was on the top too. ( Valentine) the first nigth and, cant remember the name on the guy the next evening. But they both did an exlentent job....More

Thank Gitte L
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Gitte L Superb service is what we strive for. We are so thankful that you have had such a positive experience and decided to return and once again experience similar great food, music and service. We do provide feedback to our management and staff...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This place was amazing! For Australians who can not buy a fresh lobster from a local fisherman less than the price of Pigalle's Lobster Thermidore! Their Oysters were sizeable and fresh. The Lobster was a dream and the Langoustines (prawns but sweeter) were fantastic. On...More

Thank Sompinspesh
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sompinspesh Thank you kindly for your stunning feedback. It is great to have a [passionate owner like Victor to be around and inspire both guests and managers. This is why Pigalle is so successful. We all hope to have you return to our stunning...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Victor has done a grwat spot over the years here. I love coming back & back for Spoils. Standards never drop. I am always blown away with the service, food & ambience 👌👌👌

Thank Danita A
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Danita A 5 Stars for your 5 star rating. That is exactly what we strive for, for al our patrons. We are all looking forward to serve you on your return Kind regards Pigalle Restaurant Management Team

Reviewed 7 October 2017

We did a tour dinner at this restaurant so had a set menu. Meals were reasonable in price and quality. Plenty of people here with lots of locals so it seems popular.More

Thank johnshelleyb
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear johnshellyb Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We strive for perfection and both locals and travellers enjoy our décor, service, ambiance and great food. Be blessed, travel safe and we would love to have you back as loyal travellers as...More

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended to us - but unfortunately children are not allowed. We mailed them and they gave us they possibility to visit them with kids for lunch Great experience!More

Thank Farmorellis
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Farmorellis Thank you kindly for your review. Due to the live entertainment and being a dinner dance venue we have to uphold a restriction of 2-14. We do however accommodate all guests during lunch time that runs between 12 noon and 14h30. We hope...More

Reviewed 6 October 2017

We went here on a recommendation from some other visitors to Cape Town. It is a nice place for a meal as it has a live band performing in the restaurant and we found this to be just perfect - not too loud for your...More

Thank Emma S
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Emma S Great review! Where there is a will there is a way! We are celebrating our 15th year of existence and are here to stay! As a matter of fact, at the end of October we are entering our sweet 16th year. Next...More

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Went to Pigalle for our anniversary dinner. Seafood was truly outstanding and service was excellent. Really spot on.More

Thank TravelGuide33
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TravelGuide33 Glad we could be of great service and part of your celebrations. We offer Small and Large group set menus for groups of 15 -350 guests. Exclusive usage of our venue is also allowed. Be in contact with our events coordinator whom will...More

Reviewed 1 October 2017

I have been to this restaurant on two occasions and everyone was very pleased. The ambiance and decor are very tasteful and smart. Service and food of the best standard in Cape Town. I can recommend Pigalle to anyone who enjoys upmarket restaurants.More

Thank aminab545
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear aminab545 Thank you for your kind words. Daily training, management planning and execution together with an owner that is on the floor and hands on is some reasons for making your lunch and dinner an experience. Your review keeps us motivated to perform at...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gold Restaurant
1,310 reviews
.23 km away
Il Leone Mastrantonio
632 reviews
.25 km away
Beluga
2,055 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shimansky Jewellers Rockwell
6 reviews
.34 km away
Two Oceans Aquarium
4,047 reviews
.58 km away
Noon Day Gun
130 reviews
.53 km away
Cape Quarter Mall
63 reviews
.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Robin888
30 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Pigallecapetown | Property representative |
Hello Robin, We request all international travellers to pay a R250 per person deposit to secure a booking. This was after we experienced a large number of 'no shows' without cancellations often related to the hotels... More
0
Votes
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from Bruce M | Reviewed this property |
Sorry about the late response. I just saw your question. I'd say nice casual should be fine. My wife wore a skirt and blouse and I had slacks and a casual shirt. No shorts or t shirts though. Some diners wore coat and tie... More
1
Vote
Deh085
8 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Pigallecapetown | Property representative |
Hi, We have live music every night from a Monday to a Saturday. Regards Management
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 57A Somerset Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 421 4343
  • E-mail
Description
Well-known as the perfect venue for a stylish evening out, we offer guests live entertainment from our dance floor alongside superb dinner courses. Renowned for our fresh seafood and Chalmar steak, our menu comprises of classic dishes with a subtle Portuguese flair. Including a spacious cigar lounge and private dining room our venue is versatile as well as suitable for private functions.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing