We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
V&A waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 418 2212
Website
Today
08:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 18:00
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
West Sussex
Level Contributor
764 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Tribakery is just that, a bakery that serves simple food and drink and does so with enthusiasm and friendliness. We were here for the Robben Island ferry which was cancelled at the last minute, so we sat here and re-planned our day. Clean and tidy and inexpensive.

Helpful?
Thank Skippy50
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

The burger was perfect and the waiting staff were friendly and eager to please. The outside sitting was airy and perfect for the scorching summer heat. I'll be taking friends there next time!

Helpful?
Thank kkefale
Brufut-Gambia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick snack. Meal was really good and prices fair. Slightly away from the main crowded harbour area so no long queues and quick service.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We ate breakfast here before going on the Robben Island cruise as it is right next to each other. Although there aren't bathrooms, it is a short walk away. The selection and quality was good enough to convince us to have lunch there after the tour. Try the prawn and avocado burger, as well as the while and dark hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joeboy69
Woking
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2016

We arrived here later in the day. The place was very empty but we were welcomed in and found a table. It soon became apparent that the resturant was in the process of closing up for the day however we were not rushed at all and we were able to enjoy a good meal and good service. It would have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison C
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Conveniently located to grab a quick breakfast in house or to take away, prior to early robben island trip! Service was very quick which made it possible to eat breakfast in before catching the boat. There are pastries and cooked breakfast, teas and coffees and fruit juices. Plenty of choice for everyone and very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Sla40
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

We celebrated our son's 21st birthday here with friends, but we regularly visit for coffee when we pass by in our daily routine. This restaurant is conveniently situated right next to the Nelson Mandela gateway to Robben Island. If you love fine food and aromatic coffee, this is it. I salute their barista every time. A kid's playground adjacent to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elo Q
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

This place has a pleasant location, but do not be fooled by the name. They had limited muffins, no scones and only one croissant and this was at 12.30 in the afternoon. I think they rely on location rather than service and good food to attract customers.

Helpful?
Thank PierreDorf
Tribakery team t, Public Relations Manager at Tribakery, responded to this review

Dear PierreDorf , Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us on TripAdvisor . We are a restaurant and not a bakery , we are rebranding as the name is deceiving .Unfortunately some mornings our croissant etc sells out quickly to do regulars and people catching the Robben Island boat .It is unpredictable how many people will come in... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016

getting off the ferry from Robben Island this is the first restaurant you will see with full outdoor seating and a burger lunch special.

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Tribakery team t, General Manager at Tribakery, responded to this review

Dear Richard F , Thank you very much for stopping by at our restaurant . We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards ilkay More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016

We were drawn to this place because of their name hoping for some "bakery". Unfortunately, we ordered our cappuccinos first before we inquired about dessert. They walked us over to a glass display case which contained a handful of muffins in sealed plastic - the kind you might find in a vending machine. That's not exactly what we were expecting.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MidwestAlpinist
Tribakery team t, Public Relations Manager at Tribakery, responded to this review

Dear MidwestAlpinist , Thank you for your time to review us here on TripAdvisor , We are sorry to hear that it was a disappointing experience for you .We are glad you enjoyed the cappuccinos . We are a restaurant and not a bakery , we are rebranding as the name is deceiving however we will have a small dessert... More 

Travellers who viewed Tribakery also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Tribakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
International, Cafe
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 18:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: V&A waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 2212

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tribakery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?