We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Karoo Cattle and Land

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Corner Nellmapius and | Irene Village Mall, Centurion 0157, South Africa
+27 12 662 1111
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:30 - 21:30
Mon 11:00 - 22:00
Tue - Fri 09:00 - 22:00
Sat 08:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic really good food and really very quick service. Loved it! Thanks for this making our V-day meal really tasty and efficient 😊

Helpful?
Thank L485GIelizabethb
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this kind review, and we are delighted that your Valentine's Day was special at Karoo Irene! Your feedback keeps us inspired to offer the very best of food, service, ambience and personal attention and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed dinner with my wife and daughter. Felista's (waitress) service was good. Girls had Karoo lamb shank - highly recommended! I had my usual fare: pork belly with mash. Unfortunately over-cooked and dry inside, but always a winner. Good value for money and a super vibe on the fountain square.

Helpful?
Thank AndreCoetzee3
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Hello Andre and thank you for your kind review! I'm so sorry about the pork belly and will be following up on this right away! I'm glad however that you enjoyed the experience once again and appreciate he feedback. Best wishes More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a late lunch and was seated upstairs close to the salad bar. The food was really delicious (pork belly and steak for my husband) but the personnel were really, really noisy. They had loud conversations laughing and chatting and that was really not nice. When you go to a restaurant and pay R500 for lunch for 2 people,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stellie-Bell
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

I am so so sorry about this! I can completely understand your annoyance and frustration! Sometimes, at the quieter times of day, the staff, with little to do, chat and don't realise the volume of sound they create, but a manager should have picked this up and dealt with it. Could I ask you to tell me which date and... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

We had kangaroo burgers and it was quite delicious, mainly with a local beer. A friend form Texas had a steak and a South African red wine, and he said it was comparable to Texas meat, so you have a reference from a Texas meat lover. The location is nice, near the entrance of the Irene mall, you can´t miss... More 

Helpful?
Thank lanj0s
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Hello sir and thank you for your kind feedback! Good to know we have a Texan stamp of approval as well! Thanks again and hope to see you back again sometime! More 

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Out for a family meal my children all enjoyed their food. My wife and eldest daughter enjoyed their food very much, but the service was really poor. Everything took forever and our waitress was never to be found. This is the fourth time we've been here in about five years and we have always left feeling disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Miles_Bowker
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Hello sir I'm really disappointed to read your review about poor service. There's really no excuse for this as we have more than adequate staff on duty to cover service properly, and a manager should have been to your table when you could have alerted him to your concerns. I apologise for this and hope that, despite your previous experiences,... More 

Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
220 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016

We have been eating here more than once. It is ok but food not always the same. At least they try and improve service if you are not happy. The fresh salad bar is free when ordering a main course. Be selective on what you order. Very nice for families with kids as they can play outside in the water.

Helpful?
Thank Eeyore707
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I'm sorry you seem to have been disappointed but happy that we tried to make it better, and hope to see you back again soon! More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

The perfect eatery for meat lovers. Wide selection of dishes to suits most palates. Great selection of wines too. A must-visit for anybody looking for a real meat treat.

Helpful?
Thank PraveenDwarika
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Hello sir and thank you for this lovely review, it is really much appreciated! This inspires us to maintain the highest standards of food, service, ambience and personal attention and we look forward to welcoming you back! More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

Nice scenery, good place to relax and to enjoy a good (but rather expensive) piece of the real and famous Karoo chops! Staff and service OK, not special

Helpful?
Thank NeelsNel
Rod W, Manager at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Hello sir and thank you for your kind review! I hope you will be back for more and that next time our service will be at the high standard we always strive for! More 

Torun, Poland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

It looks nice, but the burger I ordered was not good. 80 rands, so not too cheap, but bun was stale and hard and meat also not too well done.

Helpful?
Thank TheRzezbiarz
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with this feedback and I'm sorry your meal was not up to expectations. One of my managers should have offered to provide an alternative and I apologise if this was not the case, but hope you will return and give us another opportunity to redeem our reputation some time in the future. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016

This were the best ever steak that we had. We ordered 4 meals and all 4 were VERY good. The staff are so friendly and helpful and know the menus very well. The Fillet were the best..... The wine we wanted to order were out of stock and the replacement for that wine were not good at all, but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hester741
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this Hester! Sorry about the wine, it's rare for us not to have everything in stock, but I'm delighted that you otherwise enjoyed your meal and service from the team. Hope to see you for your next celebration! More 

Travellers who viewed Karoo Cattle and Land also viewed

 
 

Been to Karoo Cattle and Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 16
Cuisine
Steakhouse, African, Grill, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 21:30
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner Nellmapius and | Irene Village Mall, Centurion 0157, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Centurion
  • Phone Number: +27 12 662 1111
Description
It looks like a steakhouse. Mmmm, it smells like a steakhouse. And it certainly tastes like a steakhouse. But Karoo Cattle & Land is more than just a steakhouse. It's a top steak-based restaurant. And a South African one at that, featuring traditional SA fare like bobotie and boerewors, as well as steaks cut from the very best South African beef. Although famous for its red meat and ribs, KC&L's menu caters for all tastes and includes a sumptuous selection of the freshest SA fish and poultry, a choice of vegetarian dishes and free salads. For the health-conscious, there's even ostrich.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Karoo Cattle and Land staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?