We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Run Restaurant

20 Maude Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
+27 11 884 1400
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (209 reviews)
“creamed spinach” (16 reviews)
“ribs” (20 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, International, Grill, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20 Maude Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

I've eaten a few times at the Bull Run and have always enjoyed the meals, the staff also generally have been friendly and helpful. If you enjoy your steaks then you won't be disappointed although there are other options, I always get drawn into the...More

Thank Marco R
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear 'MarcoR' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Meals are always wonderful. The selection is wide and the quality is great. The wine list is good so loads of options to pair with meals. The only challenge is related to the construction taking place which makes parking a nightmare.

Thank AddieSA
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear 'AddieSA' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Walked in and greeted by friendly staff. Sat at the bar whilst waiting for associate and inter acted with barmen. Great attitude. Moved to table once we were ready and proceeded to order mains and onion rings for the table. Partner had a burger which...More

Thank Robin F
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

ago Dear 'Robin F' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your meal. Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening? Please...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We had lunch here, and probably not the restaurants fault, but we ended up with 3 platters of sasuage rolls, deep fried prawns, deep fried chicken, deep fried spring rolls and 3 individual salads serving 20 people. It tasted old and oily and just not...More

Thank plouwrens
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

I've eaten steaks in some of the finest steakhouses in the UK and the filet mignon I had here would easily compare are top them! The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the restaurant was comfortable and clean. I would seriously recommend this place, it...More

Thank christopherjhunt18
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear 'christopherjhunt18' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The Bull run is an excellent restaurant only 5 mins walk from Nelson Mandela square. Well worth a visit for excellent food and a large wine selection. Staff informative and friendly.

Thank fitterno1
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear 'fitterno1' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 24 July 2017

The Bull Run has been around for a very long time. The service is always good, the quality of the food is always superb and you can be assured that if you are taking clients or overseas visitors, they will be pleased. We work often...More

Thank mybeautifulworld2017
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear 'mybeautifulworld2017' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Went here for dinner on a Friday evening. No reservations were needed and it was not busy. Food was good. I had a steak with prawns and a salad with calamari. The service was good and quick. The only 'bad' thing was that my fries...More

Thank Jufinhk
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear 'Jufinhk' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your meal. Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening? Please feel free...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant several times in the past but this time we were disappointed for several reasons but still went there two nights in a row because the food and service is good. The extensive building taking place in the vicinity spoils the...More

Thank Peter H
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear 'Peter H' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your meal. Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening? Please feel...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We only had the one night at the hotel next door. After looking at a few reviews in the area it became clear that this was the place to be. We had two entrees along with two fillet steaks and a good bottle of red...More

Thank An_Em25
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear 'An_Em25' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Butcher Shop & Grill
2,649 reviews
.53 km away
Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg
841 reviews
.53 km away
Pigalle Sandton
273 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nelson Mandela Square
2,110 reviews
.54 km away
Sandton Convention Centre
274 reviews
.26 km away
Sandton City
83 reviews
1.00 km away
Sandton Taxi Cabs (Pty) Ltd (Johannesburg Shuttle Services), South Africa
34 reviews
1.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bull Run Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 15 - USD 30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Maude Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: +27 11 884 1400
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing