We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grillhouse Rosebank

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
C/O Oxford Road & Bierman Avenu | Shop 1, The Firs / Hyatt Shopping Centre, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
+27 11 880 3945
Website
Today
18:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 18:30 - 21:30
Mon - Wed 18:30 - 22:00
Thu - Sat 18:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,249: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

If you are a steak connoisseur and not been at this restaurant that ensures fine dining combined with great cuisine, you are missing out! The restaurant is deffininately on my top 5 list. Currently have friends from Scotland visiting and we have returned to The Grillhluse twice already without being disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Helmut V
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

We love your review. Thank you very much. The Grillhouse Rosebank 22 Years of Reminding You Why You Work So Hard! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We love this place and come here for all special occasions. The food is delicious and they have the best mushroom sauce! Professional, friendly and warm waiters.

Helpful?
Thank Anne549
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued support and your great review. We hope to see you back again soon. The Grillhouse Rosebank 22 Years of Reminding You Why You Work so Hard! More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I went back to this restaurant after many years. What a fantastic atmosphere. The restaurant was full and we were allocated a table outside unfortunately. We did go to the bar for pre drinks so saw the inside. This restaurant specialises in steaks and scotch!(see the pic). Clearly a place where wealthy businessmen hangout (like me). My rump on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate it. It is always advisable to book ahead of time to ensure that you get the best seat possible. We hope to see you back again soon :) The Grillhouse Rosebank 22 Years of Reminding You Why You Work so Hard! More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I visited the Grillhouse yesterday, and enjoyed a brilliant springbok steak, spiced with cracked pepper and grilled to medium rare perfection. This restaurant is fairly pricey, but perfection is not cheap! Extensive winelist and expert staff. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Anton B
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and your recommendation. We appreciate your support. The Grillhouse Rosebank 22 Years of Reminding You Why You Work so Hard! More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We went here for the steaks and the BBQ chicken. It was cooked to perfection and the chicken was very tasty. However, although the steak was very skillfully cooked, it was significantly lacking in flavour. That's not the chef's fault, it's just that South African beef is much more bland than Irish beef. That's just a consequence of the climate... More 

Helpful?
Thank jayaims
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We hope you had a lovely stay in SA, and hope to see you back again soon. The Grillhouse Rosebank 22 Years of Reminding You Why You Work so Hard! More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We went here on our only night in Joburg out of a travel guide recommendation. Food was average. We had steaks which were tasteless and not cooked to demand. Service was good and place has a good ambiance. It was hard to find as it is inside a small shopping plaza but no visible signs outside.

Helpful?
Thank Jaapoika
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal. I do hope you told the manager on duty that your steaks were not as requested. We do hope you visit us again. Enjoy your travels :) The Grillhouse Rosebank 22 Years of Reminding You Why You Work so Hard! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My family took me here for my birthday dinner last year and the food was of high quality but there were not enough options for the children which was a bit disappointing for the younger members of the family. I still enjoyed my 3-course meal.

Helpful?
Thank Phakama M
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. Looking forward to seeing you back again soon. The Grillhouse Rosebank 22 Years of Reminding You Why You Work so Hard! More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The best steak that I have ever tasted. We had a family gathering and the restaurant was busy but the food standard was excellent. Amazing thank you

Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

We love your amazing review. Thank you very much. Its great to hear you had a great dining experience with us. The Grillhouse Rosebank 22 Years of Reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Level Contributor
287 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately the waiter was a bad start, he suffered from severe body odor ! One could hardly understand him when he spoke! The food was ok but nothing spectacular. Won't be going back!

Helpful?
Thank Joy M
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Oh dear! We are so sorry to hear this. Its very difficult to fix this type of problem after the fact. We do hope you reported the issue to the manager of duty. Hopefully, we will see you back again to give us another chance. The Grillhouse Rosebank 22 Years of Reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you're a carnivore like me, choose the fillet on the bone. You won't be sorry. The best steakhouse in Jozi

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your awesome review. We love it. The Grillhouse Rosebank 22 Years of Reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Travellers who viewed The Grillhouse Rosebank also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Grillhouse Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Grill, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
18:30 - 21:30
Monday
18:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
18:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
18:30 - 22:00
Thursday
18:30 - 22:30
Friday
18:30 - 22:30
Saturday
18:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: C/O Oxford Road & Bierman Avenu | Shop 1, The Firs / Hyatt Shopping Centre, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 880 3945
Description
Welcome to The Grillhouse, Johannesburg's most loved and well established premium steakhouse. Established in 1995, The Grillhouse offers the perfect quadfecta in dining - great food, a huge selection of fine wines and malts, stellar service and an upmarket yet warm and hospitable atmosphere. Please check our Facebook page for details of opening and closing times during the festive season and other holiday. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Grillhouse Rosebank and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
10 months ago
swansea
11 months ago
Johannesburg, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Grillhouse Rosebank staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?