We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SeaFood at The Plettenberg

40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 533 2030
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (30 reviews)
“duck” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly
40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Service was very kind and professional, specially Syia! The food is really special, with emphasis to seafood! Great atmosphere facing the infinite pool and the ocean!More

Thank CaioDamore
Management response:

Dear Caio Mello M Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your experience in Seafood. It is a lovely menu and the food is made with passion. Siya is very grateful for your feedback. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Service was outstanding and we were meeting with a friendly smile. However the food was average, didn't meet the price point. Well cooked but too much going on on the plate. Cheese soufflés covered in more liquid cheese, springbok with dry roasted tomatoes and chocolate...More

Thank FreddieSingapore
Management response:

Dear FreddieSingapore Thank you for your feedback. I will address the above mentioned feedback with our Executive Chef. Thank you for sharing this. We will now focus on correcting this. It is important to us that you have the best experience and leave with good...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On this occasion we didn't eat dinner - we have found that their menu isn't very appealing at the moment and it must be one of the most expensive restaurants in Plett - but we often go there for their wonderful cocktails.More

Thank David M
Management response:

Dear David M Thank you for writing a review for us. I am very disappointed to read that you did not find our menu to your liking. We really want all our locals and the public in general to enjoy this lovely restaurant. I would...More

Reviewed 3 April 2017

Had the high tea with my wife for our anniversary morning at 10 AM - WOW! For the price you pay the definitely over deliver with great quality and variety food. You do get coffee and tea (included) but this is more the kind of...More

Thank ChristoPieterse
Management response:

Dear ChristoPieterse Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for choosing us to be part of your special day. Our afternoon tea is a great offering. It looks fantastic and from your feedback...More

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Staff just so attentive friendly without being overbearing Surroundings exceptional with an amazing view of the bay Food was excellent I had the Mossel Bay sole which was delicious Standards best so far of the visitMore

Thank Rajan M
Management response:

Dear Rajan M Thank you for your review of your experience at Seafood. The restaurant has the best views in Plettenberg Bay. It is spectacular. My team is very enthusiastic and the guest satisfaction is important to them. Thank you for your lovely words about...More

Reviewed 15 March 2017

We had fish soup, twice baked cheese souffle, king prawns and mussels. All were exellently cooked! Would definatley recommend this restaurant attached to the hotel.More

Thank Catmoo
Management response:

Dear Catmoo Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. You had all my personal favourites and definitely our best sellers. I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us. I hope to welcome you back to us. Kind regards MJ,...More

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

We were staying in the hotel and ate here twice. The first evening we'd just arrived and didn't want anything too heavy and most of us had fish which was delicious. However we decided to eat there again and much to our disappointment the choices...More

Thank Stephanie S
Management response:

Dear Stephanie S Thank you for writing a review for us. All guest feedback are important to us. It identifies the areas where we can improve and that is what we take out of it. I am delighted to share with you that we have...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Just a little disappointed with my Fish and Chips, one piece was fine the other very small and thicker batter than the larger piece. Have had better elsewhere. The salad starter was very nice and excellently dressed. Service was fine but a little slow with...More

Thank 450kate
Antelize, Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this review

Dear 450kate, Thank you for taking time to write a review on your experience. Our fish & chips is always very popular and enjoyed by everyone. We have discussed your comments with our chefs. We strive to always serve excellent food with top service. We...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017

What a wonderful setting for our Valentines dinner. Views to behold for! Personnel very friendly, in fact so friendly that they become "pushy!" In the first 5 minutes at our table before our bottle of wine was opened a waitron came 3 times to enquire...More

Thank Otto J
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We decided to have a lunch at short notice on January 5th A few places we called were full We tried The Plettenberg Hotel Seafood at The Plettenberg was "empty" Whilst the service was good The food was really poor The fish was terrible in...More

1  Thank graham e
Antelize, Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this review

Dear Graham E, Thank you for writing a second review on your experience with us. We have discussed all points raised with our chef. We value all feedback and strive to always produce excellent food with top service. We hope to welcome you back soon....More

Nearby Restaurants
The Table Restaurant and Bar
561 reviews
.56 km away
Lookout Deck
1,515 reviews
.22 km away
The Lemon Grass
625 reviews
.45 km away
189 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Robberg Nature Reserve
1,485 reviews
.55 km away
Secrets of Knysna Forest
6 reviews
.52 km away
Newstead Wines Restaurant
52 reviews
.58 km away
Plettenberg Beach
135 reviews
.69 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from SeaFood at The Plettenberg staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 20 - USD 32
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Highchairs Available
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa (Formerly Sand)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 533 2030
  • E-mail
SeaFood at The Plettenberg combines an array of elements to create an unsurpassed dining experience. The sand, beach and sea have been brought into the restaurant in the colours, mood and design. Unrivalled views of the breath-taking Formosa Bay are complimented by the decor, and together they create the perfect platform for the SeaFood cuisine. Here the chefs create modern South African fare that is seasonally influenced. The menu - designed by The Collection's award-winning Executive Chef Peter Tempelhoff and his team - places great emphasis on fresh produce from local green-friendly suppliers and this gives SeaFood at The Plettenberg the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the bay.