We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rancho La Cascada

) #98 of 114 Restaurants in La Fortuna de San Carlos $$ - $$$ Caribbean, , American
| Beside the park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
+506 2479 8790
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good30%
  • Average16%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible16%
2 May 2017
“Early supper was quite good.”
1 week ago
“Dinner for 17”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Caribbean, Central American, American, Costa Rican
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Beside the park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were with a travel group of 17 high school students. Service was great. They were very welcoming to our large group. Ask for Manuel. Food was reasonably priced and very good. American bar food. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Thank Nancy M
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We had just come back to La Fortuna from our trip to the Butterfly Conservatory, which was great, BTW. Anywho, Rancho was fine. We ate at what is considered early in La Fortuna, 6:15 p.m., had two very good steaks, with excellent plain rice and...More

Thank Tony B
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Great food for lunch and very empty. We loved it! I had the shrimp with rice, it was incredible tasting!

Thank Eli D
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

The waiter was nice. That's the one and only positive thing about this place. However, he didn't bring the right drinks, we ordered a vegetarian hamburguer cuz the waiter said it had a cassava patty, and when he brought it, there had no patty at...More

Thank Hector S
Antonia C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear Customer. We regret that your visit was not to your liking. We sincerely apologize. Your comment is very important to help us improve. We are working hard on remodeling the place and hiring the best staff to provide our clients with the best you...More

Reviewed 29 August 2016

Went there for dinner one night and we were very disappointed. The beef was ordered medium rare and came out blue/red rare cooked by the Latina, the meat, got sent back, the boss then cooks the meat well done...totally RUDE, useless to request a replacement...More

1  Thank brad j
Antonia C, Director Comercial at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016
Google Translation

Buenas tardes. Rancho La Cascada agradece sus comentarios. Les informamos que desde ya los propietarios del local lo han retomado,...More

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Do not buy from the associated tour seller (José) here. He ripped us off and would not refund the money even after our tour guide (the one he sold us!!) told him we paid too much. We paid ~$60 more than we should have for...More

1  Thank Kristine E
Antonia C, Director Comercial at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016
Google Translation

Hola. Hace unos meses cometimos el error de alquilar un espacio para ventas de tours. Rogamos nos disculpe y aclaramos...More

Reviewed 13 March 2016

My 2 friends and I decided to try dinner at this establishment. I ordered a fish dinner at approx. 4,200 colonies. The fish and rice didn't have much flavor and there weren't any options to enhance the taste. My 2 friends, a married couple weren't...More

1  Thank Erast M
Antonia C, Director General at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Greetings dear friends. We regret that your experience was not expected. Your comment has been very important to improve. We work for your bad expereince not repeated. We ask for your apologize for the inconvenience.

Reviewed 18 February 2016

After a strenuous full day tour with a lackluster free lunch included, we were on the hunt for a satisfying dinner and perused various restaurants. Unfortunately my friend selected this place and we soon found it was a TRAGIC FAIL. CONS - despite being at...More

Thank SassySarahSuggests
Antonia C, Director General at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Greetings dear friends. We regret the bad experience Your comment has been very important to improve. We work for your bad expereince not repeated. We ask for your apologize for the inconvenience. Today the owners and founding family is in charge of providing excellent services.

Reviewed 12 January 2016

Thought this looked interesting, so 2 of us gave it a try. The rice was hard and tasteless, the salad was underwhelming, and the (price non-disclosed) "special" was way overpriced when we finally got our check. Would not recommend this at all. Plenty of other...More

Thank runningbarb
Antonia C, Director General at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Greetings dear friends. We regret the bad experience Your comment has been very important to improve. We work for your bad expereince not repeated. We ask for your apologize for the inconvenience. Today the owners and founding family is in charge of providing excellent services.

Reviewed 17 December 2015

Just on the corner of the town square it's easy to find. A massive palapa hut and cheap food. I got a veggie burger and fries for $4 and they were fantastic. So good I took a group of about 7 others back for dinner...More

Thank Belinda W
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Chifa La Familia Feliz
717 reviews
.22 km away
Inspira Cafe Restaurante
474 reviews
.10 km away
Marisqueria Snapper's House
454 reviews
.20 km away
Don Rufino
1,880 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bill Beard's Costa Rica
50 reviews
.18 km away
Desafio Adventure Company
3,220 reviews
.21 km away
Wave Expeditions
1,630 reviews
.09 km away
Costa Rica Descents
845 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Rancho La Cascada staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 40
Cuisine
Caribbean, Central American, American, Costa Rican
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Beside the park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
  • Location: Central America  >  Costa Rica  >  Province of Alajuela  >  Arenal Volcano National Park  >  La Fortuna de San Carlos
  • Phone Number: +506 2479 8790
Description
Restaurant fine Costa Rican and international cuisine. We specialize in fine cuts of meat. We produce our vegetables and meats monitoring sustainability in harmony with nature
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing