We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Restaurant of Ibis Guesthouse

$$ - $$$
Seafood, Sri Lankan
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
27, Madilla Road, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
+94 47 5 674439
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent a couple of days here during our week in Tangalle and the service and food was excellent. Quality food and value for money. Surprisingly quiet during the day. If you haven't found this place, you are missing out. Loved dozing on the 4 poster beds after lunch and a beer.

Helpful?
Thank almax126
Paris, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant is directly on the beach, you have your feet in the sand. This is so enjoyable ! Food was very good and staff was nice. Excellent experience !

Helpful?
Thank Clem D
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Went here for breakfast. Both had the pancake, one with banana and one with pineapple. Pancakes were great, tea was fine. You can get breakfast cheaper elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Sjakie S
manchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

The week we went to Tangalle was still quiet and rainy and the Ibis was putting the finishing touches to what would be a beautiful sea front restaurant. We went for dinner as, when we called in for a drink during a hot walk along the beach we met a waiter we knew from our hotel the previous year in... More 

Helpful?
Thank monicker
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We ate here with 5 people. Service was okay, but food was not. Two club sandwiches had chicken with bones. Chips were littered with salt. Chicken soup was so salty that your spoon could stand upright. Made a remark about this but to no effect... Will not return here!

Helpful?
Thank Allenby01
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Went here three days since their garden is lovely and one of the best places in Tangalle to hang out. Beautiful cosy cabanas, hammocks and sunchair. But the food is so sad and a typical example on tourism gone wrong. Tried a club sandwich with 5 layers of thick, white bread and burned, sad chicken and egg. Horrible. The vegetable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linnea H
Zurich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2016

Well located at the broad white sand beach in the less busy area of Tangalle beach. Restaurant serves good quality food and nice breakfast, lunch, dinner selections with fruits and ice cream dessert options. Coffee and tea come in big pots. Local dishes are very recommendable. Service personnel is very friendly, most of them speak English. Tips are donated to... More 

Helpful?
Thank oasisinside
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

Since we stayed at Patini 's we also had breakfast here. It must have been a vibrate place, for party's dining and fun, but for some reason the energy is out. Is it because the season did not start yet, or the owner has a lot to worry about? I can't tell, but the place itself has huge potential. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonsworld
Angelika R, Manager at Restaurant of Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your response - we can learn about it! All the best! More 

zürich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

Well, beside the location that is really nice, the food we had was beyond awful! Who knows my reviews knows that I like to honor a good kitchen and service. Well, the service was ok, the only reason they get 2 stars. But everything else... Let's just say, that if even the tea tasted bad and was un-drinkable, imagine the... More 

Helpful?
Thank strangeste
Angelika R, Manager at Restaurant of Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear guest, very sorry, that you were not happy with our food. Yes, you had just a bad day... The ayurveda herbal tea was out, very sorry also for that. The staff should have informed you, that you will get a peppermint tea. The peppermint has in Indian medicine and in ayurveda a particularly high culinary value. Mint leaves are... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

We spent the day sunbathing at Ibis having rented a villa nearer town. The food was excellent and the service very high. Very comfortable with plenty of beach chairs, restaurant right on the beach and a shower and toilet also for day guests. As it was not yet high season we were almost alone at the place so we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank LottaaK

Travellers who viewed Restaurant of Ibis Guesthouse also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Restaurant of Ibis Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Sri Lankan
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27, Madilla Road, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Southern Province  >  Tangalle
  • Phone Number: +94 47 5 674439
Description
This restaurant belongs to Ibis Guesthouse which has posts in B&B section, but many people from other guesthouses come here to eat because of the good western and eastern food, as well as the sea food.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant of Ibis Guesthouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?