We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden)

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
No 29a,Anagarika | Dharmapala,Mawatha, Kandy 101010, Sri Lanka (Formerly Slightly Chilled Lounge (Bamboo Garden))
+94 81 2 238267
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,099: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I went with my friend for dinner and a beer, I was surprised that I had never been here in spite of the fact that I've been living in Kandy my whole life. It's situated in such an unsuspecting place; if you didn't know it was there you wouldn't go in. Luckily my friend was a long term client of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Uvindu P
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice view of sunset and pleasantly breezy but food and drinks overpriced. Better value at other local restaurants. Staff very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie L
10-06-08, Owner at Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden), responded to this review

Other restaurants do not have an amazing view or allowed to sell alcohol. We pay a high premium in rent and a very costly yearly liquor licence! Regards Michael More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Uphill walk from the Tooth Temple but worth it. Mainly tourists but of all ages and many locations. We sat on the terrace watching the night arrive, sharing a table, having a drink and eating. Excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Dorsetblue
10-06-08, Owner at Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden), responded to this review

Really glad you enjoyed your time at our place on the hill! Regards Michael More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant has one of the best views, I have ever 'dined in front of'; birds playing in the wind and a beautiful sunset over the green tree tops and buildings. Personnel is sweet and attentive, beers are cold and the menu offers really good Chinese food.

Helpful?
Thank Trine N
10-06-08, Owner at Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden), responded to this review

Thanks for writing such a nice review! It's always makes my day when I know that you get the same feeling as I do when I am at my place! Regards Michael More 

Cameron, Montana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was looking forward to going here and on Facebook they said they were open but due to a holiday and after a tuk tuk ride, we got there to find they were closed. Wish they had updated their FB so we didn't waste our time.

Helpful?
Thank DJBEnnis
10-06-08, Owner at Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden), responded to this review

Sorry we were closed but it is very difficult to get the staff to work. However I did write on my Facebook page that we would be closed and alos on some of my reviews on Tripadvisor. A simple phone call to restaurant would also have helped you not waste your time! Here is my Facebook post Slightly Chilled Lounge... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A must go place for the sun set!!! Great bar keeper that saved our day by being the one and only place to provide a cool beer to a couple in need. Talk to the owner, a Brit who found a place in life and you will enjoy a great evening in one of the most amazing places in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heiko F
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I arrived to Kandy and it was our second day in Sri Lanka so we're still figuring stuff out. We had a good afternoon walking around and had been recommended 'Slightly chilled' by friends who visited a couple of weeks before. We walked from the lake (10 mins) and when we reached the venue we saw a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alice C
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

That was the best eggplant dish (aubergine) ever. The restaurant is a short ride from the centre of Kandy and worth it for the night view, atmosphere and great Chinese food. Even if you are not a fan of eggplant the dish is exquisite.

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant over looks the lake and is frequented by tourists and is packed, they make sure they serve great food to keep up there good name, The lights of the city and lake are are beautiful of a night also the breeze is welcome on the balcony

Helpful?
Thank Carol F
10-06-08, Owner at Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden), responded to this review

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a great review! Happy travels Michael More 

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Owned by an Australian. Less local crowd. Nice place to spend evening with a slightly chilled beer + dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Shamil J
10-06-08, Owner at Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden), responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! I am afraid I am English and not an Aussie! Also please note anyone planning to come to Kandy we will be closed for the new year from 13th April and will reopen on the 18th. Regards Michael More 

Travellers who viewed Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden) also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 10
Cuisine
Chinese, Bar, European, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: No 29a,Anagarika | Dharmapala,Mawatha, Kandy 101010, Sri Lanka (Formerly Slightly Chilled Lounge (Bamboo Garden))
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Central Province  >  Kandy District  >  Kandy
  • Phone Number: +94 81 2 238267
Description
Ease on into the laidack vibes of Slightly Chilled Lounge.We have the best sunsets in Kandy town and offer, happy hour on beer between 5pm and 6pm, free wifi,live premiership and other live sporting events on a large screen, pool table, great food and friendly service.
Please note we are closed on poya days( full moon)

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden) and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
The Hague, The Netherlands
3 months ago
Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
over a year ago
County Cork, Ireland

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden) staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?