We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tavern 29 Rooftop Bar

11, Deweni Rajasinghe Mawatha | Getambe, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
+94 77 792 2373
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good18%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fish” (2 reviews)
“chicken” (2 reviews)
“korean bbq” (6 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Barbecue, Korean, Asian, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
11, Deweni Rajasinghe Mawatha | Getambe, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've visited the Tavern 29 Rooftop bar, a couple of times. Really enjoyed the atmosphere,, its food and ofcourse the drinks!!! It's a nice place to hangout with your friends and also relax. Worth the price too. Would recommend as a great place to Chillax...More

Thank Vacationer527284
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Its amazing to see that the bar has become properous over the past 1 and a half years since its opening back in June 2017, the reviews which i read are proof of that. My visit are often with my friends/colleagues or even stop by...More

1  Thank Edward C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

um a regular customer of tavern its a lovely place with a decent crowd so its good for family dining. they have a wide range of food items and all the local and international liquors. also the korean bbq is awsome💕💕💕 cost is really reasonable...More

Thank Passenger62049896808
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There are a few times in life when a meal is so expertly crafted and planned that it is nothing short of genius. Last night, I had one of those meals.. Bravo

1  Thank Kushlan S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went here off the back of trip advisor reviews & weren’t disappointed. Cooking your own food was novel & great fun. The staff were happy to advise on what to order & were attentive. No music when we were there but still a great...More

Thank Faye1986
tavern2, Owner at Tavern 29 Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for the review.

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We had a meal here last night.. the Korean bbq actually. The meat could have been a better cut. But for the price and services we received it was excellent. We felt a but trapped at our hotel and are so glad we found this...More

1  Thank michellea4776
tavern2, Manager at Tavern 29 Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the review, we are thrilled to hear you had a lovely evening. We will pass the compliments to the staff.

Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We found this place on trip adviser, it is a bit off the beaten track though well worth the visit! The Korean BBQ is well priced and very tasty. A live band was playing which made for a great atmosphere. We were provided with great...More

1  Thank tommO3597ZW
tavern2, Manager at Tavern 29 Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so happy to hear your experience. We will pass the compliments to the music band and the staff. Thank you for your recommendation!

Reviewed 12 May 2018

Ive been there a few times now, and the food is so good! The customer service is really good as well and I must say the place is so beautiful overlooking the river!!! My friends ans I had so much fun and I'd definitely go...More

Thank Angela M
tavern2, Manager at Tavern 29 Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are looking forward to having you back! Thank you

Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Amazing food and great drinks! The menu is lit with a huge spread of alcohol and food! Try their fishbowls!! Prices are very reasonable. The setup was perfect for us as we were a large group and the staff did an excellent job in making...More

1  Thank AidanEvan
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Food is really yummy. Id recommend for lunch or dinner. Korean bbq is great! You can grill your own food

Thank nayantharadesilva
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 76 hotels in Kandy
Oak Ray Regency
79 reviews
.52 km away
Royal Kandyan Hotel
80 reviews
1.05 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
1,030 reviews
1.07 km away
The Change Hotel
461 reviews
1.46 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sala Thai
175 reviews
.37 km away
Barista - Peradeniya
25 reviews
1.31 km away
Peradeniya Rest House
84 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oak Ray Creations Batik
11 reviews
.59 km away
Royal Botanical Gardens
3,293 reviews
1.21 km away
Commonwealth War Cemetery
427 reviews
.79 km away
Waruna Antiques
38 reviews
1.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tavern 29 Rooftop Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
USD 3 - USD 14
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11, Deweni Rajasinghe Mawatha | Getambe, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Central Province  >  Kandy District  >  Kandy
  • Phone Number: +94 77 792 2373
Description
A place of business serving beer or other alcoholic drinks and often basic meals.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing