We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Five Sails

Level 1, The Magellan Sutera Resort | 1 Sutera Harbour Boulevard, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
6088308414
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good46%
  • Average21%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
4 Apr 2018
“Complimentary dinner”
19 Jul 2017
“breakfast & buffet”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, International, Asian, Malaysian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Level 1, The Magellan Sutera Resort | 1 Sutera Harbour Boulevard, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for two nights and got one free buffet dinner Very ok food with enough choices, stafss are very helpful

Thank joanneHongKong
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We ate breakfast almost every day at Five Sails, and we dined there on a couple of occasions. The food was always good and the service excellent.

Thank maryfry1
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Lots of selection & something for most but like most buffet's the quality can suffer. The staff are great & at the end of a big sight seeing day it is easy.More

Thank Eric S
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Rick S, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had an enjoyable dining experience. Your valuable feedback has been duly noted and shared with the team for further improvement where necessary. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 24 August 2017

We decided to explore the buffet that was put on for the Saturday night, all local street type food which we were looking forward to. We had small tastings of a wide range of dishes but most disappointed us. We had tried several eating places...More

Thank DAVID M
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear DAVID M, Thank you for this valuable feedback. We apologise for the experience that did not meet your expectation. Please be assured that this incident is not reflective of the usual service standards that we pride ourselves on. We are dedicated to customer care...More

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The morning we arrived for breakfast it was raining. The staff were busy running all furniture from out in the open to under the roof. It was chaos and the poor lady on the front desk was so frazzled that she asked us to find...More

Thank Reg G
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Reg G, Thank you for this valuable feedback. We apologise for the experience that did not meet your expectation. Please be assured that this incident is not reflective of the usual service standards that we pride ourselves on. We are dedicated to customer care...More

Reviewed 19 July 2017

The breakfasts were superb and the buffets that we had were very nice too. Staff were awesome, as alwaysMore

Thank Fiona T
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Fiona T, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Glad you had an enjoyable dining experience with us. Your compliments are a great encouragement to our team and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, Adrian De...More

Reviewed 20 May 2017

We had daily breakfast here as we were staying at the Magellan The staff is so lovely Food quickly replenished, it was quite busy during our stay but there was never await for a table Used plates cleared promptly Great foodMore

Thank Canguys
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Canguys, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Glad you had an enjoyable dining experience with us. Your compliments are a great encouragement to our team and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, Adrian De Rozario...More

Reviewed 3 May 2017

There is variety of choices for food, but the quality of the food is not worth it if there is no free buffet for you. Try not to ala carte your order to avoid paying extra. No value for moneyMore

Thank kethaw
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear kethaw, Thank you for this valuable feedback. We apologise for the experience that did not meet your expectation. Please be assured that this incident is not reflective of the usual service standards that we pride ourselves on. We are dedicated to customer care and...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

Good buffet. Lots of choices both local and variety international food. Good service and they refilled food.More

Thank Varang C
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Varang C, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Glad you had an enjoyable dining experience with us. Your compliments are a great encouragement to our team and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, Adrian De...More

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Came here for our dinner as we couldnt be bothered to go to town. The variety of food is quite wide ranging from korean to Japanese to seafood to local cuisines. It would be cheaper if we went to the nearby ala carte restaurant of...More

1  Thank Julian F
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear Julian F, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Glad you had an enjoyable dining experience with us. Your compliments are a great encouragement to our team and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, Adrian De...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 98 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
3,111 reviews
.02 km away
KK Times Square Hotel
89 reviews
1.00 km away
Asiana Hotel
23 reviews
1.11 km away
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
474 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ferdinand's
291 reviews
.04 km away
Al Fresco
238 reviews
.04 km away
Spice Island
64 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Borneo Railway
616 reviews
.72 km away
Imago Shopping Mall
300 reviews
1.02 km away
The Golf Academy Borneo
30 reviews
.47 km away
Oceanus Waterfront Mall
98 reviews
1.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Erwin E
16 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SHR-Management | Property representative |
Hi Erwin E, Kindly be informed that Five Sails is not open for buffet dinner. Best regards, SHR-Management.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Level 1, The Magellan Sutera Resort | 1 Sutera Harbour Boulevard, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
  • Location: Asia  >  Malaysia  >  Sabah  >  West Coast Division  >  Kota Kinabalu District  >  Kota Kinabalu
  • Phone Number: 6088308414
Description
Five Sails restaurant offers a daily selection of international and Malaysian favourites for breakfast and dinner buffets. The elaborate spread for Sunday Brunch is particularly popular for late-risers and those seeking a perfect weekend treat.Buffet Breakfast - 6:00am to 10:30amBuffet Dinner - 6:30pm to 10:00pmSunday Brunch - 12:00pm to 3:00pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;