We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Secret Garden

in the alley at 56 Le Loi street | in the other alley at 69 Phan Chu Trinh street, Hoi An 510000, Vietnam
+84 235 3911 112
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good24%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“orange beef” (15 reviews)
“calamari” (26 reviews)
“crab” (14 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Vietnamese, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
in the alley at 56 Le Loi street | in the other alley at 69 Phan Chu Trinh street, Hoi An 510000, Vietnam
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 360 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Went with a friend after hearing good reviews from other people who had been. The ambience/ surrounds were lovely and the staff did a great job however, the food was disappointing. we ordered several meals we felt were very salty and heavy. It may have...More

Thank 3mmah
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Manager at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear 3mmah, You might not be "the type to complain" but you are precisely a professional TripAdvisor reviewer. You know the tactic to play the word hence to promote your bias more smoothly. We've recently had some negative reviews which were written in the same...More

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

This hideaway surprise is a fantastic restaurant! The meal and drinks were delicious and the ambiance of the garden was beautiful. Definitely worth a visit if you're in Hoi An!

1  Thank shearn15
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We went based on friends recommending and it was worth it. The first night - it wasn't open & you do wonder if it's down the narrow laneway - as no lights were on. Fortunately tried again and it was lovely with garden setting and...More

Thank Nic S
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We ate here with 8 friends. The surroundings are so tranquil. Food is perfect 8 main courses and entree and all tasted wonderful. Service was excellent. So nice to have very quiet tradition music playing in the back ground. This was a memorable moment of...More

Thank Leanne64
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We booked days ahead and were so excited but the staff were so disinterested! They did their job but it felt like we were imposing. The food was good but it was nothing like any other dinners we had in Hoi An. Everywhere else the...More

Thank Chrisssssso
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Manager at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Chris, We tracked our data within a week and found only one group of five which was booked under the name Chris. Is that yours? For us, to ask the guest's comment about their meal is always a job of prime importance. Therefore, it...More

Reviewed 1 July 2016

I cannot believe some of the comments about bland food in this restaurant. If anyone thinks it's bland, then their taste buds must be 'shot to hell'. We were asked how spicy we wanted our food and the answer was 'as it comes', as in...More

1  Thank Megan-Cheltenham
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

We went to Secret Garden after hearing good things but we were disappointed. The surrounds were lovely and the staff very helpful however the food was not great. However the staff were very apologetic that we had not enjoyed our meal.More

Thank Barberg87
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Manager at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Dear Barberg87, We would like to thank you so much for your review even we did hope you would generously forgive our mistake. Regarding your complaint about your Beef In Betel Leaf, we did very sincerely give you our deep apology and tried to please...More

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

I am referring to Mr David's review since I was with him and his wife at your restaurant that might. To my judgement, you mistook Mr David with another guest since we never coplained about small portions nor wanted any free water!!?? Where I agree...More

Thank FuramaGeneralManager
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Dear Sir. FURAMA GENERAL MANAGER, We needed two days to verify whether this review was wrote by Sir. GENERAL MANAGER of FURAMA FIVE STAR resort. Then we were shocked that such tiny thing was argued by a big boss as you. Honorably, we would like...More

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

First and foremost; it is a little hard to find, but don't give up, it's 100% worth the search. Don't be fooled by the nearby establishment called "serene garden" which I assume is tailgating off the reputation of the secret garden. If you use google...More

Thank GlenEgan
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

After a hot day and some walking in the busy town we appreciated a relaxing and romantic garden restaurant. We particularly liked the beef grilled in betel leaves and a grilled eggplant. Prices are ok. A dinner for 4 including 4 main dishes, dessert, 2...More

Thank Daniel O
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Reaching Out Tea House
2,227 reviews
.10 km away
Mot Hoi An - Herbal Tea
206 reviews
.09 km away
The Chef
443 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Duc An Old House
84 reviews
.09 km away
Han Market
232 reviews
.07 km away
Metiseko
447 reviews
.07 km away
Aobaba Tailor
323 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chris O
I read your response to my review. I find it sarcastic and rude, and I am shocked to see that a business can speak to it's customers in this way. The response seems to imply that this is not the first time I have visited and reviewed the restaurant; "you again Chris". I assure you that I and my "little Vietnamese girlfriend' have never been to your restaurant before. (We live in the south of Vietnam.) We stumbled on your restaurant by accident. The prices I am comparing are those which I am used to paying, and the opinion about the taste of the prawns was that of my girlfriend. Although I will now definitely tell people not to come to your restaurant, I want to know why you think it is appropriate to send a rude and sarcastic response to a customer who gave a truthful and objective opinion about your establishment.
30 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Secret_Garden_Hoian | Property representative |
First of all, we would like to give one more time our deep gratitude to Helen T who gave a very kind review for us. From the beginning, we totally understood that you were very amiable by trying to find the best words to... More
0
Votes
LSY-R
28 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Secret_Garden_Hoian | Property representative |
Dear LSY-R, Thanks so much for your response. I'm Uy TRAN, the owner of Secret Garden. I will make a double-check to my staffs who were in charge of taking care of your table in Sep 23rd 2017. I always recommend them to beg... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 48
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: in the alley at 56 Le Loi street | in the other alley at 69 Phan Chu Trinh street, Hoi An 510000, Vietnam
  • Location: Asia  >  Vietnam  >  Quang Nam Province  >  Hoi An
  • Phone Number: +84 235 3911 112
  • E-mail
Description
Opened from Jan 18th 2009, we were serving authentic Vietnamese foods with a large drink-menu of 78 wine names from 17 countries and 36 selected international cocktails. We also operate daily cooking course with capacity of under 8 participants per class. A venue of fine dining place, tranquil privacy in an atmosphere of greenery and live music performed by the best classic guitarist in town. For further information, please find us on internet. The access can be found easily in one of three alleys next to 69 Phan Chu Trinh.St, or 56 Le Loi.St, or 130 Tran Phu.St. Please donot mistake ours with the mimic restaurant nearby us, which was recently opened with very similar name. We are isolated Secret Garden in Hoi An, legally opened from 2009 hereby warming welcome you.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing