We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cru

1 Straight Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554
+1 508-228-9278
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (101 reviews)
“lobster roll” (90 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Straight Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location. The staff checked on quality quite a bit, really good Lobster Roll. Check Yelp photos to know what to order. Over $400 for dinner and can't get a pack of matches. Said they would have more tomorrow. Don't store them on site? Young...More

Thank kwo66
Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes this place is phenomenally expensive, and there is not what I would call an extensive range of options on the menu. What they do offer on the menu is prepared at a high level of execution and is delicious. The ambience is spectacular, the...More

Thank accarch23
Kaitlyn M, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

accarch23, We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at CRU. It is very important that our service and food are always top notch. Thank you for the review and we hope to have you in again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I, and another couple, had lunch here our first day in Nantucket. Their menu was small and extremely expensive. The $36 lobster rolls and $22 burgers seem a little extreme, even for Nantucket. The food was good but we were paying for...More

Thank Bruce H
Kaitlyn M, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Bruce H, I am sorry that you did not agree with our menu prices. They reflect the quality of food and work that goes into creating the entire CRU experience. Please feel free to contact me directly at info@crunantucket.com with any other concerns. Thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Two experiences with Cru - one fine and one very disappointing. I dined at Cru twice this week, first for an outdoor lunch with the girls and then later in the week for dinner. It's a fine spot for wine and oysters and maybe a...More

Thank jane C
Kaitlyn M, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Jane C, I apologize that you did not enjoy your second visit to CRU. I understand the frustration you experienced with your table location and the wait on the food. We try our best to create the optimal dining experience for all of our guests...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

GREAT location!! We sat inside by the open fresh doors and the breeze was fantastic..we had a leisurely lunch for a couple hours and Claire our waitress was wonderful and attentive especially with one of our food allergies.. I was slightly disappointed that the chef...More

Thank Mags197
Kaitlyn M, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Mags197, Thank you for the great feedback. The kitchen always makes sure we only serve the highest quality of food and that we are accommodating to any allergies. Please come in again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had drinks and a wonderful dinner at Cru. We had reservations & only had to wait a few minutes, but got seats at the bar. We ordered a Crucomber & Iron Throne drink that were both amazing. Sat in the middle room for dinner, all...More

Thank NYCGirl130
Kaitlyn M, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

NYCGirl130, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at CRU. Starting your meal with oysters and our market crudité is definitely the way to go. Thank you for the review and please return to explore more of our menu.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you can stomach the owner you'll love the food. Fabulous location and waiters. Just don't dare bring children that are short of perfect or you'll be served an eviction notice.

Thank lisa t
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had some shrimp and salad and rose wine. A perfect lunch on the water ! I recommend it for the atmosphere and the freshness of the food .

Thank Mary-Ann B
Kaitlyn M, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Mary-Ann B, Thank you for the feedback. We hope to have you in again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this place was recommended to us by our B&B. most accurate welcome to the island, and biggest mistake of our trip. this place is a perfect representation of unnecessarily expensive food. i understand the lobster is super fresh & all, but no lobster roll is...More

Thank lcdemar
Kaitlyn M, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Icdemar, I am sorry that you didn't agree with the prices on our menu. The island as a whole has very competitive pricing and our prices reflect the quality and location of CRU. If you have any other comments or concerns please feel free to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visit when on the island because we like the view and the oysters. We always order the smoked fish dip with radishes, plenty of oysters and white wine. We could do without the drunk posers who frequent the bar because they tend to be...More

Thank Kris91
Kaitlyn M, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

kris91, We are glad you enjoyed your time at CRU. Thank you for the feedback.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fog Island Cafe
468 reviews
.31 km away
The Nautilus
158 reviews
.30 km away
Straight Wharf
308 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Steamship Authority
71 reviews
.27 km away
Nantucket Aquarium
27 reviews
.32 km away
The Artists' Association of Nantucket
5 reviews
.33 km away
Nantucket Walkabout
44 reviews
.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gehlejea
9 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Kaitlyn M | Property representative |
Dear Gehlejea, I apologize for the delayed response. We will be not be open for Easter Sunday. We reopen for the summer season on May 11!
0
Votes
Thomas R
20 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jeff O | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do. Best to call early during high season.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 31 - USD 50
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 01:00
Monday
11:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 01:00
Thursday
11:00 - 01:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Straight Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554 (Formerly CRU)
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Nantucket
  • Phone Number: +1 508-228-9278
  • E-mail
Description
This premier oyster bar offers casually elegant cuisine in a visually stunning waterfront setting on Nantucket harbor.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing