We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Sesame Kitchen

No.28 Zhonglao Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100000, China
+86 136 9147 4408
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good12%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
No.28 Zhonglao Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100000, China
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Despite the difficulty of booking a reservation, finding the location, getting transportation back from the restaurant and a power failure, Black Sesame Kitchen delivered the best culinary experience during our stay in Beijing. Being a small, 16 seat restaurant, Black Sesame Kitchen requires a 50%...More

4  Thank HeyMan76
Reviewed 6 days ago

Other than visiting the Great Wall, our 3.5 hour 10 course meal was the highlight of our 5 days in Beijing. Warning: hard to find, most of the others were late because they could not find this 16 person restaurant located in a back alley...More

3  Thank sportrocket
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to Black Sesame for dinner last night. After reading some of the negative reviews, I was a bit worried, but figured we should just give it a go. So glad we did!! The Food was excellent and the drinks were plentiful and delicious! The...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from an incredible evening at the Black Sesame Kitchen. Our dinner was an intimate gathering of 6 unique groups, all sharing food and conversation in a communal setting. I notified the kitchen far in advance that I am a vegetarian and they were...More

1  Thank chapmandi
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went recently to Black Sesame Kitchen as a party of 6 with my family during our visit to Beijing. The staff at Black Sesame went out of their way to help us make our deposit payment as we had difficulty using the Chinese version...More

1  Thank Emily D
BlackSesameKitchen, Manager at Black Sesame Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Emily, We're so glad that you had a good experience with us and that you left satisfied and happy! Thank you for the advice about taxis. We would be happy to start arranging private drivers for our customers. Please just ask before the end...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

First, this is a different dining concept from a typical restaurant. You sit at a communal table in tight quarters but not uncomfortable on backless stools with 10 – 12 other guests. They serve 10 courses, one a dessert the others savory over a two...More

1  Thank Dan S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I brought my team for dinner to this restaurant and what a terrible mistake. 1. Food is mediocre and not worth what they charge. All in our party had the same opinion 2. Service is terrible. The waitress is clueless, more interested in ideal banter...More

1  Thank DallasIsTheBest
BlackSesameKitchen, Manager at Black Sesame Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dallas Is The Best, We apologize profoundly that we did not meet your expectations. We take feedback like yours very seriously and our senior management will be reaching out to you to investigate this matter. We thank you for your input and feedback and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

indeed just ordinary chinese dishes served with some alcohol. i would say just worth RMB100 per head instead of RMB300. We made reservation and early deposite emphasized we are with a vegetarian. they claimed to have arrangement for this but it turns out to give...More

2  Thank Billy S
BlackSesameKitchen, General Manager at Black Sesame Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Billy S, We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your vegetarian guest's needs. Our senior management is speaking to the team that was in charge that evening to see if vegetarian cooking protocols were properly followed. We will also work to improve our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

After three years I am back to this restaurant with a lot of enthusiasm. Unfortunately the level was very far from the last time. The new place is not nice as the previous one, but this is less important. The biggest disappointment was the cuisine....More

1  Thank maximilian1978
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They cooked the vegetables for vegan without clean the pot. They charged per person but no same arrangement for vagans. The dining table is together with the kitchen. The good part is you can see the chef but we found they cooked the vegetables for...More

2  Thank Zhonghua S
Nearby Restaurants
TRB Hutong
1,393 reviews
.45 km away
Little Yunnan
303 reviews
.57 km away
Man fu Lou Chinese Hot Pot
67 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Forbidden City-The Palace Museum
10,602 reviews
.12 km away
Jingshan Park (Jingshan Gongyuan)
2,365 reviews
.38 km away
The Imperial Garden of The Palace Museum
1,891 reviews
.48 km away
The Antiquarium of The Palace Museum
462 reviews
.38 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jenna D
26 June 2017|
Response from Caroline F |
No you can not. Either the whole experience or nothing as it is a collective menu and everybody must be present at the start. 7 pm
Jenna D
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Thomas L | Reviewed this property |
No sorry, it's a communial dinner and desert is part of the experience.
rajeev m
24 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from BlackSesameKitchen | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. Yes, we can fit 11 people at 1 table, as long as there is space that evening. Is it 300RMB or about $50 per person, and yes, we can most definitely accommodate vegetarians with plenty of... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 50 - USD 50
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
19:00 - 22:00
19:00 - 22:00
19:00 - 22:00
19:00 - 22:00
19:00 - 22:00
19:00 - 22:00
19:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: No.28 Zhonglao Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100000, China
  • Location: Asia  >  China  >  Beijing>  > Houhai
  • Neighbourhood: Houhai
  • Phone Number: +86 136 9147 4408
  • E-mail
We are a reservations-only dining experience offering a set menu of ten courses and two wine pairings in an open kitchen where you'll learn the secrets of Chinese cuisine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing