Gekko Co. Ltd

Gekko Co. Ltd

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+95 1 386 986+ Add website
Hours
Sun
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tue
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wed
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$15.00 – $44.00
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Does this restaurant have live music
PRICE RANGE
$15.00 – $44.00
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Jazz Bar
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles536 reviews
Excellent
287
Very good
172
Average
55
Poor
16
Terrible
6
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Kyra B
138 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
Very tasty spot in all respects. Good vibe with classic jazz tunes playing, good cocktails (we were there on ‘Whiskey Wednesday’ and opted for old fashions which were just right) and every dish we ordered was beautifully composed and delicious. We had a salmon & avocado tartar (that I could eat every day) pork gyozas, the assorted 5-kind sashimi that was fantastically fresh & yummy and two diff. sushi rolls—all perfect. I notice some comments about small portions but we felt the servings were right-sized. As others have noted, the prices aren’t cheap by Myanmar standards (our bill came to $80usd) but that included 2 rounds of drinks and the food was great so we were very happy with the place. It was also a 6 min. walk from our hotel & there are cool colonial buildings around en route so it was an easy & tasty choice.
Written 31 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such detailed feedback we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable evening at Gekko! Chef Aung Myo will be so happy that you were so happy with the menu and food! We hope you had a magical stay in Myanmar and a safe journey home
Written 18 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ced S
Singapore75 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
Amazing night, superb service. The very friendly bartender entertained us with some of his very own cocktails recipes. As usual the friday's night band was very pleasant, the food great and all those elements combined together simply makes it the best place to go in this area.
Written 7 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178
Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are so happy that you enjoy everything and that we looked after you!
Written 18 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Corinnku
London107 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
My friends visited on a busy Friday night - I was blown away! There is a real variety of dishes and everything we tried was great. The chicken karaage, spicy salmon rolls and aubergine yakitori was my favourite. It is expensive for Myanmar but if you re looking for a special experience, I highly recommend it.
Written 20 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thu T
Thank you very much, we are alighted to hear that you had an enjoyable evening at Gekko! Do keep an eye out for our daily happy hour and other promotions and we hope to welcome you back again soon
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

forsaken0606
Yangon (Rangoon)381 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
I paid 12,000++ mmk for a plate of special california roll sushi. The plating ingredient list (of that roll) looked promising and premium, so I never thought I would see a stall type sushi when it actually came. Was surprised and disappointed at the same time. I wouldn't go there again... hmm. It was a major ripoff, in my opinion.
Written 11 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178
Thank you for your feedback, California sushi roll is made with the same ingredients the world over, our special version adds more of the kani sticks for extra flavour and a dramatic appearance. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy it and wish you bought this to our attention in the restaurant as we would have happily replaced with another dish more to your liking - such as a classic roll or nigiri sushi which we believe might have been more what you were looking for. We are sorry that this was not what you were expecting
Written 18 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

helmiheerkens
Yangon (Rangoon)16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
We had a fantastic lunch on a Saturday. The restaurant serves Japanese food with a big smile to other styles of food. Fantastic crab, a bit too salty noodlesoup, a good crème brulee and a great coctail; Way to Burma!
Written 29 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience at Gekko!
Written 4 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

beanmanandwife
Zurich271 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 couples
Great atmosphere in this Japanese bistro. The staff are very friendly and helpful. What we ate was very well prepared with spot-on flavor and beautiful presentation.
Written 9 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed so much
Written 12 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

skippy-rates
London203 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
We enjoyed our meal here. Well prepared and presented food. Clean. Excellent service. Reasonable prices.
Written 14 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed everything
Written 18 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jimmy P
15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
Returned again for Jazz Night on Friday evening. Great food and atmosphere, and superb service from Zsa Zsa the hostess. Would recommend booking.
Written 2 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178
Thank you so much for your great review! Zar Zar will be delighted with your kinds words - thank you
Written 18 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Diane B
Toronto172 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
Lovely building, great ambiance, good food and drinks. Great spot to visit. Fun place for drinks and dinner
Written 1 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178
Thank you for your review, we are so happy tight you had such a great time
Written 18 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Laura S
Da'an12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
Friendly and knowledgeable staff, amazing craft cocktails, and delicious food! Highly recommend the lunch bento box!
Written 20 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thu T
Thank you so much, w are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Gekko and that the team looked after you
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joanne S
21 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 none
The decor is lovely. Staff were attentive. And the food is delicious and a welcome change from the local cuisine if you are looking for a short breather. Portions were just right for lunch.
Written 7 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thu T
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed everything!
Written 13 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TravelGuide
6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2019 couples
This bar / restaurant did not meet my expectations. The food was very poor. We had the calamari which was like chewing rubber, it was not cooked correctly at all. Chicken stix and chicken katsu were also very average. Would not recommend
Written 24 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thu T
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy yourselves. Our Katsu curry and Yakitori are, and have been for the past 5 years, our top selling menu items and it is extremely unusual to receive any negative feedback on these, so we shall certainly address this with our chef. We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Yangon
Written 26 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kay Thi
Yangon (Rangoon)6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2019 none
Really enjoyed the meals. The portions are just right. I went with my friend, we ordered one bowl of fried rice, chicken wrapped in bacon and fried squids. And we couldn't even finished all (or maybe because we were talking much, ahaha). But anyway, I really love the chicken wrapped in bacon and love the cocktail. But what I like most here is the atmosphere, if you are with some friends and just wanna talk and have fun, stay downstairs. And if you wanna be quite, and chill, go upstairs. You can get two vibes in one bar. I like that place.
Written 22 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thu T
Thank you very much for your great review! we are so happy that you had an enjoyable meal at gekko and hope to welcome you again soon
Written 24 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MillsJ2407
Singapore91 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019 couples
Cool bar, great cocktails and service, just off a very busy street, one of the TOP 5 bars we found in Yangon
Written 19 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thu T
We are so happy that you enjoyed the cocktails and ambience at Gekko! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
Written 24 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stewart_McGill
Leeds242 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019 none
Really enjoyed our two visits here (once for food and once for cocktails). Highly service oriented with a well-crafted menu. I personally preferred the Japanese selection (compared to the undeniably impressive Korean offer). Friendly and fun place to eat.
Written 14 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thu T
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so happy that you enjoyed everything with your food and cocktails!
Written 16 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 433
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Babett Eatery & Bar
$$ - $$$ · French, Bar, International, European
The Market
$$ - $$$ · International, Asian
LinkAge Restaurant and Art Gallery
$$ - $$$ · Asian, Burmese
Shwe Sa Bwe
$$ - $$$ · European
Manana
$$ - $$$ · Mexican, Latin, Central American
Shan Yoe Yar
$$ - $$$ · Asian, Burmese
Burma Bistro
$$ - $$$ · Fusion, Burmese
Rangoon Tea House
$$ - $$$ · Asian, Burmese
Café Sule
$$ - $$$ · International, Asian
Taing Yin Thar
$$ - $$$ · Asian, Burmese
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

GEKKO CO. LTD, Yangon (Rangoon) - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

All Yangon (Rangoon) HotelsYangon (Rangoon) Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Things to Do
All Yangon (Rangoon) RestaurantsRestaurants near Gekko Co. Ltd
FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars