We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Digital Payments, Waterfront
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
201
279
134
73
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
201
279
134
73
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood chilli mussels spanish mackerel harbour platter bowl feed servings seagulls
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dropped in for lunch. Sat outside. Staff very slow to serve us - that's OK we get it! Short staffed etc. Tables had not been wiped down in ages, seagull pooh etc. So I asked for a cloth and cleaned it myself. When the fish...and chips did eventually come, the fish was very dry and overcooked. Very poor all round. Don't go.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 July 2021

Ambience good has a real nautical feel about the place. Views across the water to the fishing fleet very good Service was ok, obviously a skeleton staff being a Monday. I had one pale ale beer, but couldn't get a second because that was their...last. Asked for a different pale ale on the drinks menu but they were out of that one as well. My wife and I were disappointed with the grilled barra we ordered at $34 Both came with the skin attached on one side and not much fish on the other side. You more or less had to scrape the fish off the skin. The chips were good as was the coffee The fish let down the meal - being a fish shack we expected the fish to be a top notch serve but it wasn't! Sorry, but we won't be hurrying back.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Hi C1672NDdaveb, Thank you for your review of our restaurant, we are sorry you were disappointed with the grilled barramundi, I am not too sure what happened as the portions are usually quite large as we cut these portions ourselves. We have spoken to our...More

Reviewed 23 June 2021

We choose a Wednesday Evening to viait. not disappointed as the selection was graet from Meat to fish dishes. we selected the snapper as Fish & Chips. Starters was Prawn Skewers & a 1/'2 dozen Kilpatrick Oysters. Both Starters & Main did not disappoint. Very...generous portions. Staff Janic & Michelle were courteous and prompt. They did check twice if we were happy with the meal.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 June 2021

We visited for my mothers 85th birthday recently. We have been twice before and the food and service was amazing. We purposely went for this reason. However, service on this occasion was a letdown. Upon arriving we were very warmly greeted. We had a bottle...of champagne to celebrate mum's birthday. We were taken to our table, only two other tables in use. We put our wine down in front of the waitress on our table - and there it stayed. We were given 2 glasses of lukewarm tap water. I am a water snob and don't like tap water at restaurants, but it certainly has to be cold. We called another waitress to get us wine glasses and ice bucket. We ordered our meals and sparkling water. We called another waitress to get us our sparkling water - our waitress did not hear our request? Our meals were as expected absolutely delicious and we enjoyed every single mouthful. We sat overlooking the water, drinking champagne and eating crayfish - what a wonderful way to spend our birthdays. We had booked a table expecting them to be busy as it was the Monday public holiday, but the place was very very quiet. It is often the same, when a place is not busy the service is often not good. We were not asked if we wanted anything else, coffee or desserts, but then we weren't really given any service. I believe our waitperson may have been the 'in charge' on the evening person as she as sitting doing what looked like paper work on a computer for most of our time there. The other waitress was really nice, but service on the night overall was severely lacking. I would definitely still go back again, as the food is delicious and amazing, the venue views serene and pleasant. Previous visits the service was great and the food has on all occasions been amazing.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Usual pick, haven't had a bad meal ever. Big sizes, excellent service, tasty food. And a beautiful view. Definitely heading back..

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

Drove up to Freo from Mandurah especially for what we thought would be freshly prepared and cooked seafood....how disappointed were we! Ordered the platter for 1 and it looked and tasted like it was cooked and left in a warmer for a couple of hours....Mac n Cheese ball was so dried out I reckon you could have used it at the Big Bash. Salt n Pepper squid was dry and tasteless. Fish was heavily battered and tasted muddy. Definitely not a fan and will get my seafood fix closer to home in future.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Hi Troy D, We are sorry to hear of your disappointment at your recent visit to our restaurant. we would like to follow through with our Team to find out what went wrong & to do this we need a bit more information. If you...More

Reviewed 17 April 2021

Me and my fiancé order a calamari and bruschetta it was sensational delicious. A couple of cocktail the blue Hawaii and cosmopolitan. It was insanely good. The service was really good give credits to the young man Aizac. His service was beyond he keeps attention...to each customer and give good service. 5 star for the food, drinks and service. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2021

Hi 419roels, Thank you for your review & rating of our restaurant, it is good to know our Team looked after you, we have shared your feedback with Izacc. Thank you again & hope to see you again soon. Regards, JFS Team.

Reviewed 12 April 2021

We have been to this restaurant a number of times. Our last visit a couple of Saturdays ago over Easter was a total disappointment. I ordered the lobster, it was over cooked, chewy and served luke warm. Barely edible. I ordered oysters mornay, which they...were very obliging and made for me again barely any mornay sauce and served luke warm plus they had a strong odour. Very disappointed on this occasion, for the price we paid it was far from satisfactory.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2021

Hi Tishie21, We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your visit to Joe's over Easter. WE are hoping to speak with you to get some further information about your visit, if you could provide a contcct number we will give you a call...More

Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

The service was great as was the location on the water with the fishing fleet nearby. The menu is one of the most diverse I have seen I a long time. I had Greek Salad with Grilled chicken breast and the plate was filled so...much I had difficulty finishing it. Highly recommended we didn’t have to wait long for our 4 meals to arrive. Very impressive service considering that it was Easter Sunday.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Hi Annerumak, Thank you for your review & rating of our restaurant, it is great to know our team delivered a memorable experience for you on Easter Sunday. Regards, Des

Reviewed 15 March 2021 via mobile

Went for lunch here and wasn't disappointed. It has been around 6 years since my last visit and it was reassuringly familiar. The lunchtime front of house staff, (Marklyn, Mairi and Raph), were very friendly and attentive, they were able to recommend dishes and wine...that didn't fail to please. I highly recommend the Bruschetta and the Chilli Mussels. I found the cost very reasonable for such great service and extremely good food.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2021

Hi moragf462, Thank you for your review & rating of our restaurant. Our Team works very hard to make our guest experience a memorable one, so it is great to hear they delivered. Regards, Des Joe's Fish Shack

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle by Rydges
2,642 reviews
.29 km away
Be. Fremantle
390 reviews
.41 km away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
852 reviews
.47 km away
Bannister 22 Hotel
259 reviews
.48 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Duck Duck Bruce
397 reviews
.38 km away
Moore & Moore Cafe
546 reviews
.30 km away
Little Creatures
3,154 reviews
.09 km away
Bread in Common
1,312 reviews
.34 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
WA Shipwrecks Museum
1,074 reviews
.20 km away
Little Creatures
887 reviews
.09 km away
Fremantle Fishing Boat Harbour
713 reviews
.09 km away
Esplanade Park
337 reviews
.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
katnpaul76
17 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Niluka M | Reviewed this property |
The one we had was $35 and my husband sometimes has trouble finishing it and he is 100 kilo man! We want to order something different but end up ordering the same thing everything we go back.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Joe's Fish Shack

Yes, Joe's Fish Shack offers takeaway services.

Joe's Fish Shack is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5