We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie

#297 of 2,423 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Gellert Hill
European, Central European, Hungarian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Szent Gellert ter 1., Budapest 1111, Hungary
+36 1 889 5566
Today
11:59 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 11:59 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 205: English reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Last time I went to Gellért Brasserie was in the afternoon of December 24 and we were so happy that the place was open - a lot of places are closed for the Christmas holiday. When you hate cooking, like me and my nephew, this was a blessing. Just in case, we had filled our fridges with precooked dinners but... More 

Helpful?
Thank 124jesper
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear 124jesper, Thank you so much for sharing your extremely lovely feedback about your Christmas lunch experiences in Gellért Brasserie. We are more than grateful for your loyalty and we are happy that you love our place so much. It was our pleasure to have you here with us every time and we do hope you enjoyed every minute of... More 

Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I had a lovely lunch along with my sister and her friend. The food was delicious, the choice of drinks was good, and as a vegetarian I personally appreciated that the restaurant had something I could eat and enjoy. We were there on January 1st and we were all grateful that the place was open. In addition... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank 524roseo
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear 524roseo, It is our pleasure to read through your nice comment regarding your lunch experience with us at Gellért Brasserie. Thank you very much for your lovely words about the great service. All we strive is to make the dining of our guests as memorable and comfortable as possible, therefore your positive opinion and experience is very important for... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful atmosphere for family or friends to enjoy the wonderful ethnic foods of Hungary. Great friendly service,excellent food and views like no other,I have been in many Cities around the world,but there is no place like home,and I'm very proud of my Beautiful home City of Budapest 😍

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank johnny966
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear johnny966, First of all let us thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your visit at Gellért Brasserie! It is more than delighting to know that you were this satisfied with everything. All of our colleagues work very hard every day to make our clients' dreams come true about a perfect dining. Therefore your kind words about... More 

Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Right off of the lobby but feels miles away from the hustle and bustle. Good wines and good spot to talk.

Helpful?
Thank Snookshunts
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Snookshunts, To begin with, we would like to say a big thank you for letting us know your valuable opinion with us here, on TripAdvisor, it is always great to receive such enchanting reviews like yours! We are extremely delighted to read that you found our atmosphere quite pleasant and relaxing. It made us particularly glad that you were... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Allé Time service, always with a smile. The drinks are tall and the food portions are huge and top qualite. Idéal place after à swim and sauna

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Serge V
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Serge V, Thank you so much for choosing to dine with us on the other day as well as for sharing your remarkable review with us via TripAdvisor, it really means a lot to our crew. We are absolutely thrilled to learn that you were absolutely fulfilled with the service we provided, our friendly and highly qualified workers would... More 

Mons, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travel a lot for business and everywhere I go I have to taste the "local version" of a British masterpiece, the "Fish and Chips". The one I had at the Brasserie was the best, ever!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank paologA9612NE
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear paologA9612NE, First and foremost, allow us to express our most sincere gratitude to you for not regretting your precious time to write down and share your lovely review with us here, on TripAdvisor. It makes us especially glad that you discovered our charming place and decided to try our Fish and Chips, and it is amazing to read that... More 

Gangelt, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

please go anywhere but here, really wasnt good at all, the food was terrible , the tip is already included in the price, but you arent told that , very limited menu

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Patty M
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Patty M, First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your honest review with us here, on TripAdvisor. It makes us particularly sad that you were completely disappointed by our restaurant. It is really bad to hear that you found our dishes average and not so good. We want to ensure you that all of our... More 

Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food (and beer) was good, waiting staff excellent. The hotel is a wonderful experience, we had lunch before enjoying the Gellert baths.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank 169dominic
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear 169dominic, Let us start with letting you know how grateful we feel that you wrote down your remarkable review about us on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to our crew. It is extremely great to see that you were completely satisfied by all the dishes you ordered, we sincerely hope you enjoyed every bite of them! We are honestly... More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
297 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016

Unfortunately, I ate here several times. Staff was desperately unfreindly. More concerned with something other than hospitality.

Helpful?
Thank wlamb123
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear wlamb123, To begin with, allow us to express our gratitude to you for taking your time to share your honest thoughts with us about our place on TripAdvisor. Firstly, we are really glad that you discovered our place and decided to give it a go. On the other hand, we are really sorry that you found our staff unfriendly.... More 

Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016

Very dark interior and the staff at the moment weren't very good at english. We got the wrong beer and at five o'clock on a Saturday they had few guests. A sleepy pub, but with local beer.

Helpful?
Thank MariaRickard
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear MariaRickard, To begin with, allow us to express our gratitude to you for taking your time to share your honest thoughts with us about our place on TripAdvisor. We always try to learn from the feedbacks we receive. You cannot imagine how deeply sorry we are to hear about the inconvenience you encountered whilst staying in our restaurant. There... More 

Travellers who viewed Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, Central European, Hungarian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:59 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:59 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:59 - 23:00
Thursday
11:59 - 23:00
Friday
11:59 - 23:00
Saturday
11:59 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Szent Gellert ter 1., Budapest 1111, Hungary
  • Location: Europe  >  Hungary  >  Central Hungary  >  Budapest>  > Gellert Hill
  • Neighbourhood: Gellert Hill
  • Phone Number: +36 1 889 5566
Description
(at Danubius Hotel Gellert)

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gellert Sorozo & Brasserie staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Gellert Hill

Neighbourhood Profile
Gellert Hill
If you want to treat your camera to some amazing scenery, Gellért Hill is a must on your itinerary. A funicular journey from the Chain Bridge along the hillsides provides a fast connection between Buda and Pest, hoisting visitors to panoramic vistas. Once on top of the hill, you’ll find the Citadel dominate the landscape with its imposing 19th century construction, a site that’s hard to keep your eyes on without being distracted by the phenomenal view over the Danube and the eight bridges crossing. Once on Gellért Hill however, one mustn’t miss the famous Gellért Baths. Budapest is renown for its thermal waters and its baths, and the Gellért Baths are housed in an impressive art nouveau structure. Its interior design, with its many mosaics, recalls the preceding relationships the city has had with healing springs and saunas, traditionally used within this neighborhood since the Ottoman Empire.
Explore this neighbourhood