We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Julias

Praia Do Garrao Nascente, Almancil 8135, Portugal
+351 289 396 512
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish stew” (19 reviews)
“tiger prawns” (28 reviews)
“dover sole” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Praia Do Garrao Nascente, Almancil 8135, Portugal
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Booked for 8.30. No table ready. Had to wait whilst they re-set one inside. 20 minutes later sat down. 20 minutes later ordered a bottle of over priced Taittinger @ €70. Waited another twenty minutes, and when it came the Waiter opened it, spilt €10...More

Thank drewLeeds
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear inverted Such a sad disgusting and disrespectful attitude to staff. The champagne was cold but you took disdain to the fact that you glasses were not frozen. We work for a living and the price of €70 is the rate based upon costs not...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

I only managed to try a couple of salads (prawn and chicken, both with lots of vegetables/fruit) in the lunch breaks of a conference. Their very good quality (good seasoning, good produce) enticed me to try for dinner too, but the place was heaving and...More

Thank thoughtfuldiner
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

It's a great setting but I go to restaurants for the food and I'd love to tell everyone about the food but it's not here yet... we've been waiting for 1.5hrMore

1  Thank SheldonLovesFood
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Judging by how we operate and sometimes the service can be slow when people walk in without reservations demanding to be sat and fed , 1 and a half hours sounds more of a story of someone who is bored while dining out so just...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

Excellent service at the Beach bar even when its busy. Food is always good with plenty of variety and not over priced.

Thank Dee252
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Waited 1.5 hours for food to arrived & was served cold red seafood chowder?? Cold seafood stew?? Over cooked seafood pasta?? Dried seabass?? Terrible table service by staff kept walking in a rush no smiles at all & basically over priced food! If you're there...More

1  Thank joycelxj
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Seriously, you may have better luck making a reservation next time. You were given menus while sitting in a garden area of the beach bar where you wanted to dine. Plated food is served there with cold plates for a very simple reason of safety....More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We were in a party of several. The service was reasonable but the prices for what you got in meagre portions were very poor value for money. When you order sea bass and get half of a small one with potatoes and a small lettuce...More

Thank StephenHarpenden
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you. When you order a wild fish either for just yourself or someone else to share with on your table, we can only serve you half a fish and not a whole one. That is the way it is sir. It is half of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We eat here at least twice a week. the service is excellent, the music on the Tuesday and Thursday is fabulous and it is great to have a little dance. To watch the sunsetting and then the moon rising from your dining table is spectacular....More

Thank Lilla G
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many thanks for your review Lilla The team at Julia's

Reviewed 1 week ago

Julia's is THE VERY BEST Sunday lunch venue in The Algarve . Live music from Leandro or Pedro both fab musicians - singing dancing a nice lunch and vino in the sunshine overlooking the beach - simply the best !! Haha - they sing that...More

Thank Nannanruff
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Appreciate Your comments. See you soon The team at Julia's

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Julia's is a go-to favourite of ours while in Vale do Lobo. Always good food, service and a warm welcome. Well done and keep up the good work!

Thank Helen L
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many thanks Helen.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been twice and both times were good,food and ambience and the views are well worth a visit Would recommend

Thank 60CAR60
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sandbanks
390 reviews
1.47 km away
Montys Restaurant Bar
250 reviews
1.46 km away
La Terrazza
104 reviews
1.48 km away
Xenia
342 reviews
.88 km away
Nearby Attractions
Vale do Lobo
163 reviews
1.50 km away
San Lorenzo Golf Course
277 reviews
3.11 km away
Tennisinportugal
7 reviews
2.01 km away
Laranjal Golf Course
128 reviews
5.47 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Caz45merseyside
Hi Is Julia's child friendly as there is a group of us with my 2 year old grandson ?
12 October 2015|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from juliasalgarve | Property representative |
The restaurant is and has always been geared for families and children. Whether dining in the lounge ,restaurant or beach bar your children will be fine. There is an extensive menu for all and a children's menu too
1
Vote
395Carol
Hi, Are you within walking distance of the Dona Filipa Hotel?
22 August 2015|
Answer
Response from juliasalgarve | Property representative |
Hi there We are 29-25 minutes walk up the beach heading east from the Dona Filipa
0
Votes
paula j
I am completely shocked with the bad reviews, we have been co ing to the Algarve since my son was 3, 12 years ago, every year all of the kids, adults want to go to julias, food excellent, service amazing, we cant fault anything!
10 June 2015|
Answer
Response from juliasalgarve | Property representative |
Hi Paula Thank you for your comments. We always strive for perfection and whilst things may not always go according to plan with some customers ,the situation is always resolved to their satisfaction . Unfortunately in... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 13 - USD 34
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:30
Thursday
10:00 - 23:30
Friday
10:00 - 23:30
Saturday
10:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Praia Do Garrao Nascente, Almancil 8135, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Algarve  >  Faro District  >  Almancil
  • Phone Number: +351 289 396 512
  • E-mail
Description
Julia's restaurant,beach barand lounge.
The original beach restaurant.
Beware of imitations.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing