We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips

6 Market Place, Market Deeping PE6 8EA, England
+44 1778 347970
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good15%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (75 reviews)
“bread” (15 reviews)
“chicken” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Fast food, British, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Market Place, Market Deeping PE6 8EA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

i think this chipshop is way over priced for ten chips and a piece of fish made to look medium sized by over battering twice with a extra small serving of peas and one drink £25 in my local chip shop i could get this...More

1  Thank Linda W
Ch51s, Manager at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi, are you able to let us know when and what time you visited us? I would also like to add that a medium cod, chips and a drink would cost around £11.95 ( if you had a soft drink) so you must have had...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have eaten at Linfords many times, it never disappoints, whether takeaway or eating in the restaurant.

Thank CyclingLemon
Ch51s, Manager at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many Thanks for your review. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In a 4 week trip in England we probably had fish and chips half a dozen times. This was the only mistake. Swimming in oil. I will give them credit for the portion size and the fish itself. Pity.

Thank VancouverDave
Ch51s, Manager at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there. I’m sorry the piece of fish you had was greasy. Would you be able to let us know when you visited us? Please could you contact me either here or my email chrispithey@me.com.

Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Food is great, but every time the service seems to be dreadful, seems the staff don’t get much training. It is all the staff generally, so definitely something for management to look at.

Thank Israr M
Ch51s, Manager at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Hi Israr, many Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your food. Is your experience in the restaurant or takeaway? And could you let me know when you last visited. Many Thanks Chris

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Great fish and chips worth the wait. Not greasy, lovely bread and mushy peas. Coffee tasted good too! Nice restaurant although small was cosy. Went for fixed price meal.

Thank FenlandSue
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Very enjoyable. Fish and chips were very very nice including excellent cup of tea. Restaurant manager very attentive too.

Thank paul m
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Always by far my favourite place to go in the area!! Amazing chips every time, only negative would be they don't cook burgers after a hour before closing. Very annoying when you fancy it, although fish and chips makes up for it!!!

Thank Sammylizzie216
Patricia L, Owner at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your review. I will have a word regarding the burgers.

Reviewed 4 February 2018

Arrived with elderly relative who did not eat much. Told by waitress that food could not ordered from the kids menu. Should have walked out then. Food average, fish cakes rubbish.

1  Thank Stephan D
Patricia L, Owner at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Sorry you feel that your food was average, if the fish cakes were rubbish did you take the time to have a word with the waitress there and then. Or is your comments on TripAdvisor because you couldn’t have the kids portion

Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We are regular customers of Linford's, the fish & chips and service from the team are always excellent. I therefore have no hesitation in recommending Linford's as an excellent value for money place to eat.

Thank AndyMcCutcheon
Patricia L, Owner at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hello thank you for your review, keep recommending Linfords to all your friends.

Reviewed 17 January 2018

Myself and my grandparents ravel 40 miles for these fish and chips. Batter is always crispy and full of fish. Good portion sizes, great value and friendly staff. Highly recommend.

Thank Und18
Ch51s, Manager at Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Many Thanks for your 5* review. We hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Market Deeping Hotels
The Stage
143 reviews
.04 km away
Premier Inn Peterborough North Hotel
484 reviews
8.74 km away
The William Cecil at Stamford
799 reviews
11.19 km away
The Bull & Swan
369 reviews
11.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Boundary And River Restaurant
251 reviews
.48 km away
The Waterton Arms
59 reviews
1.60 km away
Maharanis Indian Restaurant
5 reviews
.87 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Waterton Arms
21 reviews
1.60 km away
The Vine Inn
22 reviews
.47 km away
St Guthlac's Church
7 reviews
.38 km away
Deepings Library
7 reviews
.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 13
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Market Place, Market Deeping PE6 8EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Market Deeping
  • Phone Number: +44 1778 347970
  • E-mail
Description
Linford's Traditional Fish and Chip shop is located at the centre of the historic market town of Market Deeping. The takeaway has been open since 1989 and in the summer of 2012 we opened a new restaurant. At Linfords we offer a selection of fish; cod (regular, medium and jumbo), haddock, plaice, huss (rock salmon) and scampi with weekly specials including lemon sole, hake, halibut and monkfish. Other options include sausages, pukka pies, fish cakes, burgers, chicken burgers, vege burgers, spring rolls, southern fried chicken, chicken nuggets and chicken tikka bites. All of our food is cooked in vegetable oil and all fish is sustainably caught.We also offer gluten free fish and chips on a Monday night from 4pm - 8:30.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;